Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
ASURA - Tale of the Vanquished - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

ASURA - Tale of the Vanquished

Anand Neelakantan

Publisher: Platinum Press

  • 2
  • 118
  • 0

Summary

The epic tale of victory and defeat… The story of the Ramayana had been told innumerable times. The enthralling story of Rama, the incarnation of God, who slew Ravana, the evil demon of darkness, is known to every Indian. And in the pages of history, as always, it is the version told by the victors, that lives on. The voice of the vanquished remains lost in silence. But what if Ravana and his people had a different story to tell? The story of the Ravanayana had never been told. Asura is the epic tale of the vanquished Asura people, a story that has been cherished by the oppressed outcastes of India for 3000 years. Until now, no Asura has dared to tell the tale. But perhaps the time has come for the dead and the defeated to speak. “For thousands of years, I have been vilified and my death is celebrated year after year in every corner of India. Why? Was it because I challenged the Gods for the sake of my daughter? Was it because I freed a race from the yoke of caste-based Deva rule? You have heard the victor’s tale, the Ramayana. Now hear the Ravanayana, for I am Ravana, the Asura, and my story is the tale of the vanquished.” “I am a non-entity – invisible, powerless and negligible. No epics will ever be written about me. I have suffered both Ravana and Rama – the hero and the villain or the villain and the hero. When the stories of great men are told, my voice maybe too feeble to be heard. Yet, spare me a moment and hear my story, for I am Bhadra, the Asura, and my life is the tale of the loser.” The ancient Asura empire lay shattered into many warring petty kingdoms reeling under the heel of the Devas. In desperation, the Asuras look up to a young saviour – Ravana. Believing that a better world awaits them under Ravana, common men like Bhadra decide to follow the young leader. With a will of iron and a fiery ambition to succeed, Ravana leads his people from victory to victory and carves out a vast empire from the Devas. But even when Ravana succeeds spectacularly, the poor Asuras find that nothing much has changed for them. It is when that Ravana, by one action, changes the history of the world.

Other books that might interest you

  • Whispering in French - A Novel - cover

    Whispering in French - A Novel

    Sophia Nash

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Award-winning romance author Sophia Nash makes her women’s fiction debut with a beautifully crafted, funny, and life-affirming story set in the Atlantic seaside region of France, as one woman returns to France to sell her family home and finds an unexpected chance to start over—perfect for fans of Le Divorce and The Little Paris Bookshop.  
    Home is the last place Kate expected to find herself… 
    As a child, Kate Hamilton was packed off each summer to her grandfather’s ivy-covered villa in southern France. That ancestral home, named Marthe Marie, is now crumbling, and it falls to Kate—regarded as the most responsible and practical member of her family—to return to the rugged, beautiful seaside region to confront her grandfather’s debts and convince him to sell.  
    Kate makes her living as a psychologist and life coach, but her own life is in as much disarray as Marthe Marie. Her marriage has ended, and she’s convinced that she has failed her teenaged daughter, Lily, in unforgiveable ways. While delving into colorful family history and the consequences of her own choices, Kate reluctantly agrees to provide coaching to Major Edward Soames, a British military officer suffering with post-traumatic stress. Breaking through his shell, and dealing with idiosyncratic locals intent on viewing her as an Americanized outsider, will give Kate new insight into who—and where—she wants to be. The answers will prove as surprising as the secrets that reside in the centuries-old villa. 
    Witty and sophisticated, rich in history and culture, Sophia Nash’s novel vividly evokes both its idyllic French setting and the universal themes of self-forgiveness and rebuilding in a story as touching as it is wise.  
      
     
    Show book
  • Shattered - A Drew Patrick Crime Thriller Novel - cover

    Shattered - A Drew Patrick Crime...

    Jason Richards

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Murdered escorts. A hired assassin. And a race to catch the killer before all is lost.
     
    A missing person case takes a tragic twist. Private detective Drew Patrick finds himself in the middle of multiple murder investigations, and on the trail of a contract killer. As Drew digs deeper into the connections between the victims, he uncovers a secret that lands him in the cross-hairs of one Boston’s most dangerous criminals.
     
    The tenacious private eye is determined to bring the killer to justice, but only if he can avoid being taken out himself. Just as the net is about to drop on the assassin, Drew must fight with all he has to save the one person who matters most.
     
    If you like Robert B. Parker’s Spenser, Robert Crais’ Elvis Cole, or Michael Connelly’s Bosch, then you won’t be able to put down hard-boiled detective Drew Patrick in this entertaining and gripping crime thriller series.
     
    Read Shattered today and be part of the pulse-pounding thrills!
    
     
    Reader Praise for Shattered:
     
    “This book grips you the minute you start reading!!!” – Rich L.
     
