Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Long List Anthology: More Stories from the Hugo Award Nomination List - cover

The Long List Anthology: More Stories from the Hugo Award Nomination List

Aliette de Bodard, Sam J. Miller, Ken Liu, Tom Crosshill, Rachel Swirsky, Annie Bellet, Yoon Ha Lee, Amal El-Mohtar, Elizabeth Bear, Scott Lynch, T. Kingfisher, Rachael K. Jones, Usman T. Malik, Xia Jia, Ruthanna Emrys, Eugie Foster, Max Gladstone, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Carmen Maria Machado, Kai Ashante Wilson

Publisher: David Steffen

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The Hugo Award is one of the most prestigious speculative fiction literary awards. Every year, supporting members of WorldCon nominate their favorite stories first published during the previous year to determine the top five in each category for the final Hugo Award ballot.  Between the announcement of the ballot and the Hugo Award ceremony at WorldCon, these works often become the center of much attention (and contention) across fandom. 
But there are more stories loved by the Hugo voters, stories on the longer nomination list that WSFS publishes after the Hugo Award ceremony at WorldCon.  The Long List Anthology collects 21 tales from that nomination list, totaling about 180.000 words of fiction by writers from all corners of the world. 
Within these pages you will find a mix of science fiction and fantasy, the dramatic and the lighthearted, from near future android stories to steampunk heists, too-plausible dystopias to contemporary vampire stories. 
There is something here for everyone.

Other books that might interest you

  • Ayesha - The Return of She - cover

    Ayesha - The Return of She

    H. Rider Haggard

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the author of the long-running Allan Quatermain series: The sequel to She is a fantasy classic and one of the bestselling books of all time.   In the sequel to She, Horace Holly and his ward, Leo Vincey, embark on a quest through Tibet to find the mysterious woman known as Ayesha. Though an abbot warns them not to continue, Horace and Leo press on to discover the ancient city of Kaloon, ruled by the evil Khan Rassen and his imperious wife, Khania Atene, whose desire for Leo sparks a rivalry with the volcano-dwelling Priestess of Hes . . .
    Show book
  • The Ledberg Runestone - cover

    The Ledberg Runestone

    Patrick Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of Demon Jack delivers the first novel ina daring Southern urban fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and M.D. Massey.Magic: To some, it’s spectacle. To Jonah, it’s pure profit.A shaman for hire, Jonah can tap into his powers as easily as turning on a light switch, but the real money is in putting on a show. And after putting himself in debt to the Carver brothers, Asheville’s version of a mafia, in order to save his father’s business, he’s in need of some real money. Then a mysterious woman makes Jonah a staggering offer: $20,000—to find and deliver the Ledberg runestone, a legendary artifact of Norse myth. He’s suspicious of the case and the buyer, but when the Carvers threaten Jonah’s father if they don’t get their payment within the month, Jonah starts his investigation. As he explores Asheville’s seedy magical underbelly, Jonah discovers he’s not alone on the hunt. Will Jonah survive long enough to save his father, or will his past of swindling mortals and dodging debt collectors finally catch up with him? “The plot itself is fun . . . We have twists and an exceptional one at the end; but what holds it together is this unique character and the foundations it lays for something truly epic to come.”—Fangs for the Fantasy
    Show book
  • Demon Jack - cover

    Demon Jack

    Patrick Donovan

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Hell is what you make of it.
    
    Fifteen years ago, Jack died and was presented with a simple choice: stay dead and go to Hell or sell his soul to a demon and keep living. Now, soulless and out of prison, Jack is living as a drifter in the streets of Boston, trying desperately to be nobody.
    
    It's all working out until Jack's only friend turns on him, possessed by something far worse than the demon holding the contract to his soul. It’s only the beginning of the nightmare: dragged out of the shadows by an ancient order with roots in the Inquisition, Jack is blackmailed into hunting down whatever’s turning Boston's homeless into ravenous killers.
    
