Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Murderer's Apprentice - cover

The Murderer's Apprentice

Ann Granger

Publisher: Canelo USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Ben and Lizzie Ross return in “a well-plotted and compelling mystery with lively characters and a strong invocation of fog-bound Victorian England” (Promoting Crime Fiction).   It is March 1870. London is in the grip of fog and ice. But Scotland Yard’s Inspector Ben Ross has more than the weather to worry about when the body of a young woman is found in a dustbin at the back of a Piccadilly restaurant.   Ben must establish who the victim is before he can find out how and why she came to be there. His enquiries lead him first to a bootmaker in Salisbury and then to a landowner in Yorkshire. Meanwhile, Ben’s wife, Lizzie, aided by their eagle-eyed maid, Bessie, is investigating the mystery of a girl who is apparently being kept a prisoner in her own home.   As Ben pursues an increasingly complex case, Lizzie reveals a vital piece of evidence that brings him one step closer to solving the crime . . .   A spellbinding Victorian crime mystery, perfect for fans of M. R. C. Kasasian and Susanna Calkins.  Praise for the writing of Ann Granger   “A well-written, well-crafted traditional British mystery by a writer with an assured grasp of her technique.” —reviewingtheevidence.com   “Characterization, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent.” —The Times   “The story just gets more complex, mysterious and chilling.” —Good Book Guide   “For once a murder novel which displays a gentle touch and a dash of wit.” —The Northern Echo   “A clever and lively book.” —Margaret York
Available since: 02/03/2020.
Print length: 273 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Gamble - A Gripping Psychological Thriller - cover

    Gamble - A Gripping...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The murder of best friends sparks a sinister chain of events in this thriller from the internationally bestselling author of the Kat and Mouse mysteries. 
     
    Would you risk everything to protect your family? Carla Andrews and Lorraine West are work colleagues and best friends. They socialise together, they work in the same bookmakers and they support each other as only best friends can. 
     
    Then they are murdered together. 
     
    When DI Tom Fowler is handed the case, he discovers a journal that Carla has left and must unpick the secrets Lorraine has kept hidden. 
     
    Soon Carla’s and Lorraine’s husbands become the main suspects. It’s usually the spouse who is responsible, isn’t it? 
     
    The investigation progresses until Lorraine’s sixteen-year-old son disappears. Will the truth ever emerge? And is knowing the truth always worth the sacrifice? 
     
    Praise for the thrillers of Anita Waller 
     
    “Once again Anita Waller brings the reader a masterfully written, first class mystery thriller with a jaw dropping twist that will leave you speechless.” —Once Upon a Time Book Reviews 
     
    “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller because I know I will not be able to put it down and I will be thoroughly surprised and entertained.” —Avonna Loves Genres 
     
    “A must-read for crime thriller readers.” —Bookstormer 
     
    “A really well written, gripping book with plenty of twists for me!” —Donna’s Book Blog 
     
    “A tense, drama-packed read. I was literally biting my nails by the end.” —On the Shelf Reviews
    Show book
  • The First Murder - cover

    The First Murder

    Carol Goodman Kaufman

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    The ME ruled her death an accident. He was dead wrong.
     
    When Mary Jane Bennett is found dead in her bed— alone, strangled by her own scarf, and with every door in the house locked — the medical examiner rules her death accidental, the result of a sex game gone horribly awry. State police decline to investigate further, but Queensbridge Police Chief Caleb Crane doesn't buy for a minute that his good friend died this way, so he undertakes his own investigation. Facing town councilors afraid of bad publicity, an angry medical examiner, and his own personal demons, he labors to solve what he believes is the first-ever murder in his pastoral Berkshire Hills village. Complicating things: the list of suspects includes some of the people to whom he is closest — including his own wife.
     
    “. . . [a] smartly-paced debut novel . . .”—Gerald Elias, author of the Daniel Jacobus mystery series
     
    “. . . one of my favorite mystery reads this year . . . With a talent reminiscent of Louise Penny, Kaufman creates a small town ambience of alliances and hidden resentments among characters whose humanity draws you in while raising your suspicions. The First Murder is an engaging and intriguing journey to an exciting conclusion.”—Sharon Healy-Yang, author of the Jessica Minton Mystery Series
     
    “. . . [a] deftly constructed debut novel [that] kept me guessing until the very end.”—Leslie Wheeler, award-winning author of the Berkshire Hilltown Mysteries
    Show book
  • Eleven Huskies - A Dr Bannerman Vet Mystery - cover

    Eleven Huskies - A Dr Bannerman...

    Philipp Schott

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Peter Bannerman, veterinarian and amateur detective, deserves a summer vacation. Peter and his family head to a remote fishing lodge in northern Manitoba for a canoeing trip with his champion sniffer dog, Pippin. But a series of incidents color their plans. The lodge’s sled team of huskies has been poisoned and, at the same time, a floatplane crashes into the lake, killing the pilot and both passengers. While Peter works to save the huskies, it is discovered that the plane crash wasn’t an accident. It was murder.
    		 
    It’s been a hot and dry summer, and one morning the Bannerman family wakes up to find a forest fire spreading quickly. They manage to dodge the conflagration, making it back to the lodge before it becomes cut off from the outside world. Peter soon figures out that the murderer, who probably also poisoned the huskies, must be among the other guests or staff trapped with them at the lodge. The power fails. The now-enormous fire draws nearer. Can Peter discover the culprit in time?
    Show book