Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
High-Wired - cover

High-Wired

Andrea Frazer

Publisher: Accent Press

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

 

 
If you like Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, and Val McDermid, you’ll be gripped by this exciting new crime novel by best-selling author Andrea Frazer. High-Wired is the first volume in The Fine Line series, which sees Frazer show off her dark side as she moves into the world of police procedurals.

 
 
 The novel introduces us to DI Olivia Hardy, a firm but fair cop, and her new partner, DS Lauren Groves. Their wildly different backgrounds and styles of policing cause problems at first, but the two women bond over a shared love of music, and over the pressures of juggling complicated family lives with the horrors of the job. Both women try to reconcile their problematic family lives – Olivia’s issues with her teenage children, Lauren’s collapsing marriage – with the demands of a job that requires heart and soul. Their beat is a decaying coastal town in the south of England – a shadow of its Victorian glory – and criminals are lurking even where you’d least expect them. As Olivia and Lauren investigate a harrowing murder, the events of the case spiral – and so do the issues in their personal lives …

Other books that might interest you

  • The Demon of Decay - A Horror Novel - cover

    The Demon of Decay - A Horror Novel

    Alex C. Gates

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A broken man. An evil bargain. Will he wreck his soul to rebuild his life?Joseph Daniels longs to give his wife the child they both crave. So when she announces her pregnancy on their trip to the secluded family farm, he should be overjoyed. Problem is: the baby can't possibly be his... and the real father isn't the only fiend prowling the ghost-town streets.Bitter and humiliated, Joseph turns to a mysterious stranger with a cure-all for his troubles... at a staggering price. Only after the miracle pills bring out the demon in him does he discover the dark force taking him captive.Can Joseph fight his way back to freedom and family or will his soul be dragged to hell?The Demon of Decay is a standalone classic horror novel. If you like terrifying choices, blood-chilling suspense, and dark psychological twists, then you'll love Alex C. Gates' spine-tingling tale.Buy The Demon of Decay to battle the darkness today!
    Show book
  • The Girl From Blind River - A Novel - cover

    The Girl From Blind River - A Novel

    Massey Gale

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    BESTSELLING TRADITION: Fans of Daniel Woodrell and Emma Cline will love this taut, edgy tale of a young woman pulled into the criminal underbelly of her small town. MARKETABLE CONCEPT AND PROTAGONIST: Featuring a smart-mouthed heroine facing corruption and danger, this page-turning suspense debut perfectly marries a coming-of-age story with the thrill of a small-town crime drama. WELL-CONNECTED AUTHOR: A Pushcart Prize-nominated author and the recipient of numerous fiction accolades, Gale Massey has strong connections to established authors and will be seeking early praise from: Laura Lippman, Ann Hood, and Michael Koryta. The Girl From Blind River has already collected a handful of blurbs from well-reviewed authors including: Steve Yarbrough, Randall Kenan, and Sterling Watson.
    Show book
  • Triggered Reality - Dreams and Reality #15 - cover

    Triggered Reality - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    For most of Kansas City, it was a beautiful spring day.  For Eric Clachan, it was the day he would get justice through bloodshed.  A rifle would ensure that the spree killer would never destroy another family.  He wouldn’t stop there.  Eric had a list of other targets inside the prison walls.  Targets that would ensure justice would change.  A single day would change the world and pave the way for the US Marshals to become the baddest serial killer hunters in the world.  Eric knew this as he looked down the scope and took aim.   
    Max Goff needed to relax.  His life had become overwhelming.  He should have gotten a massage and spent a day with friends.  Instead, he stole a car and began a killing spree that would terrorize an entire city.  Until the newly formed US Marshals’ Serial Crimes Tracking Unit would come hunting for him and he would learn what fear really was.
    Show book
  • Doomsday Conspiracy - The New Novel - cover

    Doomsday Conspiracy - The New Novel

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Handpicked by the NSA to track down and identify the ten known witnesses to the recent crash of a weather balloon, Robert Bellamy searches for clues in Rome, Budapest, and Texas.
    Show book
  • Recall: The Red Ledger 4 5 & 6 (Volume Two) - cover

    Recall: The Red Ledger 4 5 & 6...

    Meredith Wild

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    He’s death for hire…
     
    Some people measure life in hours. Days. Weeks. I measure mine in kills. A covert military mission gone wrong robbed me of my memory and any link to my past. This is my existence now. I execute and survive. Nothing more, nothing less. I was ready to write Isabel Foster’s name in my ledger of unfortunate souls until she uttered the one word that could stop the bullet meant for her. My name.
     
    She knows my face. She knows me. She’s the key to the memories I’m not sure I want back. Now nothing is simple. I still have a job to do, and my soul isn’t worth saving. I’m not the man she thinks I am. I can’t love her. And sparing her life puts us both in the crosshairs.
    Show book
  • The Mira James Mysteries Complete Bundle - Books 1-10 - cover

    The Mira James Mysteries...

    Jess Lourey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From bestselling author Jess Lourey comes a compilation of ten full-length, suspenseful comic caper mysteries that will leave you guessing ―and laughing ―until the very end! Books included:May DayJune BugKnee High by the Fourth of JulyAugust MoonSeptember MournOctober FestNovember HuntDecember DreadJanuary ThawFebruary FeverJoin fish-out-of-water Mira James and her quirky Battle Lake, Minnesota, crew as they navigate hilarious romance, hidden mysteries, and a dead body a month. Ten laugh-out-loud page-turners in one convenient bundle!PRAISE FOR THE INCLUDED MIRA JAMES MYSTERIES"Lourey has a talent for creating hilarious characters in bizarre, laugh-out-loud situations, while at the same time capturing the honest and endearing subtleties of human life." ―The Strand"Snappy jokes...edgy dialog...and a classic romance setup enhance a clever plot. More spunky than sweet; get started on this Lefty-nominated series if you've previously missed it." ―Library Journal (starred review)"I loved Lourey's quirky, appealing sleuth and her wry yet affectionate look at small town life. I hope Mira's misfortune of stumbling over a dead body every month lasts for many years!" ―Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Stork Raving Mad"Lourey has a knack for wholesome sexual innuendo, and she gets plenty of mileage out of Minnesota." ―The Boston Globe
    Show book