The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
High as the Waters Rise - A Novel - cover

High as the Waters Rise - A Novel

Anja Kampmann

Translator Anne Posten

Publisher: Catapult

  • 0
  • 3
  • 1

Summary

High as the Waters Rise is an intimate, electrifying novel of the lonely journey an oil rig worker embarks upon after losing his close friend, Mátyás, to the sea. 
This is German poet Anja Kampmann’s debut novel, and was very well-received in Germany, where it was awarded the Lessing Prize, the Bergen-Enkheim Literary Prize, the Mara-Cassens Prize, and the Prize for Literature of the City of Lüneburg, and shortlisted for the Prize of the Leipzig Book Fair. It was pre-empted in France by Gallimard. 
The novel is a unique and surprising exploration of male intimacy and grief, of laborers and working conditions, of loneliness and loss, of freedom and what it costs to attain it; it’s also a fascinating view into the lives of oil rig workers and the realities of that industry
Perfect for fans of Ocean Vuong, Cormac McCarthy, and Kazuo Ishiguro 
High as the Waters Rise was Associate Editor Kendall Storey’s first acquisition for Catapult; we will publish Magnetized, another of her acquisitions, in June 2020
Anja Kampmann lives in Leipzig, Germany, and spent three months at the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa (Iowa City). Anne Posten is based in New York City and Berlin, and considers Annapolis, MD her hometown.

 
Bookseller Praise for High as the Waters Rise

 
"Like an odyssey of our time, one that takes the protagonist of this lushly limned book by German poet Anja Kampmann from one point to another and back, his directionlessness akin to much of what Homer portrayed. He travels the shoals of a Europe that feels exhausted and depleted, where generations of extractive work (coal mining, oil drilling) have left a trail of desertion, death, and loss . . . Kudos to translator Anne Posten, as well as the author herself. They've given readers a rich, vivid book, one to be immersed in . . . A novel deep and strong as the rising waters.” —Rick Simonson, The Elliott Bay Book Company (Seattle, WA) 

 
"Anja Kampmann's High as the Waters Rise is a poet's novel, attentive to the ebb and flow of modern life, landscape, and mourning. This richly textured translation helps answer a vital question of our era: how do we carry on in the face of loss?" —Stephen Sparks, Point Reyes Books (Point Reyes Station, CA)

Other books that might interest you

  • Where Satan Rules - cover

    Where Satan Rules

    Prabhav Bhagat

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Before my time too, there have been cases of a ghost writing a journal to tell the truth about his life ... 
    Mike Carterson is hounded by death. When the Japanese bomb Pearl Harbour, his parents are killed-along with thousands of other Americans. Mike and his friend Alex Gutherburg land up in an orphanage, from which they run away to try to cross the mighty Pacific in a small boat. 
    When death looms again, they are saved by the  SS Atlantic of the US Navy. Their fun life on board, however, is suddenly interrupted when their ship is given a strange assignment: to investigate the mysterious disappearances in the Bermuda Triangle. 
    Mike and Alex are tormented by strange premonitions of the doom that awaits them in the Bermuda Triangle but the captain of the ship pays no heed to their warnings. And as the SS Atlantic enters the 'Devil's Triangle', they begin to encounter forces never imagined which spell doom not only for them but for all of humanity ...  
    What are the chilling secrets that the Bermuda Triangle hides? Will Mike and Alex survive in the realm where Satan rules?
    Show book
  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Dark Days - cover

    Dark Days

    D.W. Saur

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "A chosen one can come not only during dark times, but also on the brink of them." The dark times about to grace Sori are marked by a mysterious, ghost-like figure who begins to upset the balance the land has come to enjoy, manipulating members of the Galenvarg and Veirlintu sects into rebellion against the Duine. But hope for peace is not lost; the goddess Nantosuelta has selected her chosen one, a Leigheasan named Maya.Maya is independent, curious, a skilled hunter, and a master smith, and unique among her kind in her connection to the land. But, sensing that she has an unrevealed purpose, she has yet to undertake her clan's rite of passage, and isolates herself from her peers. With Nantosuelta's blessing, Maya begins her quest to find her powers, prevent war, and establish herself as leader among the Leigheasan. But can she rally the clans in time to confront the dark days ahead?
    Show book
  • The Girl With No Hands - A short story to take you around the world - cover

    The Girl With No Hands - A short...

    Tikiri Herath

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Are you looking for a short trip around the world? If you do, this is for you!
     
    The Girl With No Hands is the third tale from the Accidental Traveler short story anthology.
     
    The Accidental Traveler shares the misadventures of life and travel, based on one woman's experience growing up and living across four continents.
     
    Go on a trip around the world without having to buy an airline ticket or get your passport!
     
    Written by the multiple award-winning Canadian author of the Red Heeled Rebels novels—the international thriller series with kickass, iron-willed, ferocious heroines.
    Show book
  • 999 - New Stories Of Horror And Suspense - cover

    999 - New Stories Of Horror And...

    Al Sarrantonio

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    A ward-winning writer and editor Al Sarrantonio gathers together twenty-nine original stories from masters of the macabre. From dark fantasy and pure suspense to classic horror tales of vampires and zombies, 999 showcases the extraordinary scope of fantastical fright fiction. The stories in this anthology are a relentless tour de force of fear, which will haunt you, terrify you, and keep the adrenaline rushing all through the night.
    Show book
  • Runaway Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Runaway Vampire - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 6
    • 33
    • 0
    Buckle up—the argeneaus are back in a sexy, witty new novel from New York times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    Dante Notte has heard it said that love hurts. He just wasn’t expecting it to run him over in an RV. Still, a punctured lung and broken ribs are nothing compared to the full-body shock he feels whenever he’s near the vehicle’s driver, Mary Winslow. He needs to keep her safe from their pursuers while he rescues his brother. Most challenging of all, he needs to claim this smart, stubborn woman as his life mate. 
    The naked, injured, insanely gorgeous younger man who clambered into her RV insists they belong together. If Mary wasn’t feeling their incredible connection in every inch of her being, she wouldn’t believe it. But now that the men who took Dante’s twin are after her too, trusting her gut means risking her life for an immortal who’s the very definition of a perfect stranger.
    Show book