Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Evie of the Deepthorn - cover

Evie of the Deepthorn

André Babyn

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 3
  • 2

Summary

A deeply affecting and daring novel about small towns, art, and loneliness. 
 

“A gorgeous, urgent, nonlinear exploration of loss, belonging, rage, and connection, Evie of the Deepthorn announces André Babyn as an unmissable talent.” — Grace O'Connell 
 

What is Evie of the Deepthorn? 
 

It’s a cult Canadian movie that Kent looks to for inspiration as he struggles to understand the death of his brother. It’s a fantasy novel that Sarah wrestles with as she navigates a traumatic childhood and comes to terms with her failures as an adult. It’s a poem that motivates Reza to go on a pilgrimage from which he will not return unscathed. 
 

Shifting and sometimes contradictory, Evie of the Deepthorn is about the search for answers — and escape.

Other books that might interest you

  • Legion of the Occult - A thrilling action-packed fantasy escape - cover

    Legion of the Occult - A...

    Roberto Genovesi

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Unstoppable and lethal, they move across the battlefields like ghosts. They are the soldiers of the Legio Occulta. 
     
    Nola, Roman Italy, 19 August 14 A.D. 
     
    History does not acknowledge them, but the Roman Empire knows the debt they owe to this secret legion. Trained not to fight but to read and interpret the messages of the gods, they pave the way for Roman swords, intervening when earthly weapons must give way to the power of the transcendent. With the Legio Occulta, no battle is impossible. 
     
    Clad in snow-white armour and tunics as black as night, they are seers, fortune-tellers, necromancers and haruspies selected when they were children from arenas, slave markets and burning villages. Led by a general who speaks only in sign language, their motto is Vigiles in tenebris: watchers of the night. 
     
    Iron blades clash with magic. Rome will never be the same. 
     
    Praise for Roberto Genovesi: 
     
    'Roberto Genovesi is the Italian master of historical fantasy' ANDREA FREDIANI. 
     
    'A very original, wide-ranging novel full of characters, full of descriptions and narrative inventions' IL GIORNALE. 
     
    'A compelling historical novel with splashes of fantasy' IL SOLE 24 ORE.
    Show book
  • Do Her No Harm - a page turning and gripping psychological thriller - cover

    Do Her No Harm - a page turning...

    Naomi Joy

    • 2
    • 12
    • 1
    One unsolved murder. A best friend determined to right the wrongs of the past. 
     
    On the 21st August Tabitha Rice disappeared without a trace. All the signs point to murder, but no signs point to a murderer. The easiest answer is her husband, Rick. But he protests his innocence and there is little proof he is the murderer. 
     
    Annabella knows there is more to the story than what the police are telling. Tabitha was her best friend and she vows to uncover the truth. 
     
    As Annabella delves further into the past, she uncovers sides to Tabitha that she never saw coming, and she finds herself asking the question... Was this murder? Or is there more to Tabitha Rice's story than meets the eye? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, The Silent Patient and Blood Orange.
    Show book
  • The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel - cover

    The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel

    William Stevenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A sprawling fictional account of the adventures of Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck, the World War I military commander who created the first modern guerilla army.   November 1914. In German-occupied East Africa during the Great War, British forces have arrived. In defiance of his orders, Prussian commander Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck enlists soldiers, civilians, and African rebels to fight against the British—the world’s first modern guerrilla uprising. Lettow-Vorbeck’s actions draw the attention of the brilliant but brutal chief of British intelligence, who vows to defeat him. To complicate matters, Lettow-Vorbeck finds himself embroiled in a romantic relationship with an American woman who loves him—but objects to his conduct in the war. Meanwhile, Zionists fight for influence in the region, rival tribes must be appeased with diplomacy, and an African princess serves as a spy for the rebels.   The acclaimed author of A Man Called Intrepid crafts a novel of romance, war, and resistance based on real-life personas and historical events. A former foreign correspondent in the region, William Stevenson paints an astonishingly accurate and detailed picture of the geography, military, and political climate of East Africa in a time of chaos. A thrilling read, TheGhosts of Africa is an epic tale of adventure that will both entertain and inform.
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 9
    • 51
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau’s bed? He’s not dessert—he’s the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there’s another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger’s bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That’s a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 22
    • 0
    No one does wickedly funny and irresistibly steamy like New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands—especially in this red-hot romance between a reluctant vampire and the beauty who needs his help. 
    Luck be a vampire tonight . . . 
    When Nicole Phillips agreed to hire a housekeeper, she pictured someone a little frumpy and almost certainly female. Instead, she gets gorgeous, unmistakably male Jake Colson. The man is proving indispensable in the kitchen—and everywhere else. Except Jake might not be a mortal man at all. 
    . . . and every night 
    Who wouldn't want to be a tall, dark, powerful vampire?Jake, for one. He's barely had time to adjust to his newstate before he's roped into a family favor. Still, secretly playing bodyguard to sweet, sexy Nicole is turning out to be the wildest ride of his life. First, he'll put a stop to whoever's targeting her. Then he'll prove that this kind of love, and luck, happens only once in an eternity.
    Show book
  • Blood Cold - A Chris Black Adventure - cover

    Blood Cold - A Chris Black...

    James Lindholm

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The legacy of a failed regime rises from the deep.
     
    Indomitable marine biologist Chris Black is looking forward to six quiet months of scientific research off the coast of Cape Town, South Africa. But when on a routine dive Chris discovers the wreck of a fishing vessel that disappeared during a storm decades earlier, he inadvertently clashes with the ghost of South Africa's Apartheid. Thousands of gold Krugerrand provide powerful motivation for treachery everywhere, and Chris is forced to take a careful look at those he trusts most. Racing against time, he must find out who is providing critical information to the criminals ... before too much innocent blood is shed.
     
    "Opening this book is like diving with sharks. Big sharks. At night. In a hurricane. What next?" -Stephen Palumbi, scientist and author of The Death and Life of Monterey Bay
    Show book