Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Traffik: The Stolen Girls - cover

Traffik: The Stolen Girls

Andy Lang

Publisher: PMO Publishing

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Traffik: The Stolen Girls - A story of modern day slavery. Four girls stolen from their homes and sold into a life of degradation and humiliation. Four very different girls who learn to respect and rely on each other as they battle for survival against the odds and a cruel, powerful enemy.Follow spoilt and vain Jata, sensible and motherly Akinyi, sensitive but disturbed Shani and worldly Marija as they strive to regain their stolen freedom and dignity."Daylight found the four fugitives asleep beneath the softly sighing pines, four young women from vastly different backgrounds that had been thrown together by cruel fate, a fate that had stripped them of identity and dignity, a fate that had tested their spirits beyond the boundaries of endurance. They were all damaged by their ordeal yet it had forged a bond between them that transcended friendship, and it had given each of them a priceless gift."Editorial ReviewHuman trafficking must be one of the ugliest scourges of humanity, and the author's unflinching look at this abominable practice is heartbreaking, no less so because of his skill in drawing believable, likable characters. Readers who seek realism and social change will appreciate this book, and lovers of redemption stories where honest people struggle against great odds towards a well-deserved happy ending will find enjoyment in the pages. Traffik: the Stolen Girls will make you angry. It will make you cry. And then it will make you cheer. In all, this is a book well worth reading.

Other books that might interest you

  • Last Night Out The - A psychological thriller - cover

    Last Night Out The - A...

    Catherine O'Connell

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    Six friends. A bride to be. One murder. Too many secrets. 
    After drinking too much at her bachelorette party, Maggie Trueheart wakes to find a stranger in her bed. To make matters worse, a phone call brings the devastating news that her friend Angie was murdered some time after they parted ways the night before.
    Kelly Delaney, who left the party early, is the first of Maggie’s friends to face questions from Chicago homicide detective Ron O’Reilly. After taking a closer look at the other women who attended the party, O’Reilly concludes that at least some of them are lying.
    As the clock ticks down to the wedding day and more shocking secrets are revealed, the murderer zeros in on another one of the girls. Can the killer be stopped before there is another victim?
    Show book
  • Dead in the Water - A Novel - cover

    Dead in the Water - A Novel

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Stone Barrington only wants a winter getaway from the chill of New York in the beautiful, tropical Caribbean paradise of St. Mark's. But what the lawyer and ex-cop gets instead is the chance to defend Allison Manning. The beautiful young woman stands accused of killing her rich husband on board their luxurious yacht and then burying him at sea. 
    Stone isn't exactly conversant with the island country's law, but this much is clear to him: Allison is being railroaded by the perverse sense of justice of a prosecutor who will do anything to stay in office. Donning the robe and wig of a British barrister, Stone does everything he can to save Allison—from publicizing the case all over the American press to conducting the kind of smart, tough investigation that money can't buy. Just when he has the jury in the palm of his hands, a shocking reversal of fortune changes everything. And what was once a sure thing begins to look a lot like a death sentence.
    Show book
  • Sabotage in the Secret City - A World War Two mystery set in Tennessee - cover

    Sabotage in the Secret City - A...

    Diane Fanning

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Research chemist-sleuth Libby Clark must uncover the traitor within in this gripping World War II mystery. May 1945. Harry S. Truman has become president, the Allied Forces are closing in on Berlin and the research scientists at the secret facility in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, are doing their bit to bring the war to as swift a conclusion as possible. But does the end justify the means? Libby Clark has mixed feelings about the horror she and her fellow scientists are labouring to unleash on the citizens of Japan – and it seems she’s not the only one to have doubts.A campaign of small acts of sabotage convinces Libby that one of their number is deliberately trying to delay the mission. But when the pranks turn deadly, Libby is forced once again to turn undercover sleuth in order to unmask the traitor within, prevent further deaths and keep the focus on ending World War II.
    Show book
  • Color Blind - cover

    Color Blind

    Jonathan Santlofer

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Kate McKinnon is back -- and this time it's personal. 
    When two hideously eviscerated bodies are discovered and the only link between them is a bizarre painting left at each crime scene, the NYPD turns to former cop Kate McKinnon, the woman who brought the serial killer the Death Artist to justice. Having settled back into her satisfying life as art historian, published author, host of a weekly PBS television series, and wife of one of New York's top lawyers, Kate wants no part of it. 
    But Kate's sense of tranquility is shattered when this new sequence of murders strikes too close to home. With grief and fury to fuel her, she rejoins her former partner, detective Floyd Brown, and his elite homicide squad on the hunt for a vicious psychopath known as the Color-Blind Killer. In her rage and desperation, Kate allows herself to be drawn into a deadly game of cat and mouse. She abandons her glamorous life for the gritty streets of Manhattan, immersing herself in a world where brutality and madness appear to be the norm, where those closest to her may have betrayed her -- and where, in the end, nothing is what it seems.
    Show book
  • Still Lives - A Novel - cover

    Still Lives - A Novel

    Maria Hummel

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Maria Hummel will be at the 2018 ABA Winter Institute in Memphis, TN A deeply satisfying, smart and rapid-paced thriller where each potential suspect will have the reader looking over her shoulder Los Angeles and the art scene are characters in their own right Motherland, Hummel's last novel, sold over 12,000 copies in print and nearly 16,000 copies in digital ARCs available at ALA Midwinter and AWP Advertising and giveaways with NEIBA, Shelf Awareness, Library Journal, Booklist, as well as an extensive and aggressive paid social media campaign For readers who love Tana French, Donna Tartt, or Emma Cline  Praise from Librarians and Booksellers "A smart, well-written art thriller? More please! I loved this book—one of my easiest handsells last year was The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith, and this too will be an easy book to recommend. The Art Forger and The Muralist were also very big in our area, and I know fans will turn to this, as well. Thanks for publishing such a smart, fun read!" —Mary Cotton, Newtonville Books (Newton, MA)
    "Art is life and art imitates life in this novel about a female artist caught up as a commodity in the art world. Maria Hummel gives us a bird's-eye view of the inner workings of an art gallery in this thrilling novel." —Rachel Watkins, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)
    Show book
  • Vanished - cover

    Vanished

    Karen E. Olson

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    Computer hacker Tina Adler heads to Paris, France in search of the truth ? but discovers that someone is close on her trail in this tense and twisting thriller. With a price on her head, computer hacker Tina Adler is determined to stay offline. Only one person knows how to reach her ? and he?s in as much danger as she is.A chance discovery leads Tina to abandon her South Carolina hideaway in search of her old flame, undercover FBI Agent Zeke Chapman. What is Zeke doing in Paris, France? And what is his connection to the disappearance of American college student Ryan Whittier?En route to Paris in search of answers, Tina realizes that someone is on her trail: someone who?s getting disturbingly close. Has she been set up??
    Show book