Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Wizards' Worlds - A Witch World Collection - cover

Wizards' Worlds - A Witch World Collection

Andre Norton

Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Few authors have achieved such renown as World Fantasy Life Achievement honoree and Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master Andre Norton. With the love of readers and the praise of critics, Norton’s books have sold millions of copies worldwide.This collection of thirteen captivating short stories and novellas samples the wide range of Nebula Grand Master Norton’s work. The first six stories, set in the Witch World universe, depict mostly female protagonists coping with the aftermath of wars made even more devastating by the deployment of magic. “Toads of Grimmerdale” and “Changeling” recount the travails of Hertha, a noblewoman who is cast out into “drifts of ice-crusted snow” by her brother after she refuses to abort the fetus of a rapist. “Spider Silk” is what blind, former slave Dairine is taught to weave by male-hating giant arachnids. In the title novella, an Esper fleeing a lynch mob is carried into another world, where his kind rules—but even there he is different and must fight for survival. A dreamer who creates worlds for others finds her work, herself, and her client in grave danger in “Toys of Tamisan.” “Mousetrap,” the earliest story here, envisions a not-too-distant future in which mankind explores Mars but human nature remains the same. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Welcome to Night Vale - A Novel - cover

    Welcome to Night Vale - A Novel

    Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

    • 3
    • 61
    • 0
    From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes an imaginative mystery of appearances and disappearances that is also a poignant look at the ways in which we all struggle to find ourselves...no matter where we live. 
    "Hypnotic and darkly funny. . . . Belongs to a particular strain of American gothic that encompasses The Twilight Zone, Stephen King and Twin Peaks, with a bit of Tremors thrown in."--The Guardian 
    Located in a nameless desert somewhere in the great American Southwest, Night Vale is a small town where ghosts, angels, aliens, and government conspiracies are all commonplace parts of everyday life. It is here that the lives of two women, with two mysteries, will converge. 
    Nineteen-year-old Night Vale pawn shop owner Jackie Fierro is given a paper marked "KING CITY" by a mysterious man in a tan jacket holding a deer skin suitcase. Everything about him and his paper unsettles her, especially the fact that she can't seem to get the paper to leave her hand, and that no one who meets this man can remember anything about him. Jackie is determined to uncover the mystery of King City and the man in the tan jacket before she herself unravels. 
    Night Vale PTA treasurer Diane Crayton's son, Josh, is moody and also a shape shifter. And lately Diane's started to see her son's father everywhere she goes, looking the same as the day he left years earlier, when they were both teenagers. Josh, looking different every time Diane sees him, shows a stronger and stronger interest in his estranged father, leading to a disaster Diane can see coming, even as she is helpless to prevent it. 
    Diane's search to reconnect with her son and Jackie's search for her former routine life collide as they find themselves coming back to two words: "KING CITY". It is King City that holds the key to both of their mysteries, and their futures...if they can ever find it.
    Show book
  • Valor at Vauzlee - A Galaxy Unknown #2 - cover

    Valor at Vauzlee - A Galaxy...

    Thomas DePrima

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A captured Raider officer, eager to secure his freedom, informs Space Command Intelligence of a planned attack on a convoy by a massive Raider armada. An effective spotter network and intelligence system usually allows the pirates to avoid SC warships, so for the first time in Galactic Alliance history, a task force of Space Command warships might have an opportunity to engage a fleet of pirate ships in mortal combat. 
     
    The Space Command Admiral at Higgins SCB pulls out all stops to surreptitiously assemble a force of ten ships, the most that can be secretly diverted, to face off against the Raider ambushers. One of those ships happens to be the Prometheus. Jenetta Carver, the newest Lt. Commander in Space Command, on her way to Earth for a medal ceremony for acts of outstanding valor, finds herself again caught up in a life or death situation. The Prometheus arrives at the rendezvous point, a month from Higgins SC Base, to await the arrival of the other ships, and a call for help from the convoy. 
     
    Only two other ships have reached the RP when the convoy is attacked. Captain Gavin of the Prometheus, in his capacity as task force commander, decides that they can't wait for the others, so the three SC warships race off to face a Raider warship force they expect will number forty plus. 
     
    107,000 Words - 334 Pages
    Show book
  • Shades of Learning - cover

    Shades of Learning

    TS Paul

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Exciting new Adventure in the Athena Lee Universe! 
     
    A New Heroine steps up to join the battle against the Cabal and The Ships of Old Earth! 
     
