Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
THE PINK FAIRY BOOK - 39 Folk and Fairy Tales for Children - cover

THE PINK FAIRY BOOK - 39 Folk and Fairy Tales for Children

Andrew Lang

Publisher: Abela Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A STUNNING READ FOR KIDSand not so small “Children” from Andrew Lang Britain’s answer to the Grimm Brothers!
Herein are 39 stories of folklore, fairy tales and fancies brought from all quarters of the world: we see that the peoples of the world, no matter their origin, are all fond of just the same kinds of adventures showing courage, youth, beauty and kindness. Many have trials and tribulations, but they always win the battle; while witches, giants, unfriendly cruel people, are on the losing hand. So it ought to be, and so, on the whole, it is and will be; and that is the moral of fairy tales. We cannot all be young, alas! and pretty, and strong; but nothing prevents us from being kind, and no kind man, woman, or beast or bird, ever comes to anything but good in these oldest fables of the world. So far all the tales are true, and no further.

A child who has read the Blue, Red and Yellow Fairy Books will, if he or she examines and compares, find some old friends with new faces in the Pink Fairy Book. But the Japanese tales will probably be new to many; the Tanuki is a creature whose acquaintance few have made before. There are also tales from Sicily, Catalonia, Sweden, Denmark and Africa.  Tales of monsters and mermaids, princes and giants, and beautiful princesses, who are, if possible, always prettier than ever.

All people in the world tell nursery tales to their children. The Japanese tell them, the Chinese, the American Indians and the Eskimos to pass the long wintry nights. Native South Africans tell them, and Greeks, as did the old Egyptians, when Moses had not long been rescued out of the bulrushes. The Germans, French, Spanish, Italians, Danes and Highlanders tell them, and the stories are apt to be like each other everywhere.

So find a comfy chair and sit back and enjoy these tales from yesteryear in the knowledge that the purchase of this book will not only raise some mirth, but also raise funds for charity.

10% of the profit from the sale of this book will be donated to charities by the publisher.
================
KEYWORDS/TAGS: Pink Fairy Book, Andrew lang, folklore, fairy tales, myths, legends, fables, children’s stories, Cat, Elopement, Dragon, Trick, Goblin, Grocer, House In The Wood, Uraschimataro, Turtle, Slay, Tanuki, Flying Trunk, Snow-Man, snowman, Shirt, Collar, Princess, Chest, Three Brothers, Snow Queen, Fir Tree, Hans, Mermaid's Son, Peter Bull, Bird, Grip, Snowflake, slav, Slavonic Story, learn, Cunning, Shoemaker, King, Beautiful Wife, Hermit, Win, King's Daughter, Water Of Life, Wounded, Lion, no Heart, Two Brothers, Master, Pupil, Golden Lion, Sprig Of Rosemary, White Dove, paloma blanca, Troll's Daughter, Esben, Witch, Princess Minon-Minette, Maiden, Bright-Eye, Merry Wives, Jackal, Dove, Panther, Little Hare, Sparrow, Slit Tongue, Story Of Ciccu,
Don Giovanni De La Fortuna,

Other books that might interest you

  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Monster - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Monster

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the best-selling author of Horrible Histories... 
     
    Mesopotamia, 2500 years ago 
     
    Everyone in the tribe must work; all the men go hunting for bulls and mountain lions - apart from Sin-leqi, that is. Sin-leqi stays home and reads tablets in the great temples. The tablets tell tales of the legendary Gilgamesh, tales that are so fantastical that lazy Sin-leqi doesn't have to work, as long as he keeps telling them. But when the story comes to end, Sin-leqi is in trouble... 
     
     A brand new and exciting tale, based on real historical and archaeological   evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry   wit. 
     
    Book band: Grey
    Show book
  • We Are Bound by Stars - cover

    We Are Bound by Stars

    Kesia Lupo

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The next adventure in Kesia Lupo's stunning and original YA fantasy world. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor. 
     
    On a mysterious island where the very earth holds magic, masked assassins plague the city and strange creatures rise from the desert. Livio has riled against his destiny his whole life. Beatrice longs to escape her life of servitude. But when a twist of fate unites them, it is up to them to stop a deadly revolution. 
     
    Are they just puppets in someone else's game? Will they have to accept the hands they have been dealt or can either change their fortunes? 
     
    Another thrilling, plot-driven adventure, with an even bigger twist, We Are Bound by Stars is a tale of masks, politics, desire and deception that will have you gripped once again in Kesia Lupo's rich fantasy world.
    Show book
  • Saxon Tales: The Witch Who Faced the Fire - cover

    Saxon Tales: The Witch Who Faced...

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wilfred, the Saxon village Cunning Man, is loved by all for his wondrous healing powers. But he is growing old and weary, and it will soon be time for his apprentice, Ardith, to step up. It's a risky job, and Ardith's about to learn the hard way that you need more than potions and magic words. You need to be... cunning. 
     
    Join master storyteller Terry Deary for a trip back in time to Saxon times and an exciting adventure. 
     
    Book band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages: 7+
    Show book
  • The Silver Hand - cover

    The Silver Hand

    Terry Deary

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    This brand new, thrilling adventure from bestselling 'Horrible Histories' author Terry Deary brings the closing days of the First World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne. 
     
    It's 1918 and the Great War is entering its final phase. In northern France, young Aimee has just found out that her mother is part of a spy network working with the British. After reluctantly befriending Marius, a German boy who has been left behind by his countrymen, she must try to help him get back behind German lines while evading a traitor she has helped to discover. 
     
    This page-turning adventure sheds new light on the First World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish. 
     
    Book band: Dark Blue
    Show book
  • Eye of the Storm - cover

    Eye of the Storm

    Kate Messner

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    In the not-too-distant future, huge tornadoes and monster storms have become a part of everyday life. Sent to spend the summer in the heart of storm country with her meteorological engineer father, Jaden Meggs is surprised at the strides her father's company StormSafe, has made with custom shelters that keep her family safe in even the worst of storms. At her exclusive summer science camp, Eye On Tomorrow, Jaden meets Alex, a boy whose passion for science matches hers. Together, they discover that her father's company is steering storms away from the expensive neighborhoods and toward the organic farming communities that are in competition with his bio-engineered food company, NatureMade. Jaden must confront her father, but when she does, she uncovers a terrifying family secret and must call on both her scientific knowledge and her faith to save the people she loves most from one of her father's monster storms.
    Show book
  • Saxon Tales: The Shepherd Who Ate His Sheep - cover

    Saxon Tales: The Shepherd Who...

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Saxon Kent the law says thieves should be executed, and soup made from a stolen sheep has been found in the Medway house. Young Edward takes the blame, but does his father know more than he's letting on? And can he find a way to save his son from hanging? 
     
    Join master storyteller Terry Deary for a trip back in time to Saxon times and an exciting adventure. 
     
    Book band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages: 7+
    Show book