Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Refuge - cover

The Refuge

Ann H. Gabhart

Publisher: Revell

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When Darcie and Walter Goodwin hear of a new cholera epidemic sweeping the area, they join the Shakers whose villages seem immune to the disease. It's meant to be a temporary stay, but Walter is killed in a riverboat accident. With no family and no money, Darcie has little choice but to stay with the Shakers. To complicate matters, she is expecting a baby conceived before she and her husband came to the Shaker village. Marital relationships are considered sinful in this celibate community, putting Darcie in a unique--and lonely--position. Can the arrival of widower Flynn Keller and his headstrong daughter offer Darcie the hope of happiness . . . and family?Ann H. Gabhart returns to the enigmatic world of the Shakers in this emotional exploration of the power of love and the bond of family.

Other books that might interest you

  • Romancing the Duke - Castles Ever After - cover

    Romancing the Duke - Castles...

    Tessa Dare

    • 9
    • 41
    • 0
    As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens.  She never doubted romance would be in her future, too.  The storybooks offered endless possibilities. 
    And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off.  One by one by one.   Ugly duckling turned swan?   Abducted by handsome highwayman?   Rescued from drudgery by charming prince? 
    No, no, and . . . Heh. 
    Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head.  What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed? 
    This one.
    Show book
  • In Total Surrender - cover

    In Total Surrender

    Anne Mallory

    • 6
    • 49
    • 0
    “No one does lush, riveting romance like Anne Mallory. Her books are like chocolate—decadent and delicious.”—Sarah MacLean  
    “Anne Mallory gives classic romance a fresh and delightful spin with her clever plots and winning imagination.”—Teresa Medeiros 
    Surrender completely to the lush, wicked, and sizzling hot historical romance of Anne Mallory. She totally captivates with In Total Surrender—a breathtaking love story that carries the reader  from Regency London’s glittering underworld to the ballrooms of the beau monde, as the stonehearted king of the demimonde sets his sights on the one woman who shakes him to the core: an exquisite society beauty who is far more than she seems. Lush, colorful, and sensuous—a Regency Era delight in the bestselling vein Julia Quinn and Elizabeth Boyle—In Total Surrender will enthrall romance aficionados from the very first page.
    Show book
  • Her Sister's Bridegroom - cover

    Her Sister's Bridegroom

    Jane Bonander

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Bestselling author Jane Bonander delights with enchanting historical romances set on the Scottish borderlands, perfect for fans of Paula Quinn and Karen Marie Moning.
    “Bonander writes with an easy style that brings her characters and timeframe to vivid, entertaining life.” —RT Book Reviews
    Robbie Fleming is out of options.
    When Robbie Fleming is evicted from her Edinburgh rooming house, she fears she’ll have to live on the street. Penniless, orphaned, and on poor terms with her only relative—her fraternal twin sister, Birdie—Robbie has nowhere to go.
    But then she receives a letter from Gavin Eliot, the man she has pined for since she was a girl. Although Gavin (and every other male within miles) seemed head over heels in love with flirty and vivacious Birdie, his letter holds a surprise: He wants to marry Robbie. Thrilled by the proposal and her change of luck, Robbie accepts, landing on his doorstep with little more than the clothes on her back.
    Gavin Eliot has his head in the clouds.
    When Robbie shows up at his borderlands manor, Gavin’s astonished to realize that he’s just unwittingly proposed to the wrong sister. But with Robbie in need of a home and Gavin honor-bound to his word, they find themselves headed to the altar. Will Robbie’s heart heal from the betrayal? And can Gavin learn to love the last woman he ever expected to marry?
    Show book
  • Caught by Surprise (Apart From the Crowd Book #3) - cover

    Caught by Surprise (Apart From...

    Jen Turano

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Miss Temperance Flowerdew is on her way to work when a stranger suddenly grabs her off the street and sends her on a Chicago-bound train before she can figure out what happened.When Mr. Gilbert Cavendish is called upon to rescue a missing woman, he follows the trail to Chicago only to discover that the woman is his good friend Temperance. Before they can discover who was behind the abduction, they're seen alone together by a New York society matron, putting their reputations at risk.Gilbert is willing to propose marriage--except Temperance will have none of it. She's finally stepped out of the shadow of her relations and won't give up her independence. But when it becomes clear the misunderstanding in Chicago has escalated into a threat on her life and followed her to New York, accepting Gilbert's help in solving the mystery may lead to more than she ever could have dreamed.
    Show book
  • Never Too Late - cover

    Never Too Late

    Mia Jones

    • 0
    • 16
    • 0
    Emily Peters was starting her life over with a great career in a place she'd always dreamed about.  The last thing she was looking for was a man after the abuse she received from her husband. 
    Greyson McKenzie never thought he'd find another woman after his wife left and didn't necessarily care.  He had his ranch and was surrounded by people he cared about.  
    Until Emily strolled into his life. 
    Can people find their true soulmates later in life? And can Emily get over the damage her husband had done to her self-esteem to allow Grey into her heart?
    Show book
  • Do You Want to Start a Scandal - cover

    Do You Want to Start a Scandal

    Tessa Dare

    • 9
    • 65
    • 0
    On the night of the Parkhurst ball, someone had a scandalous tryst in the library. 
    Was it Lord Canby, with the maid, on the divan? Or Miss Fairchild, with a rake, against the wall? Perhaps the butler did it. 
    All Charlotte Highwood knows is this: it wasn’t her. But rumors to the contrary are buzzing. Unless she can discover the lovers’ true identity, she’ll be forced to marry Piers Brandon, Lord Granville—the coldest, most arrogantly handsome gentleman she’s ever had the misfortune to embrace. 
    When it comes to emotion, the man hasn’t got a clue. 
    But as they set about finding the mystery lovers, Piers reveals a few secrets of his own. The oh-so-proper marquess can pick locks, land punches, tease with sly wit . . . and melt a woman’s knees with a single kiss. The only thing he guards more fiercely than Charlotte’s safety is the truth about his dark past. 
    Their passion is intense. The danger is real. Soon Charlotte’s feeling torn. Will she risk all to prove her innocence? Or surrender it to a man who’s sworn to never love?
    Show book