Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Runaway Who Became President: SR Nathan’s Journey of Hope - Prominent Singaporeans - cover

The Runaway Who Became President: SR Nathan’s Journey of Hope - Prominent Singaporeans

Amanda Kee

Publisher: Epigram Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From a trying childhood to surviving the Japanese Occupation and even falling in love, the life of Singapore's longest-serving president, the late S.R. Nathan, turned out to be more colourful than many might imagine. 
The Runaway Who Became President not only introduces us to a man who dedicated his life to the service of our nation, but also to the various people who helped him work through his own challenges and shape him as a well-loved and respected Singaporean icon.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Mediator #3: Reunion - cover

    The Mediator #3: Reunion

    Meg Cabot

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Reunion is the third book in the thrilling, romantic Mediator series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot.   
    The RLS Angels are out for blood, and only Suze can stop them—since she's the only one who can see them. The four ghostly teenagers died in a terrible car accident, for which they blame Suze's classmate Michael...and they'll stop at nothing until he's joined them in the realm of the dead.  
    As Suze desperately fends off each attempt on Michael's life, she finds she can relate to the Angels' fury. Because their deaths turn out not to have been accidental at all. And their killer is only too willing to strike again. 
    Don't miss the delightfully funny supernatural Mediator series, from New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot.
    Show book
  • TBH #3: TBH Too Much Drama - cover

    TBH #3: TBH Too Much Drama

    Lisa Greenwald

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
      
    Cece, Gabby, and Prianka can’t wait for Spirit Week, aka the last week of school before summer break! And they’re already making plans for the best summer ever—including a friends-only camping trip, plenty of pool time, and a top-secret shared notebook. 
    But between Pajama Day and pizza parties, Gabby accidentally leaks Cece’s most embarrassing secret to the whole school in a meme that goes viral. Half the squad thinks it’s no big deal, but Cece needs a time-out from all the drama—even if that means taking a break from her best friends.
    Show book
  • The Mediator #4: Darkest Hour - cover

    The Mediator #4: Darkest Hour

    Meg Cabot

    • 2
    • 16
    • 0
    The Darkest Hour is the fourth book in the thrilling, romantic Mediator series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot.   
     
    When the nineteenth-century ghost of Maria de Silva wakes her up in the middle of the night, Suze knows this is no ordinary visitation—and not just from the knife at her throat, either. In life, Maria was the fiancée of Jesse—the same Jesse who was murdered 150 years before. The same Jesse Suze is in love with.  
    Maria threatens Suze: The backyard construction must cease. Suze has a pretty good idea what—or rather, who—Maria doesn't want found. But in solving Jesse's murder, will Suze end up losing him forever? 
     
    Don't miss the delightfully funny supernatural Mediator series, from New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot.
    Show book
  • 51 Must Know Facts About Heart - cover

    51 Must Know Facts About Heart

    GP Editors

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Heart is one of the most iconic organs in our body. It is the hardest working muscle. It powers the entire circulatory system—constantly transporting oxygen, nutrients, waste, heat, hormones and immune cells throughout the body. For most of history, humans had no idea what purpose the heart served. Although everyone could feel their own heart beating, it wasn’t always clear what each thump was achieving. Now we know that the heart pumps blood, but that fact wasn’t always obvious because if our heart was exposed or taken out, the body would perish quickly.It was only in the 21st century, that the people in the surgery teams actually saw a working heart. Healthcare experts advise people to care for the well-being of this life sustaining organ, since it is vulnerable to various physical and emotional factors. Researchers have presented various studies that have shown the functioning of this essential organ and the conditions that can disrupt that normality.51 Must Know Facts about Heart sums up the entirety of various fascinating heart related aspects that are crucial to understand when our entire existence is dependent on this vital organ.
    Show book
  • Reading the Heart - Books by Christie Leigh Babirad Companion Journal - cover

    Reading the Heart - Books by...

    Christie Leigh Babirad

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    We all have a story.
     
    This is a journal for you to write down all that matters to you. My hope is that through the quotes taken from my books and the short prompts, you will see all the beauty, triumph, love, and uniqueness you hold and may be inspired to uncover and pursue endeavors and treasures that may have been hidden in your heart.
     
    The world needs your story. The world needs you.
     
    I believe all our stories matter, and I believe that a key way to find the story is to ask yourself specific questions. My hope is that this journal will be filled with your stories. Introducing each section, you will read quotes from my books, but that’s where my input ends and yours begins. You’ll get to know my stories a little bit in this journal, but these pages aren’t about me. They’re about YOU!
     
    This book is your creative space.
    Show book
  • The Ecstasy of Being - Mythology and Dance - cover

    The Ecstasy of Being - Mythology...

    Joseph Campbell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Joseph Campbell’s collected writings on dance and art, edited and introduced by Nancy Allison, CMA, the founder of Jean Erdman Dance, and including Campbell’s unpublished manuscript “Mythology and Form in the Performing and Visual Arts,” the book he was working on when he died.
     
    Dance was one of mythologist Joseph Campbell’s wide-ranging passions. His wife, Jean Erdman, was a leading figure in modern dance who worked with Martha Graham and had Merce Cunningham in her first company. When Campbell retired from teaching in 1972, he and Erdman formed the Theater of the Open Eye, where for nearly fifteen years they presented a wide array of dance and theater productions, lectures, and performance pieces.
     
    The Ecstasy of Being brings together seven of Campbell’s previously uncollected articles on dance, along with “Mythology and Form in the Performing and Visual Arts,” the treatise that he was working on when he died, published here for the first time.
     
    In this new collection Campbell explores the rise of modern art and dance in the twentieth century; delves into the work and philosophy of Isadora Duncan, Martha Graham, and others; and, as always, probes the idea of art as “the funnel through which spirit is poured into life.” This book offers the reader an accessible, yet profound and provocative, insight into Campbell’s lifelong fascination with the relationship of myth to aesthetic form and human psychology.
     
    Reviews:
     
    “Unusual insights . . . with a great deal of new information. [Campbell’s] writing reveals deep knowledge of dance and aesthetics, and clarity of thought. There are also excellent notes related to both Parts I and II at the end of the book, and these add to the reader’s understanding of the various issues and artists under discussion. Readers will find a great deal to think about in this small collection of Campbell’s work, and the book will also serve as an introduction to the thoughts of an important American writer — one who influenced many with his teaching, ideas, and books.”— Journal of Dance Education
    Show book