Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
High as the Waters Rise - A Novel - cover

High as the Waters Rise - A Novel

Anja Kampmann

Translator Anne Posten

Publisher: Catapult

  • 0
  • 3
  • 1

Summary

High as the Waters Rise is an intimate, electrifying novel of the lonely journey an oil rig worker embarks upon after losing his close friend, Mátyás, to the sea. 
This is German poet Anja Kampmann’s debut novel, and was very well-received in Germany, where it was awarded the Lessing Prize, the Bergen-Enkheim Literary Prize, the Mara-Cassens Prize, and the Prize for Literature of the City of Lüneburg, and shortlisted for the Prize of the Leipzig Book Fair. It was pre-empted in France by Gallimard. 
The novel is a unique and surprising exploration of male intimacy and grief, of laborers and working conditions, of loneliness and loss, of freedom and what it costs to attain it; it’s also a fascinating view into the lives of oil rig workers and the realities of that industry
Perfect for fans of Ocean Vuong, Cormac McCarthy, and Kazuo Ishiguro 
High as the Waters Rise was Associate Editor Kendall Storey’s first acquisition for Catapult; we will publish Magnetized, another of her acquisitions, in June 2020
Anja Kampmann lives in Leipzig, Germany, and spent three months at the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa (Iowa City). Anne Posten is based in New York City and Berlin, and considers Annapolis, MD her hometown.

 
Bookseller Praise for High as the Waters Rise

 
"Like an odyssey of our time, one that takes the protagonist of this lushly limned book by German poet Anja Kampmann from one point to another and back, his directionlessness akin to much of what Homer portrayed. He travels the shoals of a Europe that feels exhausted and depleted, where generations of extractive work (coal mining, oil drilling) have left a trail of desertion, death, and loss . . . Kudos to translator Anne Posten, as well as the author herself. They've given readers a rich, vivid book, one to be immersed in . . . A novel deep and strong as the rising waters.” —Rick Simonson, The Elliott Bay Book Company (Seattle, WA) 

 
"Anja Kampmann's High as the Waters Rise is a poet's novel, attentive to the ebb and flow of modern life, landscape, and mourning. This richly textured translation helps answer a vital question of our era: how do we carry on in the face of loss?" —Stephen Sparks, Point Reyes Books (Point Reyes Station, CA)

Other books that might interest you

  • The Sphere of Time - cover

    The Sphere of Time

    Juan P. Vidal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An exhilarating novel about memory, time and forgiveness. In the 1950s, Leire is arrested, accused of being an accomplice to her mother and stepfather in the illegal plunder of a sunken galleon off the coast of Spain. Her mother hires Andrés, a young, ambitious lawyer, to defend Leire. Counsel and defendant soon become entwined in a passionate affair until, one day, she mysteriously disappears.
    
    Twenty years later, Andrés wanders into a New York bookstore, where he happens upon an autobiography… of Leire. The discovery sets off a whirlwind of events, with Leire's life becoming the novel itself. The lawyer is made privy to the riveting journey of this woman as she transforms into a world-famous violinist and travels to the most remote places on the planet. He also finds out the shocking reason for her sudden disappearance twenty years prior—a terrible secret that Leire shares with her mother and daughter. We are then led on a breathtaking chase, which sees Andrés fleeing from the mob while at the same time attempting to unravel the mystery by pursuing Leire himself.
    
    Andrés and Leire's lives slowly converge in the multifaceted metropolis. The need to find the answers he believes to be hidden in Leire's story, pushes Andrés to press forward through the mysteries of time, memory and the shadows of the past… all towards a most surprising conclusion.
    Show book
  • Spiteful Bones - cover

    Spiteful Bones

    Jeri Westerson

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The restoration of a crumbling manor house leaves Crispin Guest grappling with a troubling discovery in this entertaining medieval noir mystery.
    
    Restoring his recently inherited family home is a daunting enough task for young lawyer Nigellus Cobmartin without the addition of any unwelcome discoveries. But when workmen turning the crumbling manor house into a grand home for Nigellus and his companion, John Rykener, uncover a skeleton bound, tied and hidden in the wall - and holding the precious relic that went missing from his father's estate nearly twenty years ago - Nigellus immediately calls on London tracker Crispin Guest for help.
    
