Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Because You Love to Hate Me - 13 Tales of Villainy - cover

Because You Love to Hate Me - 13 Tales of Villainy

Amerie

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A New York Times Bestseller 
 
This edgy anthology teams up acclaimed YA authors and popular YouTubers to create 13 fairy tales and 13 inspired works--all from a "villain's" perspective, in the vein of Maleficent or Wicked. 
 
Leave it to the heroes to save the world--villains just want to rule the world.  
 
In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains' points of view.  
 
These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like "Medusa," Sherlock Holmes, and "Jack and the Beanstalk" provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains' acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage--and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again! 
 
Featuring writing from . . . 
 
Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Amerie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon. 
 
BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).

Other books that might interest you

  • Never Cry Werewolf - cover

    Never Cry Werewolf

    Heather Davis

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Moonlight can totally change your life.  
    And it all starts so simply.  
    You. Him.  
    The moon.  
    You're toast. 
    Okay, so maybe Shelby has made a few mistakes with boys lately (how was she supposed to know Wes had "borrowed" that Porsche?). But her stepmother totally overreacts when she catches Shelby in a post-curfew kiss with a hot senior: Suddenly Shelby's summer plans are on the shelf, and she's being packed off to brat camp. It's good-bye, prom dress; hello, hiking boots. 
    Things start looking up, though, when Shelby meets fellow camper (and son of a rock star) Austin Bridges III. But soon she realizes there's more to Austin than crush material—his family has a dark secret, and he wants Shelby's help guarding it. Shelby knows that she really shouldn't be getting tangled up with another bad boy . . . but who is she to turn her back on a guy in need, especially such a good-looking one? One thing's for sure: That pesky full moon is about to get her into trouble all over again.
    Show book
  • Split Second - cover

    Split Second

    Kasie West

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Kasie West delivers nail-biting suspense and heart-pounding romance in the thrilling sequel to Pivot Point. 
    Addie has always been able to see the future when faced with a choice, but that doesn't make her present any easier. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. So when Addie's dad invites her to spend her winter break with him in the Norm world, she jumps at the chance. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He's a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. She wants to change that. 
    Laila, her best friend, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie's memories . . . once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don't want this to happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.
    Show book
  • The Max Lucado Christmas Collection - cover

    The Max Lucado Christmas Collection

    Max Lucado

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the mystery of Christmas we find its majesty. 
    The mystery of how God became flesh, why he chose to come, and how he must love his people. 
    Such mysteries can never be solved, just as Love can never be diagrammed. 
    Christmas is best pondered, not with logic, but with imagination.
    Show book
  • Little House in the Big Woods - cover

    Little House in the Big Woods

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    The first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s treasured Little House series—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    This beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family begins in 1871 in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their dog, Jack. Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, but it is also exciting as they celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night Laura and her family are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa’s fiddle to send them off to sleep. 
    The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura’s own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America’s frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
    Show book
  • Face - cover

    Face

    Benjamin Zephaniah

    • 1
    • 514
    • 0
    In the moving and compelling debut novel from Benjamin Zephaniah, a young man's life is completely changed when his face is badly scarred in a car accident.  
     
    Martin seems to have it all. He's cool, funny, and he's the undisputed leader of the Gang of Three, who roam their East London estate during the holidays looking for fun. But one night after the Gang leave a late night rap club, Martin accepts a ride from Pete, a Raider's Posse gang member. Too late, he realises that the car is stolen, and that the police are after them.  
     
    What happens next will change Martin's life and looks, and show him the true meaning of strength, courage, discrimination and friendship.   
     
    Brilliantly written and with a real ear for dialogue, fans of Angie Thomas and Malorie Blackman will love Benjamin Zephaniah's novels for young adult readers:  
     
    Refugee Boy 
    Face 
    Gangsta Rap 
    Teacher's Dead
    Show book
  • Trapper's Grounding - cover

    Trapper's Grounding

    Dawn Chevoya

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Brennon Trapper isn’t sure who he really is since there are two Brennons ticking inside his head. At school, he does whatever he must do to be liked, but at home inside his trailer, he crawls back inside himself, wishing he could disappear. His father likely wouldn’t even notice if he did. 
    
    
    Then, something too incredible to believe happens on his family’s wooded property, and Brennon and his younger brother vow to keep it from their parents rather than risk ridicule again. Seriously, who would believe that a beaver gave them a tesserapod that could develop into a “lodge of sorts” in 200 days if grounded correctly? But when an epic blizzard destroys the roof of their trailer, Brennon finally comes clean about the woods and what he thinks may be a place of shelter. His father’s anger and disbelief jolts Brennon to overcome his fear. In the morning, Brennon is gone—he believes he can make it to the “lodge of sorts.” As Brennon strives to make it to the “lodge of sorts,” reality and fantasy mingle in this fantastical tale of a boy just searching for connection… and finding it in unexpected places.
    Show book