You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Shareholder Action Guide - Unleash Your Hidden Powers to Hold Corporations Accountable - cover

The Shareholder Action Guide - Unleash Your Hidden Powers to Hold Corporations Accountable

Andrew Behar

Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

“A valuable call to action for small shareholders to change the ways big corporations do business.”—Robert Reich, former US Secretary of Labor Want to make misbehaving corporations mend their ways? You can! If you own their stock, corporations have to listen to you. Shareholder advocate Andrew Behar explains how to exercise your proxy voting rights to weigh in on corporate policies—you only need a single share of stock to do it. If you've got just $2,000 in stock, Behar shows how you can go further and file a resolution to directly address the board of directors. And even if your investments are in a workplace-sponsored 401(k) or a mutual fund, you can work with your fund manager to purge corporations from your portfolio that don't align with your values. Illustrated with inspiring stories of individuals who have gone up against corporate Goliaths and won, this book informs, inspires, and instructs investors how to unleash their power to change the world.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Corpus Hermeticum - cover

    The Corpus Hermeticum

    Hermes Trismegistus

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The Corpus Hermeticum are Egyptian-Greek wisdom texts from which are mostly presented as dialogues in which a teacher enlightens a disciple. The texts form the basis of Hermeticism. They discuss the divine, the cosmos, mind, and nature. Some touch upon alchemy, astrology, and related concepts.
    Show book
  • Healing Emotional Wounds - A Story of Overcoming the Long Hard Road to Recovery from Abuse and Abandonment - cover

    Healing Emotional Wounds - A...

    Nancy M. Welch

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nancy’s labor pains were harsh and long, close to seven years, in fact. Conceived by Ukrainian parents, her two adopted children, Alyona and Alec, began their rebirth six years later in an American city near the East Coast shoreline. Healing Emotional Wounds-A Story of Overcoming the Long Hard Road to Recovery from Abuse and Abandonment is a compelling chronicle of metamorphosis that gives testament to the power of love, encouragement, and resolve over the desperate circumstances of abuse, neglect, and abandonment. This unvarnished story recounts the tumultuous road to recovery of two six-year-olds adopted from Ukraine and takes the reader through a mosaic of emotions from anger and frustration to laughter and bewilderment. This action-packed drama of the family’s first seven years reads like fiction, but it’s real. The high-stakes adventure is replete with volatile behaviors, love, intrigue, sadness, police intervention, unwavering faith, doggedness, emotional fluctuations, and humor. Three main characters emerge, along with a large supporting cast of friends, family, neighbors, and community: 1) Alec, born prematurely to a substance-abusing mother, who spent the early part of his life swathed in a blanket cocoon almost devoid of human touch; 2) Alyona, found on the streets at age four or five and returned to the orphanage by her Italian adoptive family after only six weeks due to her aggressive behavior; 3) Nancy, a single, early fiftyish professional who feels called to adopt these children. The antagonist in this saga is the history of abuse and abandonment, but the real heroes are the children, who emerge from the abyss of hopelessness to live lives of confidence, love, and expectation.
    Show book
  • Hunting Monsters - Cryptozoology and the Reality Behind the Myths - cover

    Hunting Monsters - Cryptozoology...

    Darren Naish

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The Loch Ness Monster, bigfoot and the yeti have long held a fascination for people the world over. Debates about their actual existence or what they might really be have continued for decades, if not centuries. Known also as cryptids, they have spawned a body of research known as cryptozoology. This entertaining book looks at the evidence of these mysterious monsters and others and explores what they might really be (if they exist at all), why they have been represented as they have and the development of cryptozoology and how it has collected data to discover more about these unknown creatures.
    Show book
  • Strange coincidences in your life - Small curious events Forebodings Telepathy Does it happen to you too? Quantum physics and the theory of synchronicity explain extrasensory phenomena - cover

    Strange coincidences in your...