    The Galaxy is in turmoil. A new terror group calling themselves the Cabal is plaguing the galaxy. Former Imperial Navy Ensign Tisiphone thought returning home was going to be easy. Life on the farm was still incredibly boring. Her home planet is still recovering from the recent revolution. They have been attacked from space and thousands are dead. A new and effective Military is what they need. To be the best officer she can be she needs to go to the Academy first. Will the Cabal give her planet time to learn to combat them? Or will a new threat from Old Earth come into play?
    Show book
  • The Gathering of the Lost - The Wall of Night Book Two - cover

    The Gathering of the Lost - The...

    Helen Lowe

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world.”—Robin Hobb, author of Dragon Haven 
    “[Lowe] reinvigorates the epic fantasy with appealing characters and a richly detailed world.”—Library Journal 
    Sure to become an epic fantasy classic, Helen Lowe’s magnificent Wall of Night series is big, ambitious, and gorgeously drawn—a story of bravery, treachery, and cataclysm in a richly imagined world. The Gathering of the Lost is the second of four books set in a fantastic imperiled realm garrisoned by nine great Houses and protected from the terrible Darkswarm by the towering mountain range that gives the series its name. Supremely literate, brilliantly imagined and executed fantasy in the vein of Brandon Sanderson, Guy Gavriel Kay, and Barbara Hambly, The Gathering of the Lost is populated by a grand cast of unforgettable characters, some still holding to the beleaguered Wall, others scattered in their quest for the fabled Heir of Night, who vanished from their midst five years earlier.
    Show book
  • Fantastic Stories Presents the Worlds of If Super Pack #1 - cover

    Fantastic Stories Presents the...

    R. A. Lafferty

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Worlds of If' was a three-time winner of the Hugo Award for best science fiction magazine. 'Worlds of If' discovered many talented writers who would go on to dominate genre fiction. Here are more than 250,000 words of some of the best stories ever published in its pages.
    
    'The Snowbank Orbit' by Fritz Leiber
    'The Victor' by Bryce Walton
    'Breeder Reaction' by Winston Marks
    'Turning Point' by Alfred Coppel
    'Masters of Space' by Edward E. Smith & E. Everett Evans
    'Cultural Exchange' by Keith Laumer
    'The Lonely Ones' by Edward W. Ludwig
    'The Kenzie Report' by Mark Clifton
    'The Very Secret Agent' by Mari Wolf
    'Irresistible Weapon' by H. B. Fyfe
    'In the Garden' by R. A. Lafferty
    'The Eyes Have It' by James McKimmey, Jr.
    'Trees Are Where You Find Them' by Arthur Dekker Savage
    'The Real Hard Sell' by William W. Stuart
    'Waste Not, Want' by Dave Dryfoos
    'The Last Supper' by T. D. Hamm
    'Letter of the Law' by Alan E. Nourse
    'Sweet Their Blood and Sticky' by Albert R. Teichner
    'The Last Place on Earth' by Jim Harmon
    'Quiet, Please' by Kevin Scott
    'Service with a Smile' by Charles L. Fontenay
    'Time Fuze' by Randall Garrett
    'The Skull' by Philip K. Dick
    'The Ordeal of Colonel Johns' by George H. Smith
    'Incident on Route 12' by James H. Schmitz
    'Brink of Madness' by Walt Sheldon
    'Love Story' by Irving E. Cox, Jr.
    'Navy Day' by Harry Harrison
    'The Anglers of Arz' by Roger Dee
    'Assassin' by J. F. Bone
    'Probability' by Louis Trimble
    'Sjambak' by Jack Vance
    'Deadly City' by Ivar Jorgenson
    'The Mightiest Man' by Patrick Fahy
    'Mutineer' by Robert J. Shea
    'And That’s How it Was, Officer' by Ralph Sholto
    'No Shield from the Dead' by Gordon R. Dickson
    'Seven-Day Terror' by R.A. Lafferty
    'I'll Kill You Tomorrow' by Helen Huber
    'Security Risk' by Ed M. Clinton, Jr.
    'Confidence Game' by James Mckimmey, Jr.
    Show book
  • Mate (Children of Ossiria #4) - cover

    Mate (Children of Ossiria #4)

    Vivian Lane

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Caught up in insatiable lust, Carys and William enter into a mating claim on Ossiria, only for her to wake up knowing they’ve made an impulsive mistake. Armed with Kalana’s memories, she rescinds her claim, putting him in dominance. But William has been in a one-sided claim before and it didn’t end well. Will he sabotage their relationship with his vampire tendencies? Intended for readers over 18.
    Show book