Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
I Was Born in Slavery - Personal Accounts of Slavery in Texas - cover

I Was Born in Slavery - Personal Accounts of Slavery in Texas

Andrew Waters

Publisher: Blair

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When you think of early Texas history, you think of freedom fighters at the Alamo and rugged cowboys riding the plains. You usually don’t think too much about slavery in the Lone Star State. Although slavery existed in Texas only from the second decade of the 19th century to the close of the Civil War, the majority of early settlers came to Texas from other Southern states. When they moved westward, they brought their slaves with them. When the Federal Writers’ Project sent interviewers across Texas to find former slaves and document what their lives were like during slavery, they filed over 590 slave narratives, the largest collection of any state. The 28 selections in I Was Born in Slavery show that Texas slaves had their own distinctive voices, often colored by their Western culture. Lu Lee, who lived in what was then Cook County, describes seeing Indians pass by the house every day, observing droves of wild horses, and watching wolves grab “a big, good-sized calf in small time.” James Cape, interviewed in Fort Worth, speaks affectionately about his favorite horse and tells about working as a cowhand for a cattle rustler before escaping to Missouri to work on Jesse James’s farm. Sam Jones Washington, a slave on a ranch along the Colorado River, describes how he once diverted a cattle stampede. He ends his description by saying that “if them cattle stamp you to death, Gabriel sho’ blow the horn for you then!” Along with descriptions of the frontier, the words of these slaves provide poignant insights into what it was like to live as a slave in this area. Through their voices, we are given a moving glimpse into an important part of American history.
 
Andrew Waters is a writer and former editor. A native North Carolinian, he graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with Honors in Creative Writing and received a graduate degree from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He is  the executive director of the Spartanburg Area Conservancy in Spartanburg, SC.

Other books that might interest you

  • Feuding Fan Dancers - Faith Bacon Sally Rand and the Golden Age of the Showgirl - cover

    Feuding Fan Dancers - Faith...

    Leslie Zemeckis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Zemeckis is one of only a few burlesque historians world-wide, and she herself has spent more than a decade performing in burlesque. Zemeckis's last two books on burlesque have been favorably reviewed by The New York Times, Time, NPR, New York Magazine, and in 2014, Zemeckis, also an actress and producer, was profiled in The Huffington Post.
     
    In November 2018, Zemeckis will costar with Steve Carell and Diane Kruger in the new film The Women of Marwen. She also has over 60k followers on Instagram.
     
    Behind the Burly Q, the 2010 documentary based on Zemeckis' book of the same name on the history of burlesque was championed by USA Today and The New Yorker. She wrote, produced, and directed it. Her latest documentary, Bound by Flesh (about vaudeville Siamese twin superstars, Daisy and Violet Hilton) has won multiple awards.
     
    Deeply researched and stylishly written, Feud of the Fan Dancers is the result of several years' worth of research and interviews with the family members of Faith Bacon and Sally Rand.
     
    Zemeckis has a track record of uncovering the forgotten feminist histories from the decades before women's rights, and this book is another on that indomitable trajectory––the story of two notorious women of grit and perseverance in the Golden Age of entertainment
    Show book
  • The 50-Year Secret - cover

    The 50-Year Secret

    Julie MacNeil

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “A beautiful journey with a powerful message.” —Andy Chaleff, author of The Last Letter 
    Julie MacNeil is 6’4”, and although she is neither a WNBA athlete nor a famous model, she has a remarkable story to tell. As an adopted child, she always wondered about the parents who gave her up. After overcoming a challenging childhood and surviving two tumultuous marriages, a chance DNA test revealed an incredibly rare and life-threatening liver-lung disease. Julie then embarked on a difficult journey to find her birth family. Her goal was to warn them about the disease, which is highly genetic and often undiagnosed. What followed was a miraculous sequence of events and a remarkable homecoming.
    Show book
  • A Well-Ordered Thing - Dmitrii Mendeleev and the Shadow of the Periodic Table Revised Edition - cover

    A Well-Ordered Thing - Dmitrii...

    Michael D. Gordin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Dmitrii Mendeleev (1834–1907) is a name we recognize, but perhaps only as the creator of the periodic table of elements. Generally, little else has been known about him. A Well-Ordered Thing is an authoritative biography of Mendeleev that draws a multifaceted portrait of his life for the first time. As Michael Gordin reveals, Mendeleev was not only a luminary in the history of science, he was also an astonishingly wide-ranging political and cultural figure. From his attack on Spiritualism to his failed voyage to the Arctic and his near-mythical hot-air balloon trip, this is the story of an extraordinary maverick. The ideals that shaped his work outside science also led Mendeleev to order the elements and, eventually, to engineer one of the most fascinating scientific developments of the nineteenth century.  A Well-Ordered Thing is a classic work that tells the story of one of the world’s most important minds.
    Show book
  • God's Generals: The Revivalists - cover

    God's Generals: The Revivalists

    Roberts Liardon

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Roberts Liardon recaptures God's glory with these compelling spiritual biographies of some of the most powerful preachers ever to ignite the fires of revival.
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man - cover

    A Portrait of the Artist as a...

    Joe Joyce

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in Joyce's native Ireland, the story follows life of a young man Stephen and his transformation from child to artist. In five chapters, we are taken through Stephen's early childhood in Ireland and confinement at boarding school, his dalliances with theatre and hiring prostitutes, his retreat from sensory excess into religious devotion, his retreat from religious devotion into aesthetic, ascetic excess, and, ultimately, his retreat from Ireland and fellowship in favour of destiny.
    Show book