    George Anderson

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    From the earliest developments of thought, mankind believed that some significant coincidences were signs by which a higher philosophical or divine level sought to inter-dialogue with men.
     
    In the last three centuries this had been erased from the new directions of science. Extraordinary coincidences were considered as fruits of chance. Anyone who wanted to interpret extraordinary events as divine signals was mocked. In the same way, premonitions were considered illusions or even signs of imbalance. This, despite many had experienced these extraordinary facts.
     
    Science denied the existence of a psychic dimension with which the human mind could interact. According to the common opinion, the only existing reality was matter. However, in the 1980s, experiments in quantum physics demonstrated the existence of a universe that is not just composed of matter. This universe holds a level in which energy and information do not suffer the limits of space and time typical of classical physics.
     
    This confirms all the intuitions matured in the history of humanity. Among these intuitions the concept of "Soul of the World" enunciated by the Greek philosopher Plato. More recently, the Swiss psychologist Carl Gustav Jung has elaborated the theory of the "collective unconscious".
     
    This book avoids investigating excessively specialized topics. The author clearly accompanies the reader in understanding the three levels that form a single reality.
     
    The first level is the physical one, which is part of our daily experience. The second level is the one described by quantum physics, typical of the smallest elementary particles of atoms.
     
    The third is the psychic level called "non-locality". It is the spiritual level, which can not be physically located anywhere.
     
    This path of knowledge refers to recent discoveries recognized by official science. The strange coincidences and phenomena of the mind become important parts of a new and surprising reality.
    Show book
  • The Story of the SS - Hitler’s Infamous Legions of Death - cover

    The Story of the SS - Hitler’s...

    Al Cimino

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    'The best political weapon is the weapon of terror. Cruelty commands respect. Men may hate us. But, we don't ask for their love - only for their fear.'
     
    -HEINRICH HIMMLER
     
    The Schutzstaffel, or SS - the brutal elite of the Nazi Party - was founded by Hitler in 1925 to be his personal bodyguard. From 1929 it was headed by Heinrich Himmler, who built its numbers up from under 300 to well over a million by 1945. The SS became the very backbone of Nazi Germany, taking over almost every function of the state.
     
    SS members were chosen not only to be the living embodiment of Hitler's notion of 'Aryan supremacy', but also to cement undying loyalty to the Fu¨hrer at every level of German society.
     
    Merciless fanatics in jackboots, the SS systematically slaughtered, tortured, and enslaved millions. This is the story of the rise and fall of one of the most evil organizations the world has ever seen.
    Show book
  • A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing - The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland - cover

    A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous...

    DaMaris Hill

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season 
    Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the year 
    BookRiot's "50 Must-Read Poetry Collections" 
    Most Anticipated Books of the Year--The Rumpus, Nylon 
     
    A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration. 
      
    “It is costly to stay free and appear / sane.” 
     
    From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida B. Wells to Sandra Bland and Black Lives Matter, black women freedom fighters have braved violence, scorn, despair, and isolation in order to lodge their protests. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, DaMaris Hill honors their experiences with at times harrowing, at times hopeful responses to her heroes, illustrated with black-and-white photographs throughout. 
    For black American women, the experience of being bound has taken many forms: from the bondage of slavery to the Reconstruction-era criminalization of women; from the brutal constraints of Jim Crow to our own era's prison industrial complex, where between 1980 and 2014, the number of incarcerated women increased by 700%.* For those women who lived and died resisting the dehumanization of confinement--physical, social, intellectual--the threat of being bound was real, constant, and lethal.  
     
    In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, Hill presents bitter, unflinching history that artfully captures the personas of these captivating, bound yet unbridled African-American women. Hill's passionate odes to Zora Neale Hurston, Lucille Clifton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Grace Jones, Eartha Kitt, and others also celebrate the modern-day inheritors of their load and light, binding history, author, and reader in an essential legacy of struggle. 
     
    *The Sentencing Project
    Show book