Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
ASURA - Tale of the Vanquished - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

ASURA - Tale of the Vanquished

Anand Neelakantan

Publisher: Platinum Press

  • 2
  • 118
  • 0

Summary

The epic tale of victory and defeat… The story of the Ramayana had been told innumerable times. The enthralling story of Rama, the incarnation of God, who slew Ravana, the evil demon of darkness, is known to every Indian. And in the pages of history, as always, it is the version told by the victors, that lives on. The voice of the vanquished remains lost in silence. But what if Ravana and his people had a different story to tell? The story of the Ravanayana had never been told. Asura is the epic tale of the vanquished Asura people, a story that has been cherished by the oppressed outcastes of India for 3000 years. Until now, no Asura has dared to tell the tale. But perhaps the time has come for the dead and the defeated to speak. “For thousands of years, I have been vilified and my death is celebrated year after year in every corner of India. Why? Was it because I challenged the Gods for the sake of my daughter? Was it because I freed a race from the yoke of caste-based Deva rule? You have heard the victor’s tale, the Ramayana. Now hear the Ravanayana, for I am Ravana, the Asura, and my story is the tale of the vanquished.” “I am a non-entity – invisible, powerless and negligible. No epics will ever be written about me. I have suffered both Ravana and Rama – the hero and the villain or the villain and the hero. When the stories of great men are told, my voice maybe too feeble to be heard. Yet, spare me a moment and hear my story, for I am Bhadra, the Asura, and my life is the tale of the loser.” The ancient Asura empire lay shattered into many warring petty kingdoms reeling under the heel of the Devas. In desperation, the Asuras look up to a young saviour – Ravana. Believing that a better world awaits them under Ravana, common men like Bhadra decide to follow the young leader. With a will of iron and a fiery ambition to succeed, Ravana leads his people from victory to victory and carves out a vast empire from the Devas. But even when Ravana succeeds spectacularly, the poor Asuras find that nothing much has changed for them. It is when that Ravana, by one action, changes the history of the world.

Other books that might interest you

  • Inside - cover

    Inside

    D.M. Siciliano

    • 0
    • 24
    • 1
    1987 “Does it burn in the dark?”Reid is a bully, but he’s still Alex’s best friend. When Reid pushes Alex and their friends into invading a historically haunted Massachusetts house, Alex knows it’s a terrible idea, but indulges his friend. What could go wrong?Inside, a mysterious Shadow looms in the darkness. The door to the house vanishes, leaving them trapped. The group flees through the tiny, one-roomed house that defies logic, constantly shifting, presenting them with new doors, hallways, and rooms that seem to be plucked from their memories and fears. One by one, the Shadow hunts them, intent on burning them all from within.Is there any way to escape? Or will they be burned from the inside out?
    Show book
  • The Lights - cover

    The Lights

    Michelle D. Baillargeon

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Agatha Bailey has taken up hiking as a distraction. Climbing the wooded trails near her new lake house has helped ease the pain and grief of a recent loss and the stress of new responsibilities. 
     
    Afer a hiking accident strands Aggie in the woods overnight, she has an odd but frightening experience on the dark trail. A true crime buff and armchair sleuth, Aggie is naturally curious about what she's seen, but it defies immediate explanation. 
     
    When Aggie and her best friend Rider are confronted with a equally eerie encounter, he reluctantly confesses that he saw nothing. 
     
    But now, someting has followed her home where the terrifying encounters continue and grow in intensity. When Rider is pulled away, Aggie realizes she's on her own with few options; confront the terror alone or abandon her new home. A home that she loves and has great plans for. 
     
