What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Blue Fairy Book - cover

The Blue Fairy Book

Andrew Lang

Publisher: Charles River Editors

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Andrew Lang (1844-1912) was a Scottish writer and anthropologist.  Lang is best known for writing fairy books and The Arabian Nights Entertainments.  This version of Langs The Blue Fairy Book includes a table of contents.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Original Death - Duncan McCallum #3 - cover

    Original Death - Duncan McCallum #3

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Scottish exile Duncan McCallum has joined his old Indian companion Conawago on a quest to find the last surviving members of his tribe. 
     
    But when they find the little settlement of Christian Indians destroyed, its inhabitants ritually murdered, Conawago becomes convinced of a terrible crisis in the spirit world that he must resolve. 
     
    Duncan is soon accused by the British army of having committed the massacre. Hounded by vengeful soldiers, he also finds himself stalked by Scottish rebels who are trying to manipulate the war between the French and the British to their advantage.  
     
    As Duncan pieces together the puzzle of violence and deception, he realizes that the survival of the native tribes hangs in the balance. Duncan must finally make a fateful choice between his beloved Highland clans and the natives who have embraced and protected him. 
     
    The third book in The Bone Rattler series throws the reader into the heart of pre-Revolutionary America. 
      
    Praise for Original Death… 
     
    "[R]ich in period detail, [Original Death] is often somber and unblinking in its portrayal of a dark period in history." — Kirkus 
     
    "Pattison pays tribute to the conventions of the murder mystery without sacrificing excitement or a nuanced look at the final stage of the war between the British and the French for control of North America." — Publishers Weekly 
     
    "The excellent prose narrative goes right to the matter in question, the state of the (pre-Colonial) human heart." — The Chicago Tribune 
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of an Edgar Award and finalist for The Gold Dagger; Water Touching Stone; Bone Mountain; Beautiful Ghosts; Prayer of the Dragon; Bone Rattler; The Lord of Death, and most recently Eye of the Raven. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • Sissy in the Woods - Forced Feminised Outdoors to Please his Dominant Mistress - cover

    Sissy in the Woods - Forced...

    Anonymous

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    If you go down to the woods today beware of a sissy surprise . . . 
     
    Charlie Morris fantasies become a reality when he encounters a beautiful and mysterious woman in his local supermarket. Naturally dominant, he is immediately attracted to her and she begins his tuition in the art of submission in a local wood close to his place of work. He is slowly manipulated by his Mistress’s guile and superiority and soon Charlie finds himself in a position of slavery and submission to this powerful dominatrix that uses her seductive charms and some well-chosen blackmail to push him into panties and become her outdoor sissy slave. But where will this lead, will his Mistress fully enslave him and make him hers or does she have other plans for him? Read ‘Sissy in the Woods’ to find out the fate of this forced feminised sissy slave.
    Show book
  • The Bowness Bequest - cover

    The Bowness Bequest

    Rebecca Tope

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    DARK SECRETS ARE UNEARTHED IN THE LAKE DISTRICT 
    As winter settles in Windermere, it hails the death of Frances Henderson, long-time friend to Persimmon ‘Simmy’ Brown and her family. Coupled with the grief of losing such a beloved woman, Simmy has to cope with the increasing antagonism and confusion of Frances’s remaining family after being bequeathed something in her will. 
    Then a violent murder is discovered and Simmy must face the fact that the family she was once so close to as a child holds some dark and sinister secrets. Her efforts to avoid the investigation are frustrated when people from the past resurface, rumours of infidelity in the Henderson household abound, and her friends Ben and Bonnie try some detecting themselves. 
    ‘A cracking good read’ Mystery People
    Show book
  • The Alchemist - cover

    The Alchemist

    Paulo Coelho

    • 26
    • 806
    • 1
    A special 25th anniversary edition of the extraordinary international bestseller, including a new Foreword by Paulo Coelho. 
    Combining magic, mysticism, wisdom and wonder into an inspiring tale of self-discovery, The Alchemist has become a modern classic, selling millions of copies around the world and transforming the lives of countless readers across generations. 
    Paulo Coelho's masterpiece tells the mystical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a worldly treasure. His quest will lead him to riches far different—and far more satisfying—than he ever imagined. Santiago's journey teaches us about the essential wisdom of listening to our hearts, of recognizing opportunity and learning to read the omens strewn along life's path, and, most importantly, to follow our dreams.
    Show book
  • Friends of the Library - cover

    Friends of the Library

    Susan Cushman

    • 2
    • 14
    • 1
    “. . . a beautifully wrought hymn of praise to readers and book-lovers in the most sacred of places, the libraries where we find both.” —Cassandra King, author of the best-selling novels The Sunday Wife 
    WHEN ADELE COVINGTON becomes an author in her sixties, she goes on a book tour to speak to the Friends of the Library groups in ten small towns in her home state of Mississippi. Chasing her personal demons through the Christ-haunted South of her childhood, Adele befriends an eclectic group of wounded people and decides to tell their stories. From Eupora to Meridian, from a budding artist with an abusive husband to a seven-year-old with a rare form of cancer, each story contains elements of hope and healing and honors the heart, soul, and history of the Magnolia State.
    Show book