Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
In the Shadow of Wolves - cover

In the Shadow of Wolves

Alvydas Šlepikas

Translator Romas Kinka

Publisher: Oneworld Publications

  • 0
  • 6
  • 1

Summary

The Second World War is drawing to a close, but the world is far from safe. Left to fend for themselves, women and children are forced out of their homes in East Prussia to make way for the advancing victors. As the Russian soldiers arrive, the women know that they are still very much in danger, and that for them, the fight for survival is only just beginning.

Facing critical food shortages and the onset of a bitter cold winter without heat, the women send their children into the nearby forests where they secretly cross the border into Lithuania, begging the local farmers for work or food to take back home to their waiting families. Along the way the children find cruelty, hardship and violence, but also kindness, hope, and the promise of a new and better future.

Based on meticulous research, this stunning and powerful debut novel by Alvydas Slepikas tells for the first time the story of the ‘wolf children’ and the measures many families were forced to take in order to survive.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Four Streets Saga - cover

    The Four Streets Saga

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This is the complete story, in one volume, of Nadine's bestselling Four Streets Trilogy. 
     
    Set in the Irish Catholic community of 1950s Liverpool and on the west coast of Ireland, this is a saga of working-class families. Despite living on the edge of poverty, they are bound together by humour and loyalty, gossip, grumbling – and endless cups of tea. 
     
    It is also the gripping, horrifying story of a young girl betrayed by a man who is trusted and revered by the people of the Four Streets. The community's revenge is played out over a drama in three acts: The Four Streets, Hide Her Name and The Ballymara Road.
    Show book
  • Charles the King - cover

    Charles the King

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Charles I: the last absolute monarch to reign over England, and one of the most ill-fated kings of the tragic, splendid dynasty of the Royal Stuarts. This is a story of passionate love—between Charles and his queen, Henrietta Maria. It is a story of adventure—a reign that collapsed into a bloody and savage civil war. And it is a story of great events, dominant personalities, faith, and great courage.
    Show book
  • The Promise of Dawn (Under Northern Skies Book #1) - cover

    The Promise of Dawn (Under...

    Lauraine Snelling

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Beloved Author Lauraine Snelling Launches New Immigrant SeriesWhen Signe, her husband, Rune, and their three boys arrive in Minnesota from Norway to help a relative clear his land of lumber, they dream of owning their own farm and building a life in the New World. But Uncle Einar and Aunt Gird are hard, demanding people, and Signe and her family soon find themselves worked nearly to the bone in order to repay the cost of their voyage. At this rate, they will never have land or a life of their own.Signe tries to trust God but struggles with anger and bitterness. She has left behind the only life she knew, and while it wasn't an easy life, it wasn't as hard as what she now faces. When a new addition to the family arrives, Signe begins to see how God has been watching over them throughout their ordeal. But after all that has happened, can she still believe in the promise of a bright future?
    Show book
  • In the Heart of the Garden - cover

    In the Heart of the Garden

    Leah Fleming

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Iris Bagshott strolls down the paths of her ancient garden, close to Lichfield in the heart of England, wondering if it is time to sell her house and land for development. 
     
    She is unaware that around every corner myriad family secrets from the past unfold. 
     
    From a Saxon clearing to a monastery, Tudor dwelling to the present day, this sacred plot has nurtured her ancestors. Generations of Bagshott women have found refuge and solace tending it through years of plague, civil war and beyond. 
     
    This is their story.
    Show book
  • The Angels of Lovely Lane - A powerful 1950s nursing saga from the Sunday Times bestseller - cover

    The Angels of Lovely Lane - A...

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'As heart-warming as it is heartbreaking, this novel is unputdownable' Sunday Express. 
     
    It is 1953 and five very different girls are arriving at the nurses' home in Lovely Lane, Liverpool, to start their training at St Angelus Hospital. 
     
    Dana has escaped from her family farm on the west coast of Ireland. Victoria is running away from a debt-ridden aristocratic background. Beth is an army brat and throws her lot in with bitchy Celia Forsyth. And Pammy has come from quite the wrong side of the tracks in Liverpool. 
     
    The world in which they now find themselves is complicated and hierarchical, with rules that must be obeyed. Everyone has their place at St Angelus and woe betide anyone who strays from it. 
     
    But when an unknown girl is admitted, after a botched late abortion in a backstreet kitchen, a tragedy begins to unfold which will rock the world of St Angelus to its foundations. 
     
    Can't wait for the next one? THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE is out now! 
     
    What people are saying about THE ANGELS OF LOVELY LANE: 
     
    'Nadine Dorries's writing is sparkling and vibrant, her books are a joy to read' 
     
    'The book was like a dream – difficult to put down' 
     
    'You feel as if you know the characters personally!' 
     
    'Enthralling read, can't wait to read more'
    Show book
  • The Children of Lovely Lane - cover

    The Children of Lovely Lane

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The second gripping novel in the Lovely Lane series, from bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson. 
     
    The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards. 
     
    St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south. 
     
    The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it. 
     
    Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go. 
     
    Can't wait for the next one? THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE is out now! 
     
     What people are saying about THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE: 
     
    'Another fantastic book in this amazing series!' 
     
    'Nadine Dorries is fast becoming my favourite author. Once I start reading, her books are difficult to put down' 
     
    'So well written and the story line always keeps you wondering' 
     
    'There is nothing better than reading a Nadine Dorries book'
    Show book