    Whose bones are they, and why was the valuable relic buried with the thief? Crispin and Jack are drawn into a mystery of dark secrets, family scandal and old grudges as they attempt to find the truth behind a load of old bones.
    Show book
  • The Good Daughter - A Novel - cover

    The Good Daughter - A Novel

    Karin Slaughter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “The Good Daughter is like Law and Order meets The Good Wife.” —theSkimm 
    Instant New York Times Bestseller 
    theSkimm Book Club Pick! 
    The stunning new novel from the international #1 bestselling author — a searing, spellbinding blend of cold-case thriller and psychological suspense. 
    Two girls are forced into the woods at gunpoint. One runs for her life. One is left behind… 
    Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn's happy small-town family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father — Pikeville's notorious defense attorney — devastated. And it left the family fractured beyond repair, consumed by secrets from that terrible night. 
    Twenty-eight years later, and Charlie has followed in her father's footsteps to become a lawyer herself — the ideal good daughter. But when violence comes to Pikeville again — and a shocking tragedy leaves the whole town traumatized — Charlie is plunged into a nightmare. Not only is she the first witness on the scene, but it's a case that unleashes the terrible memories she's spent so long trying to suppress. Because the shocking truth about the crime that destroyed her family nearly thirty years ago won't stay buried forever… 
    Packed with twists and turns, brimming with emotion and heart, The Good Daughter is fiction at its most thrilling.
    Show book
  • The Accidentals - A Novel - cover

    The Accidentals - A Novel

    Minrose Gwin

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Following the death of their mother from a botched backwoods abortion, the McAlister daughters have to cope with the ripple effect of this tragedy as they come of age in 1950s Mississippi and then grow up to face their own impossible choices—an unforgettable, beautiful novel that is threaded throughout with the stories of mothers and daughters in pre-Roe versus Wade America. 
    Life heads down back alleys, takes sharp left turns. Then, one fine day it jumps the track and crashes.” 
    In the fall of 1957, Olivia McAlister is living in Opelika, Mississippi, caring for her two girls, June and Grace, and her husband, Holly. She dreams of living a much larger life--seeing the world and returning to her wartime job at a landing boat factory in New Orleans. As she watches over the birds in her yard, Olivia feels like an “accidental”—a migratory bird blown off course.  
    When Olivia becomes pregnant again, she makes a fateful decision, compelling Grace, June, and Holly to cope in different ways. While their father digs up the backyard to build a bomb shelter, desperate to protect his family, Olivia’s spinster sister tries to take them all under her wing. But the impact of Olivia’s decision reverberates throughout Grace’s and June’s lives. Grace, caught up in an unconventional love affair, becomes one of the “girls who went away” to have a baby in secret. June, guilt-ridden for her part in exposing Grace’s pregnancy, eventually makes an unhappy marriage. Meanwhile Ed Mae Johnson, an African-American care worker in a New Orleans orphanage, is drastically impacted by Grace’s choices.   
    As the years go by, their lives intersect in ways that reflect the unpredictable nature of bird flight that lands in accidental locations—and the consolations of imperfect return.  
    Filled with tragedy, humor, joy, and the indomitable strength of women facing the constricted spaces of the 1950s and 60s, The Accidentals is a poignant, timely novel that reminds us of the hope and consolation that can be found in unexpected landings.
    Show book
  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2019 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Eye of the Law - cover

    Eye of the Law

    Cora Harrison

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Mystery of Medieval Ireland
    
    1510. A great feast is being held. Into a crowd listening to the story of Balor, the one-eyed god, come two strangers. The younger of the two, Larla, bears a letter that claims that the wealthy Ardal O'Lochlainn is his true father, which Ardal vociferously denies. So when Larla is found dead, with one eye missing, some think he was killed by the god, but most suspect Ardal. Mara, the Brehon of the Burren, is called to investigate.
    Show book