Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Eloquence of Desire - cover

The Eloquence of Desire

Amanda Sington-Williams

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

"I have just stumbled onto the nicest surprise" - Susan Abraham
 
"an atmospheric novel with thought provoking themes" - Bookish Magpie
 
"A good read" - Book Pleasures
 
"For those who know me, giving a book a 5 is something I don't do. My belief is if a book receives a 5 rating, it better be worthy of a Nobel Prize in literature. The Eloquence of Desire is one such book. Ms. Sington-Williams has written a book that flows rhythmically, lyrically, like poetry or a song, but touches on every facet of human nature. This is not an easy read. Filled with emotion and every facet of human nature laid bare before the reader, this story will grip your heart and bring your emotions to the foreground. I don't think anyone will come away from this story untouched." - Romance Writers United.
 
"an engrossing and atmospheric novel... has the sharp edge, clarity and narrative drive of Somerset Maugham... Thoroughly recommended!" - Dr. Stephen Wyatt, Award-winning writer of Memorials to the Missing.
 
Set in the 1950s, The Eloquence of Desire explores the conflicts in family relationships caused by obsessive love, the lost innocence of childhood and the terror of the Communist insurgency in Malaya. Richly descriptive and well-researched, the story told by Amanda Sington-Williams unfolds as George is posted to the tropics in punishment for an affair with the daughter of his boss. His wife, Dorothy, constrained by social norms, begrudgingly accompanies him while their twelve year old daughter Susan is packed off to boarding school. Desire and fantasy mix with furtive visits, lies and despair to turn the family inside out with Dorothy becoming a recluse, George taking a new lover, and Susan punishing herself through self-harm. The Eloquence of Desire is written in Sington-Williams' haunting and rhythmical prose.

Other books that might interest you

  • Somewhere I'll Find You - cover

    Somewhere I'll Find You

    Lisa Kleypas

    • 7
    • 36
    • 0
    A classic tale of sensuous secrets and unanticipated passion,from the extraordinary New York Times bestselling author 
    The toast of the town ... 
    All London is at Julia Wentworth's feet—and anything she desires is hers for the asking. But the glamorous leading lady guards a shocking secret: a mystery husband whom she does not know, dares not mention ... and cannot love. 
    For years Damon Savage has been searching for the stranger his parents wed him to without his consent, hoping  to legally free himself from matrimony's invisible chains. And he is astonished to discover his "bride" is none other than the exquisite lady he'd hoped to make his mistress! But though his wife by law, Julia will never truly be Damon's—until he conquers her fears, his formidable rivals ... and her proud, passionate, and independent heart.
    Show book
  • The Lily and the Sword - cover

    The Lily and the Sword

    Sara Bennett

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    Trapped in an old Saxon church, Lady Lily is dragged from her hiding place to the very feet of the warrior who's been hunting for her—Radulf, the King's Sword, a man whose name all speak in fear. Yet when she looks into his coal-black eyes, it is not fear that makes her tremble...but desire. So she lies to save her life—and prays to save her heart. 
    Even though some instinct whispers that Lily's not who she claims to be, Radulf is helpless against his burning need to possess her. Furious when he discovers her true identity, he nevertheless marries her—not to protect her from the king's wrath, he tells himself, but to keep a close watch on her. For Radulf was betrayed by a woman once before...and now trusting Lily could cost him his life.
    Show book
  • Boss - cover

    Boss

    Reagan Shaw

    • 7
    • 57
    • 0
    He was supposed to be a one-night stand.Now he’s hiring me to be the nanny.I wish I could say I regret it,But that would be a big FAT lie.
     
    Ever meet a guy that makes you sweat with one stare?Brian’s that guy.Loving, powerful, and damaged, all in one package.And I’m the dummy who thought I wouldn’t fall for it.Now my heart aches every time he talks to his daughter.
     
    Brian has a dangerous past,And I’m the pawn about to be taken.A mistake they’ll regret—Especially now that I’m carrying his baby.
    Show book
  • Victorian Era Deflowered Bundle - Dominant Men Spanking Servants Erotica - cover

    Victorian Era Deflowered Bundle...

    Lovillia Hearst

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    In the Victorian Era, public displays were always one of aristocratic pomp, where one's best foot was always to be put forward, for fear of any lords or ladies casting doubt upon one's social skills. All those painful and forced interactions, however reluctant, served as a means to judge loyalty to social standards often set by the ruling class, so that people who were sufficiently obedient could be properly elevated. The side effect of all this, of course, was a furious pent up frustration begging to be let out, and so the Victorian Era was home to some of the most deviant sexual displays in history. These three stories are accounts of such displays.
     
