Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Braised Pork - A Novel - cover

Braised Pork - A Novel

An Yu

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

We are thrilled to have been able to acquire this novel, which was one of the most talked-about books at the 2018 London Book Fair. UK rights were acquired by Kate Harvey at Harvill Secker after a seven-way auction and rights were snapped up by Mondadori in Italy, DTV in Germany, Delcourt in France, Eksmo in Russia, and Quetzal in Portugal. This kind of excitement is very rare for a debut and we feel very lucky to be An Yu’s publisher in North America. Braised Pork has been named an “Indies Introduce” title, selected by a group of booksellers chaired by Jake Cumsky-Whitlock of Solid State. We have had huge success for our recent Indies Introduce picks, including The Far Field, Freshwater, and Convenience Store Woman. We expect Braised Pork to follow in the footsteps of these successful Grove debuts and feel that readers who loved Convenience Store Woman will particularly enjoy this novel. A spare yet gorgeously evocative debut, Braised Pork is set predominantly in Beijing but was written in English. It’s rare that we see a novel set among China’s affluent middle classes, exploring questions of personal identity rather than politics or poverty. Braised Pork is a novel about womanhood, grief, family, and self-realization, centering on a young woman at a crossroads after the unexpected death of her husband and evoking the films of Wong Kar-Wai and the novels of Haruki Murakami in its atmosphere. An Yu is an incredibly talented young writer who was just 25 when we acquired the book. She is at the beginning of a long and fruitful career and already working on her second novel. She attended NYU’s MFA program in Paris, where she worked with John Freeman, Aleksander Hemon, Katie Kitamura, and Matthew Thomas, from whom we are soliciting early blurbs. We are also reaching out to writers from Ocean Vuong to R. O. Kwon to Elif Batuman to Yiyun Li for endorsements. We expect strong review and media attention. The author did her undergraduate degree at NYU, so she is connected to America. She will be able to speak on subjects as varied as growing up as part of China’s middle class, her career in fashion, and why she chose to write in English rather than Mandarin. We will pitch her for a profile at an outlet such as the New York Times or T Magazine, and work on placing excerpts in places like the Paris Review or Literary Hub. We expect strong review attention for this unusual book. We will publish a few months after the UK publisher (their publication date is January 9) which will allow us to take advantage of praise and momentum from their publication.

Other books that might interest you

  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 35
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray - cover

    The Picture of Dorian Gray

    Oscar Wilde

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Experience is merely the name men gave to their mistakes.”The Picture of Dorian Gray is a Gothic novel by Oscar Wilde in 1890. Dorian Gray is the subject of a portrait in oil by Basil Hallward, an artist fascinated and obsessed by Dorian's charm; he feels that the beauty of Dorian is suitable for the new mood in his art as a painter.
    Show book
  • Frankenstein - cover

    Frankenstein

    Mary Shelley

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, generally known as Frankenstein, is a novel written by the British author Mary Shelley. The title of the novel refers to a scientist, Victor Frankenstein, who learns how to create life and creates a being in the likeness of man, but larger than average and more powerful. In popular culture, people have tended to refer to the Creature as "Frankenstein", despite this being the name of the scientist. Frankenstein is a novel infused with some elements of the Gothic novel and the Romantic movement. It was also a warning against the "over-reaching" of modern man and the Industrial Revolution, alluded to in the novel's subtitle, The Modern Prometheus. The story has had an influence across literature and popular culture and spawned a complete genre of horror stories and films. It is arguably considered the first fully realized science fiction novel.
    Show book
  • How to Get A First-Class Seat - Take a trip around the world with this short story - cover

    How to Get A First-Class Seat -...

    Tikiri Herath

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to Get A First-Class Seat is the fifth story in the Accidental Traveler short story anthology. The Accidental Traveler shares the misadventures of life and travel, based on one woman's experience growing up on and living across four continents. Life happens when you least expect it!Come on a trip around the world without having to buy an airline ticket or get your passport!Written by the multiple award-winning Canadian author of the Red Heeled Rebels novels—the international thriller series with kickass, iron-willed heroines.
    Show book
  • Paleomythic - A Roleplaying Game of Stone and Sorcery - cover

    Paleomythic - A Roleplaying Game...

    Graham Rose

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Paleomythic is a roleplaying game of grim survival and mythical adventures in the land of Ancient Mu, a harsh prehistoric world full of mysterious ruins and temples to explore, huge and terrible creatures that roam and spread fear across the land, and nefarious mystics and sorcerers who plot dark schemes from the shadows. It is a world of biting cold winters, of people hunting and foraging to survive, and tribes that wage relentless war. 
     
    Taking on the roles of hunters, healers, warriors, soothsayers, and more, players will navigate a world of hostile tribes, otherworldly spirits, prehistoric beasts, and monstrous creatures lurking in the dark places of the world. Players have huge scope in sculpting the game experience that best suits them, whether it's a gritty survival story without a trace of the mystical or a tale of grand adventure and exploration in a mythic setting.
    Show book
  • Master of War Boxset - Books I-III - cover

    Master of War Boxset - Books I-III

    David Gilman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Amid the carnage of the 100 Years War – the bloodiest conflict in medieval history – a young English archer confronts his destiny... 
     
    England, 1346: For Thomas Blackstone the choice is easy – dance on the end of a rope for  a murder he did not commit, or take up his war bow and join the king's invasion. 
     
    As he fights his way across northern France, Blackstone learns the brutal lessons of war – from the terror and confusion of his first taste of combat, to the savage realities of siege warfare. 
     
    Blackstone will brave the terrors of the High Alps in winter, face the Black Prince in tournament, confront the bloody anarchy of a popular revolt and emerge from the Battle of Crécy as a knight. 
     
    He may yet defy death but he can't defy his destiny: Master of War. 
     
    Collected in a single volume for the first time, the first three novels in the epic Master of War series, comprising of: 
     
    Master of War 
     
    Defiant unto Death 
     
    Gate of the Dead.
    Show book