Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Between the Regions of Kindness - cover

Between the Regions of Kindness

Alice Jolly

Publisher: Unbound

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Alice Jolly is the PEN Ackerley Prize-winning author of the memoir Dead Babies and Seaside Towns.Alice’s remarkable 2018 novel Mary Ann Sate, Imbecile was described by Sally Bayley as ‘an exquisite piece of craft … I would place it among the classics of this century and the last’. For fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles, Rose Tremain, Helen Dunmore, Shirley Hazzard, Pat Barker.  The author will be available for events around publication.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lies Within - cover

    The Lies Within

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A well-crafted mystery . . . Crime writing at its best” from the bestselling author of Beneath the Ashes and Before It’s Too Late (David Evans, international bestselling author).  Be under no illusions by her kind face and eloquent manner . . . This woman is guilty of murder . . .   Grace Daniels is distraught after her daughter’s body is found in a Leicestershire country lane. With her family falling apart and the investigation going nowhere, Grace’s only solace is the re-emergence of Faye, an old friend who seems to understand her loss. DI Will Jackman delves into the case, until a family tragedy and a figure from his past threaten to derail him.   When the police discover another victim, the spotlight falls on Grace. Can Jackman find the killer, before Grace is convicted of a crime she didn’t commit?   “Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Visceral and compelling reading. Another cracker from Jane Isaac.”—Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon “Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series “A perfectly executed police investigation into a horrific act of violence and a moving depiction of buried secrets. My first read from Jane Isaac but definitely not my last.”—Sarah Ward, author of A Deadly Thaw   “An intelligent, convincing thriller with genuine characters and a pacy plot. Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction.”—Michael Wood, author of The Murder House   “Gripped from the very first page . . . Mesmerizing and disturbing.”—June Taylor, author of Keep Your Friends Close
    Show book
  • Before It's Too Late - cover

    Before It's Too Late

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first DI Will Jackman crime thriller from the author of Beneath the Ashes and The Lies Within.“Dark, sinister and page turning.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins seriesFollowing an argument with her British boyfriend, Chinese student Min Li is abducted whilst walking the dark streets of picturesque Stratford-upon-Avon alone.Trapped in a dark pit, Min is at the mercy of her captor. Detective Inspector Will Jackman is tasked with solving the case and in his search for answers discovers that the truth is buried deeper than he ever expected.But, as another student vanishes and Min grows ever weaker, time is running out. Can Jackman track down the kidnapper, before it’s too late?“My kind of book. Jane Isaac writes with real confidence and attention to detail. An enjoyable and authentic British police procedural.”—Mari Hannah, author of the Kate Daniels Mysteries“The criminal world is always closer than you think . . . Tense and cop-savvy.”—Phil Rickman, author of the Merrily Watkins Mysteries“Sharp writing and extremely authentic—a very engaging read.”—Mel Sherratt, bestselling author of the DS Grace Allendale series“A dark, tense and pacy thriller with satisfying twists. Jane Isaac knows how to write crime novels, and this one will leave you wanting more.”—SJI Holliday, author of The Last Resort “An involving and clever plot; a sympathetic protagonist. In a crowded field, Jane Isaac writes like a seasoned professional.”—Mick Herron, CWA Gold Dagger Award-winning author of the Slough House series
    Show book
  • Del Rio - A Novel - cover

    Del Rio - A Novel

    Jane Rosenthal

    • 1
    • 3
    • 1
    Del Rio, California, a once-thriving Central Valley farm town, is now filled with run-down Dollar Stores, llanterias, carnicerias, and shabby mini-marts that sell one-way bus tickets straight to Tijuana on the Flecha Amarilla line. It’s a place you drive through with windows up and doors locked, especially at night—a place the locals call Cartel Country. While it’s no longer the California of postcards, for local District Attorney Callie McCall, her dying hometown is the perfect place to launch a political career and try to make a difference.But when the dismembered body of a migrant teen is found in one of Del Rio’s surrounding citrus groves, Callie faces a career make-or-break case that takes her on a dangerous journey down the violent west coast of Mexico, to a tropical paradise hiding a terrible secret, and finally back home again, where her determination to find the killer pits her against the wealthiest, most politically connected, most ruthless farming family in California: her own.
    Show book
  • Bittersweet Manor - A Novel - cover

    Bittersweet Manor - A Novel

    Tory McCagg

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After a four-month estrangement from her family, thirty-two-year-old Emma Michaels visits The Harbor View Assisted Living Home to tell her grandmother, Gussie, that she has made a decision: she’s going to sell the family property—her inheritance. Sitting on the dock of Poquatuck Village, Connecticut, looking across the harbor to their family’s longtime home, the two women debate over Emma’s choice—and their conversation lays the framework for the book, which flows over the decades, all the way back to Gussie's youth and marriage, then forward through the lives of her three children, Auggie, Livy, and Alyssa, whose hopes and talents are warped by their mother’s influence and disappointed expectations. Expectations passed down through the generations. Subtle. Unspoken. Implacable. 
    
    
    
    As Emma and Gussie remember the choices and dynamics that have produced the complicated tapestry that is their family’s history, Emma makes a number of surprising discoveries about her loved ones—and herself—and she prepares to do what no one else in her family has dared: let go of the past to make room for the future, though doing so will destroy the thing her grandmother holds most dear.
    Show book
  • Fourteen Little Red Huts and Other Plays - cover

    Fourteen Little Red Huts and...

    Andrei Platonov

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this essential collection of Andrei Platonov's plays, the noted Platonov translator Robert Chandler edits and introduces The Hurdy-Gurdy (translated by Susan Larsen), Fourteen Little Red Huts (translated by Chandler), and Grandmother's Little Hut (translated by Jesse Irwin). Written in 1930 and 1933, respectively, The Hurdy-Gurdy and Fourteen Little Red Huts constitute an impassioned and penetrating response to Stalin's assault on the Soviet peasantry. They reflect the political urgency of Bertolt Brecht and anticipate the tragic farce of Samuel Beckett but play out through dialogue and characterization that is unmistakably Russian. This volume also includes Grandmother's Little Hut, an unfinished play that represents Platonov's later, gentler work.
    Show book
  • Borrowed Time - cover

    Borrowed Time

    David Marks

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Adam Nunn's search for his true identity has horrifying consequences in this compelling psychological thriller.
    
    
    
    A badly mutilated body has been discovered in a remote woodland pond on the Essex borders – a location known to be the haunt of the ruthless crime gang that ruled London in the 70s. When one of the victim's hands is found nearby, forensic tests reveal a number scrawled on the palm. It is quickly identified as the National Insurance number of struggling family man Adam Nunn.
    
    
    
    As Adam is arrested in connection with the murder, it emerges that the dead man was a private investigator he had hired to find out the identity of his birth parents. Just what did Larry Paris discover that got him killed?
    
    
    
    As Adam seeks the truth surrounding his origins and promises justice for the mother he never knew, he is drawn into a lurid criminal world of violence and violation, reprisal and merciless death.  Torn between the man he wants to be and the man he fears becoming, Adam's investigations will lead him ever deeper into darkness.
    Show book