As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Evie of the Deepthorn - cover

Evie of the Deepthorn

André Babyn

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 3
  • 1

Summary

A deeply affecting and daring novel about small towns, art, and loneliness. 
 

“A gorgeous, urgent, nonlinear exploration of loss, belonging, rage, and connection, Evie of the Deepthorn announces André Babyn as an unmissable talent.” — Grace O'Connell 
 

What is Evie of the Deepthorn? 
 

It’s a cult Canadian movie that Kent looks to for inspiration as he struggles to understand the death of his brother. It’s a fantasy novel that Sarah wrestles with as she navigates a traumatic childhood and comes to terms with her failures as an adult. It’s a poem that motivates Reza to go on a pilgrimage from which he will not return unscathed. 
 

Shifting and sometimes contradictory, Evie of the Deepthorn is about the search for answers — and escape.

Other books that might interest you

  • Kill the Queen - cover

    Kill the Queen

    Jennifer Estep

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Gladiator meets Game of Thrones: a royal woman becomes a skilled warrior to destroy her murderous cousin, avenge her family, and save her kingdom in this first entry in a dazzling fantasy epic from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Elemental Assassin series—an enthralling tale that combines magic, murder, intrigue, adventure, and a hint of romance. 
    In a realm where one’s magical power determines one’s worth, Lady Everleigh’s lack of obvious ability relegates her to the shadows of the royal court of Bellona, a kingdom steeped in gladiator tradition. Seventeenth in line for the throne, Evie is nothing more than a ceremonial fixture, overlooked and mostly forgotten. 
    But dark forces are at work inside the palace. When her cousin Vasilia, the crown princess, assassinates her mother the queen and takes the throne by force, Evie is also attacked, along with the rest of the royal family. Luckily for Evie, her secret immunity to magic helps her escape the massacre. 
    Forced into hiding to survive, she falls in with a gladiator troupe. Though they use their talents to entertain and amuse the masses, the gladiators are actually highly trained warriors skilled in the art of war, especially Lucas Sullivan, a powerful magier with secrets of his own. Uncertain of her future—or if she even has one—Evie begins training with the troupe until she can decide her next move. 
    But as the bloodthirsty Vasilia exerts her power, pushing Bellona to the brink of war, Evie’s fate becomes clear: she must become a fearsome gladiator herself . . . and kill the queen.
    Show book
  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 25
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book
  • The Warrior's Call - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 3 - cover

    The Warrior's Call - Dragon...

    Richard Fierce

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    Darkness threatens the land.With an evil creature killing dragons and riders alike, the False King’s reign of terror spills across the border. While the king of Osnen and the Citadel’s riders struggle to stem the assault, Eldwin flies to the Conclave to plead for help from the other schools.
     
    Unless the schools unite and arrive in time, the world is doomed.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    The Warrior's Call is the third episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror
    Show book
  • Glitch - cover

    Glitch

    Andrew Mackay

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    HACK IN > GO EVERYWHERE > KILL EVERYONE.
     
    Genius programmer Evan Cole’s life was looking up…
     
    … when something bad went down.
     
    The headquarters at InstaBate, the nation’s go-to cheating app, was raided.
     
    They destroyed the servers, and gunned Evan down when he tried to stop them. More than fifty million user profiles were compromised.
     
    Kara Milton is one such user. She’s terrified that her dirty little secret will reach her family, and the fat cats at InstaBate will stop at nothing to keep the incident away from prying eyes.
     
    But Evan Cole isn't dead--he's a vigilante pack of pixels out for REVENGE.
     
    Seconds before dying he uploaded himself into the corporation’s mainframe. He's using 6G to travel through laptops, tablets, and cell phones to hunt his killers. This new, angry breed of cyberpunk is on a quest for the truth, and a lot of blood.
     
    But when he appears as The Skull on Kara's cell phone, her world is turned upside down. She's compelled to help Evan get revenge if she wants her dirty secret buried. With the odds stacked against them, they’ll risk everything to protect her family, bring Evan’s killers to their feet… and an evil corporation to its knees.
    Show book
  • Hungry For You - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Hungry For You - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 6
    • 23
    • 0
     “Clever, steamy…[with] a deliciously wicked sense of humor that readers will gobble up.”—Katie MacAlister Readers simply can’t get their fill of bestselling author Lynsay Sands’s paranormal romance series featuring the Argeneau family of vampires—and Hungry for You is another satisfying feast of sizzling passion and winning humor. Fans of Charlaine Harris and her Sookie Stackhouse books will eat up Sands’s Hungry for You, the story of an ancient immortal masquerading as a chef to get closer to the intoxicating restaurateur who just might be the lifemate the lonely vampire has been searching for for centuries.
    Show book
  • Vampires Are Forever - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampires Are Forever - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 16
    • 0
    Inez Urso is beginning to have her doubts. Her business associate Thomas Argeneau has some interesting traits, like an allergic reaction to the sun, excellent night vision, and not much of an appetite for food. And to top it all off, he just tried to bite her neck . . . but maybe that was a sign of passion. If so, she'd be happy to experience more, despite her determination not to mix business with pleasure. 
    Well, if not forever, at least two hundred years. Inez is the most beautiful woman he's seen in centuries. Those luscious lips, seductive curves, and her elegant neck . . . he just couldn't resist the temptation of one little bite. Now Thomas will do anything to convince her that only an immortal like him can satisfy her all night long . . .
    Show book