Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Artists' Wives - cover

Artists' Wives

Alphonse Daudet

Publisher: anboco

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Stretched at full length, on the great divan of a studio, cigar in mouth, two friends—a poet and a painter—were talking together one evening after dinner.

It was the hour of confidences and effusion. The lamp burned softly beneath its shade, limiting its circle of light to the intimacy of the conversation, leaving scarcely distinct the capricious luxury of the vast walls, cumbered with canvases, hangings, panoplies, surmounted by a glass roof through which the sombre blue shades of the night penetrated unhindered. The portrait of a woman, leaning slightly forward, as if to listen, alone stood out a little from the shadow; young with intelligent eyes, a grave and sweet mouth and a spirituel smile which seemed to defend the husband's easel from fools and disparagers. A low chair pushed away from the fire, two little blue shoes lying on the carpet, indicated also the presence of a child in the house; and indeed from the next room, within which mother and child had but just disappeared, came occasional bursts of soft laughter, of childish babble; the pretty flutterings of a nest going off to sleep. All this shed over the artistic interior a vague perfume of family happiness which the poet breathed in with delight:

"Decidedly, my dear fellow?" he said to his friend, "you were in the right. There are no two ways of being happy. Happiness lies in this and in nothing else. You must find me a wife!"

Other books that might interest you

  • The Hollow Gods - cover

    The Hollow Gods

    A. J. Vrana

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Black Hollow is a town with a dark secret. For centuries, residents have foretold the return of the Dreamwalker—an ominous figure from local folklore said to lure young women into the woods and possess them. Yet the boundary between fact and fable is blurred by a troubling statistic: occasionally, women do go missing. And after they return, they almost always end up dead. When Kai wakes up next to the lifeless body of a recently missing girl, his memory blank, he struggles to clear his already threadbare conscience. Miya, a floundering university student, experiences signs that she may be the Dreamwalker’s next victim. Can she trust Kai as their paths collide, or does he herald her demise?And after losing a young patient, crestfallen oncologist, Mason, embarks on a quest to debunk the town’s superstitions, only to find his sanity tested.A maelstrom of ancient grudges, forgotten traumas, and deadly secrets loom in the foggy forests of Black Hollow. Can three unlikely heroes put aside their fears and unite to confront a centuries-old evil? Will they uncover the truth behind the fable, or will the cycle repeat?
    Show book
  • Father Sweet - cover

    Father Sweet

    J.J. Martin

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A shocking tale of secrets, guilt, and clerical child abuse. 
     
    
    
    “God has made you special, but I will show you how to have an extraordinary life. Show you true love, as God intended for our kind.” 
     
    
    
    It’s 1978. Blackburn Hamlet is a typical suburban village in eastern Ontario. In this vibrant Catholic community, life revolves around family and church. Then the safe comfort of both is destroyed by the arrival of a predator priest. 
     
    
    When charismatic Father Sweet invites his new favourite altar boy on a camping trip, the boy’s parents insist he go. Trapped in the woods, the boy struggles to evade the priest’s sexual advances. But Father Sweet forces him to make an impossible choice. 
     
    
    Twenty-five years later, he is lost, broken, and angry. His father’s death reveals secrets that spur the man to relive his own past. Desiring justice, in need of healing, he discovers, in a daring rescue mission, a way to achieve both.
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 4
    • 5
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • Nothing Else Remains - The compulsive read - cover

    Nothing Else Remains - The...

    Robert Scragg

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    'Intricately plotted and expertly paced, Nothing Else Remains is British crime writing at its finest' M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show 
    When Max Brennan’s estranged father and then his own girlfriend go missing in quick succession, he turns to his old friend Detective Jake Porter for help. As Max is then attacked in his own home, Porter and his partner Nick Styles waste no time in investigating. But when their main suspect turns up dead, alongside a list of other targets, it seems the case is much bigger than it first appeared. With events spiraling, can Porter and Styles catch the killer before another victim is claimed?
    Show book
  • A Prophecy for Two - cover

    A Prophecy for Two

    K.L. Noone

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In every legend of Fairyland, the fairies have their own reasons for crossing the border…  
    Oliver has spent his life as the crown prince, preparing to rule but in no hurry to do so, enjoying life and taverns with Tirian, his fairy-companion and best friend. But when the traditional Vision Quest calls— and a dragon appears—Oliver finds himself facing difficult questions about heroism, sacrifice… and the emotions he’s discovering he has toward Tirian. But Tirian has secrets of his own, about his purpose, his magic, his feelings for Oliver, and a prophecy that will change the fates of two kingdoms forever.
    Show book
  • A Choice of Secrets - cover

    A Choice of Secrets

    Barb Hendee

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Three choices. Two sisters. One family’s destiny. The “most engaging [book] yet” in this New York Times–bestselling author’s Dark Glass series (Kings River Life Magazine).   Ever since raiders from the North began attacking villages, Lady Nicole Montagna has known that defending her people comes at a cost. The betrothal of her sister Chloe to a neighboring lord seems the perfect solution, forging a powerful alliance. But shortly before the wedding, Nicole is shocked to discover that her sister is with child—and not by her husband-to-be. Now she must make a choice and she has just hours to decide: should she tell her soldier brother—who will take swift, ruthless action to ensure the family’s safety? She could hold her tongue, let her sister deceive her husband into believing the child is his—and then hope Chloe can get away with the lie. Or, should she tell her family, hoping they will know the right thing to do?   With the help of a magic mirror, Nicole lives out each path, fighting to protect herself and those she loves with the weapons she has: wits, herbs, and fortitude. But no matter her cleverness, neither she nor her family can escape unscathed—for there are repercussions she could never have foreseen, involving her own heart . . .   “Each time I read one of the books in the Dark Glass series it becomes my favourite . . . Every single book has been excellent . . . I was completely enthralled.” —Under the Covers Book Blog
    Show book