Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Columba and All That - cover

Columba and All That

Allan Burnett

Publisher: Birlinn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The illustrated true history of the 6th-century Irish abbot and saint and his evangelical mission in Scotland.Columba And All That is a real-life adventure packed with historical facts about the legendary Celtic saint. Join Columba as he leaves his home in Ireland for the undiscovered country of Scotland. Witness magic and miracles as Columba confronts the Loch Ness Monster and mysterious painted warriors. Packed with fantastic illustrations, Columba And All That is one man’s epic quest to spread the Word of God in a strange land—and hoping the natives like what they hear!
Available since: 08/01/2011.
Print length: 128 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Slappy New Year! - cover

    Slappy New Year!

    R. L. Stine

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this spinoff to the New York Times–bestselling Goosebumps series, a tween goes to an amusement park and brings home an enchanted mannequin. 
     
    Ray Gordon loves to scare his younger brother, Brandon. It’s not hard considering Brandon is terrified of everything—loud noises, roller coasters, and especially the wooden dummy, Slappy, that Ray got from the HorrorLand theme park gift shop. Then Ray’s parents warn him that he will not be able to throw his big New Year’s Eve if he doesn’t stop teasing Brandon. But strange, mean-spirited things keep happening to his little brother, and Slappy always seems to be around for it. Could that spell Ray read out loud actually have brought the dummy to life?
    Show book
  • The After School Crime Club - cover

    The After School Crime Club

    Hayley Webster

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Willow has always felt like an outsider at school, but she and her Nanna were so alike that she never felt alone. Now Nanna is gone and Willow is adrift. So when a group of girls offer her friendship in exchange for "fun" stealing dares, Willow can't say no. But as the dares escalate, she has to ask herself: How far will she go to fit in?
    This wise, warm and uplifting story from the acclaimed author of Luna Rae is Not Alone explores what it feels like to lose yourself and the joy of discovering you're perfect just as you are.
    Show book
  • The Stitchers - cover

    The Stitchers

    Lorien Lawrence

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A teenager picks up where her late father left off investigating her peculiar elderly neighbors in this spooky series opener. 
     
    Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane . . . 
     
      
     
    Thirteen-year-old Quinn Parker knows that there’s something off about her neighbors. She calls them “the Oldies” because they’ve lived on Goodie Lane for as long as anyone can remember, but they never seem to age. Are they vampires? Or aliens? Or getting secret experimental surgeries? Or is Quinn’s imagination just running wild again? 
     
    If her dad were still around, he’d believe her. When he was alive, they’d come up with all sorts of theories about the Oldies. Now, Quinn’s determined to keep the investigation going with the help of Mike, her neighbor and maybe-crush. They’ll have to search for clues and follow the mystery wherever it leads—even if it’s to the eerie pond at the end of the street that’s said to have its own sinister secrets. But the Oldies are on to them. And the closer Quinn and Mike get to uncovering the answers, the more they realize just how terrifying the truth may be. 
     
    “What a cool—and wild—ride . . . This is the perfect book for kids to cool off with on a hot day, because the chills come guaranteed,” —Stephen King 
     
    “A truly creepy read, perfect for fans of “Goosebumps” and Stranger Things.” ?School Library Journal 
     
    “Reminiscent of R. L. Stine’s Fear Street series, this first book in the Fright Watch series is spooky and mysterious, and it can be counted on to deliver chills to those braving its pages.” ?Booklist 
     
    “The antagonists are satisfyingly menacing, and Quinn’s struggles—grieving her father’s death, juggling friendships—ground this series opener, giving it a healthy dose of heart.” ?Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • 17 Martin Street - cover

    17 Martin Street

    Marilyn Taylor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A web of secrets can risk lives …
    When Hetty's family move to Martin Street near Portobello bridge in Dublin, they're not sure of their welcome. And next door, Ben's family are not sure about their new Jewish neighbours: it's The Emergency and they are suspicious of strangers.
    But for Ben, the chance to earn a few pence is too great and secretly he does odd jobs for them. And there's a bigger secret: Renata, a World War Two refugee, is on the run in the city. Hetty is determined to rescue her.
    The web of secrets begins to unravel and there are lives at risk. Can Hetty and Ben overcome their differences and save Renata, or are they just meddling in things they know too little about?
    Show book
  • Why Am I Feeling Like This? - A Teen's Guide to Freedom from Anxiety and Depression - cover

    Why Am I Feeling Like This? - A...

    David Murray

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Why am I feeling like this? teenagers ask, as they experience anxiety and depression at higher rates than ever before. In his latest book, counselor David Murray introduces readers to the personal stories of 18 teens who have dealt with different types of anxiety or depression and the freedom they experienced through practical steps and tools. This book will not only explain common causes of anxiety, but it will also equip teens with keys to unlock the chains of anxiety and depression. By utilizing these God-given truths and tactics, teens will experience new liberty, peace, and joy in their lives.
    Show book
  • The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf - cover

    The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf

    Gerald Morris

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Third in the medieval fantasy series. “A perfectly delicious, not entirely serious, reimagining of part of Thomas Malory’s Le Morte d’Arthur.”—Booklist    Her castle under siege by an evil knight who keeps beheading all her would-be rescuers, Lady Lynet realizes the only way to get help is to get it herself. So one night she slips away and strikes out for King Arthur’s court where she hopes to find a gallant knight to vanquish the Knight of the Red Lands and free her castle. Gerald Morris’s Arthurian novel is a highly comic tale of hidden identities, mysterious knights, faeries and enchantments, damsels-in-distress, and true love.   “In Morris’s third wry, sometimes hilarious, take on an Arthurian legend, a sharp-tongued young damosel gets an education in sorcery, intrigue and what true knighthood is all about . . . Fans of Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted, Patricia Wrede’s Enchanted Forest Chronicles and similarly lighthearted fantasy will be delighted.”—Kirkus Reviews   “A rollicking treatment of a lesser-known episode from Sir Thomas Malory’s Le Morte d’Arthur . . .  The novel is also enjoyable for its good-natured spoofing of the conventions of its medieval setting.”—School Library Journal   “A rare action-fantasy that crosses age and gender lines.”—The Bulletin
    Show book