    Paired with a centuries-old witch, Jack is in a race to track down what's killing his people, all while staying one step ahead of his own brutal past.
    Show book
  • Boundless - A Drizzt Novel - cover

    Boundless - A Drizzt Novel

    R. A. Salvatore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This second book in New York Times bestselling author R. A. Salvatore’s all-new Forgotten Realms trilogy—full of swordplay, danger, and imaginative thrills—features one of fantasy’s most beloved and enduring characters, Drizzt Do’Urden. 
     
    Split between time and two worlds, Zaknafein had always been conflicted. That inner turmoil was magnified by his inferior position as a male dark elf in the matriarchal drow society. Only his status as one of the greatest warriors—as well as his friendship with the mercenary Jarlaxle—kept him sane. When he finally perished, he was content knowing he left behind a legacy as substantial as his son Drizzt. 
    Except . . . someone isn’t ready for Zaknafein to be dead. And now he’s back, hundreds of years later, in a world he doesn’t recognize. His son’s companions are not the prideful—and bigoted—males the drow warrior was accustomed to in his previous life. Drizzt’s circle includes dwarves, elves, and, perhaps worst of all, a human wife. 
    Struggling to navigate this transformed new world, Zaknafein realizes that some things have not changed: the threat of demons and the machinations of a drow matron no longer content with her family’s position in the ranks of Houses. 
    Though he has been displaced in time, Zaknafein is still a warrior. And no matter what prejudices he must overcome, he knows he will do his duty and fight by Drizzt’s side to stem the tide of darkness that threatens the Realms.
    Show book
  • Timeless - A Drizzt Novel - cover

    Timeless - A Drizzt Novel

    R. A. Salvatore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times and USA Today Bestseller! 
    R. A. Salvatore returns with one of fantasy's most beloved and enduring icons, the dark elf Drizzt Do'Urden, in an all-new trilogy full of swordplay, danger, and imaginative thrills. 
    Centuries ago, in the city of Menzoberranzan, the City of Spiders, the City of Drow, nestled deep in the unmerciful Underdark of Toril, a young weapon master earned a reputation far above his station or that of his poor house. 
    The greater nobles watched him, and one matron, in particular, decided to take him as her own. She connived with rival great houses to secure her prize, but that prize was caught for her by another, who came to quite enjoy the weapon master. 
    This was the beginning of the friendship between Zaknafein and Jarlaxle, and the coupling of Matron Malice and the weapon master who would sire Drizzt Do’Urden. 
    R. A. Salvatore reveals the Underdark anew through the eyes of Zaknafein and Jarlaxle—an introduction to the darkness that offers a fresh view of the opportunities to be found in the shadows and an intriguing prelude to the intriguing escapes that lie ahead in the modern-day Forgotten Realms. Here, a father and his son are reunited and embark on adventures that parallel the trials of centuries long past as the friends of old are joined by Drizzt, Hero of the North, trained by Grandmaster Kane in the ways of the monk. 
    But the scourge of the dangerous Lolth’s ambitions remain, and demons have been foisted on the unwitting of the surface. The resulting chaos and war will prove to be the greatest challenge for all three.
    Show book
  • Modern Magick Volume 2 - Books 4-6 - cover

    Modern Magick Volume 2 - Books 4-6

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The fight to save British magick rages on — and it’s taking the Society’s beleaguered champions away from Home. Far, far away, to worlds long lost; worlds no one could ever have imagined existed.
     
    Dangers and mysteries abound, which is way up Ves’s street. Jay isn’t quite so sure. Severed as they are from the Society’s support, will magick’s unlikely heroes make it Home unscathed?
     
    It’ll be fine. After all, these lost magickal domains are the Society’s ultimate dream. What could possibly be so bad about that?
     
    The Society for Magickal Heritage battles modern decay in three thrilling new Modern Magick adventures: The Fifth Britain, Royalty and Ruin, and Music and Misadventure.
    Show book