    Read Unresolved - The Lights today and discover is Aggie has courage enough to face fear itself and reclaim her home from the dark force intent on driving her away. 
    Show book
  • Old House of Fear - cover

    Old House of Fear

    Russell Kirk

    • 3
    • 9
    • 0
    A founding father of the American conservative movement, Russell Kirk (1918–94) was also a renowned and bestselling writer of fiction. Kirk’s focus was the ghost story, or “ghostly tale” – a “decayed art” of which he considered himself a “last remaining master.” Old House of Fear, Kirk’s first novel, revealed this mastery at work. Its 1961 publication was a sensation, outselling all of Kirk’s other books combined, including The Conservative Mind, his iconic study of American conservative thought. A native of Michigan, Kirk set Old House of Fear in the haunted isles of the Outer Hebrides, drawing on his time in Scotland as the first American to earn a doctorate of letters from the University of St. Andrews. The story concerns Hugh Logan, an attorney sent by an aging American industrialist to Carnglass to purchase his ancestral island and its castle called the Old House of Fear. On the island, Logan meets Mary MacAskival, a red-haired ingénue and love interest, and the two face off against Dr. Edmund Jackman, a mystic who has the island under his own mysterious control. This new edition features an introduction by James Panero, Executive Editor of The New Criterion.
    Show book
  • Call Down the Thunder - A Crime Novel - cover

    Call Down the Thunder - A Crime...

    Dietrich Kalteis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Desperate times call for desperate measures in Kalteis’s lightning-fast crime caper story
    		 
    Sonny and Clara Myers struggle on their Kansas farm in the late 1930s, a time the Lord gave up on: their land’s gone dry, barren, and worthless; the bankers are greedy and hungry, trying to squeeze them and other farmers out of their homes; and, on top of that, their marriage is in trouble. The couple can struggle and wither along with the land or surrender to the bankers and hightail it to California like most of the others. Clara is all for leaving, but Sonny refuses to abandon the family farm. 
    		 
    In a fit of temper, she takes off westward in their old battered truck. Alone on the farm and determined to get back Clara and the good old days, Sonny comes up with an idea, a way to keep his land and even prosper while giving the banks a taste of their own misery. He sets the scheme in motion under the cover of the commotion being caused by a rainmaker hired by the mayor to call down the thunder and wash away everyone’s troubles.
    Show book
  • The King's Witch - Frances Gorges historical trilogy Book I - cover

    The King's Witch - Frances...

    Tracy Borman

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Borman’s latest book, The Private Lives of the Tudors, was a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice and published in hardcover to strong sales and favorable reviews, cited as an “authoritative work” (New York Times Book Review) and “riveting history” (O, The Oprah Magazine). The book was the basis for a multi-part documentary series, hosted by Borman, which aired on British television in June 2016.
    Americans continue to be fascinated by the Tudors, from the Showtime dramatic series to Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel’s novels (and their TV and stage adaptations). The King’s Witch will appeal to readers of Mantel’s Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, Alison Weir’s Six Tudor Queens series, and Gregory’s The Last Tudor.
    HBO is producing a three-part mini-series entitled Gunpowder that focuses on the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, which is also the culmination of Borman’s novel. The adaptation is premiering in December 2017 in the U.S. and includes many of the real-life characters also seen in The King’s Witch, such as Robert Catesby, King James I, and Guy Fawkes. 
    Borman is the joint Chief Curator of Historic Royal Palaces in the UK, working daily in the palaces that formed the private world of the Tudors.
    Show book
  • Prayer for the Living - cover

    Prayer for the Living

    Ben Okri

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    Topical and timely, Booker Prize-winning author Ben Okri's new collection of short stories blur parallel realities and walk the line between darkness and magic. 
     
    Is what you see all there is? Look again. 
     
    Playful, frightening, even shocking – the stories in this collection blur the lines between illusion and reality. This is a writer at the height of his power, making the reader think, making them laugh, and sometimes making them want to look away while holding their gaze. 
     
    Stories here are set in London, in Byzantium, in the ghetto, in the Andes, in a printer's shop in Spain. The characters include a murderer, a writer, a detective, a man in a cave, a man in a mirror, two little boys, a prison door, and the author himself. 
     
    There are twenty-three stories in all. Each one will make you wonder if what you see in the world is all there is...
    Show book