Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Crimson Fairytales - 36 Fairy Tales of Magic & Fantasy - cover

The Crimson Fairytales - 36 Fairy Tales of Magic & Fantasy

Andrew Lang

Publisher: Musaicum Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Crimson Fairy Book is a part of the Langs' Fairy Books series. It is a collection of 36 short stories and traditional tales originated in Hungary, Russia, Finland, Iceland, Tunisia, the Baltic, and elsewhere.
Table of Contents:
Lovely Ilonka
Lucky Luck
The Hairy Man
To Your Good Health!
The Story of the Seven Simons
The Language of Beasts
The Boy Who Could Keep A Secret
The Prince And The Dragon
Little Wildrose
Tiidu The Piper
Paperarelloo
The Gifts Of The Magician
The Strong Prince
The Treasure Seeker
The Cottager And His Cat
The Prince Who Would Seek Immortality
The Stone-Cutter
The Gold-Bearded Man
Tritill, Litill, And The Birds
The Three Robes
The Six Hungry Beasts
How the Beggar Boy Turned into Count Piro
The Rogue And The Herdsman
Eisenkopf
The Death Of Abu Nowas And Of His Wife
Motiratika
Niels And The Giants
Shepherd Paul
How The Wicked Tanuki Was Punished
The Crab And The Monkey
The Horse Gullfaxi And The Sword Gunnfoder
The Story Of The Sham Prince, Or The Ambitious Tailor
The Colony Of Cats
How To Find Out A True Friend
Clever Maria
The Magic Kettle

Other books that might interest you

  • Eye of the Storm - cover

    Eye of the Storm

    Kate Messner

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    In the not-too-distant future, huge tornadoes and monster storms have become a part of everyday life. Sent to spend the summer in the heart of storm country with her meteorological engineer father, Jaden Meggs is surprised at the strides her father's company StormSafe, has made with custom shelters that keep her family safe in even the worst of storms. At her exclusive summer science camp, Eye On Tomorrow, Jaden meets Alex, a boy whose passion for science matches hers. Together, they discover that her father's company is steering storms away from the expensive neighborhoods and toward the organic farming communities that are in competition with his bio-engineered food company, NatureMade. Jaden must confront her father, but when she does, she uncovers a terrifying family secret and must call on both her scientific knowledge and her faith to save the people she loves most from one of her father's monster storms.
    Show book
  • Stoneywish and other chilling stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Stoneywish and other chilling...

    Joan Aiken

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A brilliant collection of spine-chilling tales by Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase.  
     
    From a mysterious traveller who leaves an injured horse with a stranger, to a garden plant that slowly creeps into a house during a thunderstorm and a man who comes across two angry forces in the middle of a forest, this chilling collection of stories will have readers jumping at bumps in the night. 
     
    Much-loved author Joan Aiken is best known for The Wolves of Willoughby Chase and the Arabel and Mortimer books. This brilliant collection has spooky black-and-white illustrations by Masha Ukhova and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Monster - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Monster

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the best-selling author of Horrible Histories... 
     
    Mesopotamia, 2500 years ago 
     
    Everyone in the tribe must work; all the men go hunting for bulls and mountain lions - apart from Sin-leqi, that is. Sin-leqi stays home and reads tablets in the great temples. The tablets tell tales of the legendary Gilgamesh, tales that are so fantastical that lazy Sin-leqi doesn't have to work, as long as he keeps telling them. But when the story comes to end, Sin-leqi is in trouble... 
     
     A brand new and exciting tale, based on real historical and archaeological   evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry   wit. 
     
    Book band: Grey
    Show book
  • World War II Tales: The Apple Spy - cover

    World War II Tales: The Apple Spy

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Stories of the Second World War on the Home Front from the bestselling  Terry Deary, author of the hugely successful Horrible Histories. In this retelling of an extraordinary true story, a pair of children realise that the odd strangers they see in their tiny Scottish village are German spies. Can the children alert the authorities or will the ruthless spies find them first?
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Cave - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Cave

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'Mixing historical fact with fiction, these books provide both an insightful and informative read...Thoroughly enjoyable' SCOTT EVANS, THE READER TEACHER (@MrEPrimary) 
     
    A fast-paced Stone Age adventure from the best-selling author of Horrible Histories. 
     
    17,300 years ago. Lascaux, France. 
     
    Willow isn't the strongest or fastest in his tribe, he is careful and clever. But that's not what matters to the other boys. All they care about who is the best hunter, and who can provide meat for the tribe. So when the brawny and brash Bull takes over as the tribe's chief, it's going to take all of Willow's wits to survive.  
     
     An exciting tale based on real historical and archaeological evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry wit. With helpful reading notes to extend learning, this book is the perfect springboard for further study of the Stone Age under the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum. 
     
    Book band: Brown 
    Ideal for children aged 7+
    Show book
  • The Silver Hand - cover

    The Silver Hand

    Terry Deary

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    This brand new, thrilling adventure from bestselling 'Horrible Histories' author Terry Deary brings the closing days of the First World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne. 
     
    It's 1918 and the Great War is entering its final phase. In northern France, young Aimee has just found out that her mother is part of a spy network working with the British. After reluctantly befriending Marius, a German boy who has been left behind by his countrymen, she must try to help him get back behind German lines while evading a traitor she has helped to discover. 
     
    This page-turning adventure sheds new light on the First World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish. 
     
    Book band: Dark Blue
    Show book