    This was a really fun book to read. I love the characters, quirky and very real. I highly recommend it. Can’t wait for more!” – Gulliver’s Mom 
     
    “If you enjoy a good thriller this is for you. I highly recommend this book.” – JoBear
     
    “‘Shattered’ is an easy read and thoroughly enjoyable as we join Drew’s investigation. Drew’s character is reminiscent of Robert B. Parker’s Spenser, but distinct and enjoyable as his own self. A good read!” – ReaderPhil 
    Show book
  • The Golden Egg - cover

    The Golden Egg

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller: “Brunetti amply displays the keen intelligence and wry humor that has endeared this series to so many.” —Publishers Weekly   Commissario Brunetti’s latest assignment is to look into a minor shop-keeping violation committed by the mayor’s future daughter-in-law. Brunetti has no interest in helping his boss amass political favors, but has little choice but to comply. Then Brunetti’s wife comes to him with a request of her own. The sweet, simple-minded man who worked at their dry cleaner has just died of a sleeping pill overdose, and Paola loathes the idea that he lived and died without anyone noticing him, or helping him.   Brunetti begins to investigate and is surprised when he finds nothing on the man: no birth certificate, no passport, no driver’s license, no credit cards. As far as the Italian government is concerned, he never existed. Stranger still, the dead man’s mother refuses to speak to the police. And as secrets unravel, Brunetti begins to suspect that an aristocratic family might be somehow connected to the mystery . . .   “Leon’s success . . . is testament to the heartening fact that character counts in crime fiction.” —Booklist, starred review
    Show book
  • Insatiable - cover

    Insatiable

    Meg Cabot

    • 1
    • 20
    • 0
    When it comes to devouring her delightfully outrageous, phenomenally fun fiction, Meg Cabot’s fans are Insatiable! And now the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Princess Diaries—not to mention a host of wonderfully winning grown-up novels like Queen of Babble, Big Boned, and Every Boy’s Got One—has a subject she can really sink her teeth into: vampires! A deliciously twisted modern-day sequel to Bram Stoker’s classic Dracula, Cabot’s Insatiable will leave you laughing…and hungry for more!
    Show book
  • The Wailing Wind - cover

    The Wailing Wind

    Tony Hillerman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    To Officer Bernadette Manuelito, the man curled up on the truck seat was just another drunk—which got Bernie in trouble for mishandling a crime scene—which got Sergeant Jim Chee in trouble with the FBI—which drew Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn out of retirement and back into the old "Golden Calf" homicide, a case he had hoped to forget. 
    Nothing had seemed complicated about that earlier one. A con game had gone sour. A swindler had tried to sell wealthy old Wiley Denton the location of one of the West's multitude of legendary lost gold mines. Denton had shot the swindler, called the police, confessed the homicide, and done his short prison time. No mystery there. 
    Except why did the rich man's bride vanish? The cynics said she was part of the swindle plot. She'd fled when it failed. But, alas, old Joe Leaphorn was a romantic. He believed in love, and thus the Golden Calf case still troubled him. Now, papers found in this new homicide case connect the victim to Denton and to the mythical Golden Calf Mine. The first Golden Calf victim had been there just hours before Denton killed him. And while Denton was killing him, four children trespassing among the rows of empty bunkers in the long-abandoned Wingate Ordnance Depot called in an odd report to the police. They had heard, in the wind wailing around the old buildings, what sounded like music and the cries of a woman. 
    Bernie Manuelito uses her knowledge of Navajo country, its tribal traditions, and her friendship with a famous old medicine man to unravel the first knot of this puzzle, with Jim Chee putting aside his distaste of the FBI to help her. But the questions raised by this second Golden Calf murder aren't answered until Leaphorn solves the puzzle left by the first one and discovers what the young trespassers heard in the wailing wind.
    Show book
  • Beastly Things - cover

    Beastly Things

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller: The police investigate the death of a veterinarian in Venice, Italy in this “swiftly paced” mystery (The Seattle Times).   When the body of man is found in a canal, damaged by the tides, carrying no wallet, and wearing only one shoe, Guido Brunetti has little to work with. No local has filed a missing-person report, and no hotel guests have disappeared.   The autopsy shows he had suffered from a rare, disfiguring disease. A shopkeeper tells Brunetti that the man had a kindly way with animals. Finally, the victim is identified as a much-loved veterinarian—and Brunetti’s quest to find the killer will take him on a harrowing journey . . .   “All her trademark strengths shine in this swiftly paced, sophisticated tale of greed versus ethics.” —The Seattle Times   “Written with such delicacy and emotional force that we can’t help but be reminded of Greek tragedy.” —Booklist, starred review
    Show book