    In The Cruel Hands Of Lord Coleridge
     
    A gambling husband is the downfall of Lady Jane Blair, but she’s not prepared to simply accept it when he goes further than ever before and actually loses their home to a rival in a game of cards. She visits Lord Coleridge to beg for a way to change things, but what he would want to allow them to keep the house is almost too high a cost to bear. A night with her to cancel the debt wasn’t what she expected... but if her husband was going to force her to negotiate with Lord Coleridge, then why should she feel bad for enjoying it, especially if she can teach her husband a lesson at the same time?
     
    Deflowered By The Doctor
     
    Marrying into money was always in the cards for Lady Cora, but her husband-to-be’s family has an unusual request – that she be inspected by a doctor to see if she is still pure. The only problem is, despite her innocent appearance, she has not been chaste. When the doctor sees her before him on the examination table, exposed and completely under his control, he fights his most base feelings of lust to try to proceed. A fight he loses. With only one option to continue her marriage, Lady Cora has to make a hard decision
     
    An Illicit Affair On The Night Before My Arraigned Marriage
     
    Pressed by her family to marry a friend of her uncle, Dakota reluctantly agrees. It puts her as the only passenger on a stagecoach making the trip to her uncle’s home, and she ends up riding on the driver’s box. An attraction to the handsome man she’s sitting beside puts doubts in her mind that she’s doing the right thing by marrying an older man she doesn’t even know. When they stop for the night in the great outdoors, she finds it impossible to resist his advances and succumbs to a night of passion that irrevocably changes her life - and leaves her pregnant with another man's baby. This is a Victorian Era erotic historical secret baby romance.
    Show book
  • The Pleasure of the Rose - The MacNeil Legacy - Book One - cover

    The Pleasure of the Rose - The...

    Jane Bonander

    • 2
    • 12
    • 0
    Long a master of the historical and the heartfelt, Jane Bonander pens a sweeping Scottish romance, perfect for readers of Mary Balogh.
    "Jane Bonander reaches out to her readers' hearts." —RT Book Reviews
    As Fletcher MacNeil sat in a jail cell, the last thing he expected was a Scottish solicitor bearing news of an inheritance. Fletcher, half Comanche and half Scottish, is the only surviving heir to Castle Sheiling and a fortune beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he must escape his current predicament and travel across the ocean—to a world of loyal clans and kinsmen where Fletcher’s very appearance marks him as outsider.
    Rosalyn Geddes, housekeeper of Sheiling, is relieved to hear that the new earl of Kintyre has been located in America. But the last thing she expected was the mysterious, darkly handsome man who appears on the castle doorstep. Rosalyn cannot believe he is a MacNeil, let alone the new earl. But there’s something about this man—a power and magnetism that draws her in.
    Fletcher learns that his inheritance comes with a caveat—he must produce an heir within one year’s time or the fortune goes to a rogue cousin of the late earl. A marriage of convenience is proposed, and Roz reluctantly agrees. What begins as purely a business transaction blossoms into something more. Roz begins to feel herself open up to the possibility of love, but the question of whether Fletcher will leave her once he’s met the terms of the will continues to loom over their relationship. Can they overcome Roz’s tragic past and Fletcher’s uncertain future?
    Show book
  • A Wanderer's Safe Haven - A Billionaire Romance - cover

    A Wanderer's Safe Haven - A...

    Maggie Kane

    • 5
    • 56
    • 0
    A woman on the run can't afford to slow down. Emma's sole purpose is to keep moving so she can get as far from her grizzly past as possible.
    
     
    But when a gorgeous, Greek billionaire vineyard owner opens his home, his bed, his body to her- how can she pass that up? Just one night won't hurt…
    
     
    Nikos knows there is more than meets the eye when it comes to this sexy American backpacker with her vague past, toned body, and stormy eyes. He never intended to take her to bed, but he couldn't just let her walk off into the night.
    
     
    After one night of steamy passion, Emma's head says it's time to go, but her body only wants to go back to bed. Torn between desire for safety and Nikos' body, she makes a decision that changes her life forever.
    
     
    A Wanderer's Safe Haven is the first in the Summer Flame Series. A sexy billionaire international romance that promises a story along with plenty of love making!
    Show book