Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Collected Novels Volume Two - The Foretelling White Horses Angel Landing and Seventh Heaven - cover

The Collected Novels Volume Two - The Foretelling White Horses Angel Landing and Seventh Heaven

Alice Hoffman

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Four lyrical and unforgettable tales from one of our “most interesting novelists”—including the New York Times bestseller, Seventh Heaven (Jane Smiley).   As Newsweek said of her novel Practical Magic, Alice Hoffman has a “gift for touching ordinary life as if with a wand, to reveal how extraordinary life really is.” Whether in an ancient tribe of female warriors or a sleepy Long Island suburb in the late 1950s, the novels in this collection carve out a piece of that uniquely Hoffmanesque landscape—somewhere between magic and reality, hope and disappointment, the mythical and the mundane—where we are surprised but delighted to rediscover mercy and our humanity.  The Foretelling: This young adult New York Times bestseller is the “spare, compelling coming-of-age story” of Rain, born out of sorrow but destined to lead her tribe of Amazon warriors (Kirkus Reviews). Determined to win her mother’s love and take her rightful place as the next queen, Rain becomes a brave and skilled fighter. But the dream of a black horse clouds her future, portending death. Peace, mercy, and love are forbidden words in her people’s language—can Rain teach her sisters to speak in a new tongue before it’s too late?   “Alluring . . . Hoffman’s prose eloquently expresses the beliefs and rituals of a lost civilization and offers a sympathetic portrait of a young leader who chooses kindness over cruelty.” —Publishers Weekly  White Horses: A “sexually charged . . . almost hypnotic” story about the fairy-tale fantasies of girlhood and the realities of growing up (Publishers Weekly). When Teresa was a little girl, she dreamed of fearless heroes on white horses, the romantic outlaws who populated the stories her mother told her. As an adult, she is irresistibly drawn to her brother, Silver, even as he recklessly pursues a life of crime and danger, captivated by the belief that he may be the night rider of her dreams.   “Haunting . . . Alice Hoffman is a daring and able writer.” —The New Yorker  Angel Landing: An explosion at a nuclear power plant under construction on Angel Landing changes the lives of Natalie, a therapist; her activist boyfriend, Carter; her eccentric aunt Minnie; and the man who walks into her office with an incredible confession to make.   “Alice Hoffman’s writing at its precise and heartbreaking best.” —The Washington Post  Seventh Heaven: In this New York Times bestseller, the arrival of a free-thinking divorced mother, Nora Silk, and her two young sons transforms a Long Island suburb during the summer of 1959, in a novel that’s “part American Graffiti, part early Updike” (The New York Times).   “Before you know it, you’re half in love with the ordinary people who inhabit this book; you’re seduced by their susceptibility to the remarkable.” —The New Yorker
Available since: 08/28/2018.
Print length: 1015 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hunt for the Enemy - cover

    Hunt for the Enemy

    Rob Sinclair

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    They’ve erased his past and wiped out his very existence—but Carl Logan isn’t finished yet . . . “A spectacular finale to the trilogy.” —Crime Book Junkie
    
     Logan—once an invaluable asset, now branded a traitor—has been framed for murder. His own firm, the secretive Joint Intelligence Agency, has labeled him a rogue operative after two decades of loyal service. The agency is tracking him down . . . and they’re not the only ones. 
    
    But there’s much more at stake than just Logan’s life. One by one, agents and informants from all sides, all allegiances, are dying. And Carl Logan is the only man who can put a stop to it, once and for all. The hunt is on.
    
    Praise for Rob Sinclair and Hunt for the Enemy
     “An excellent action thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Reacher and Ben Hope . . . A great series.” — Off the Shelf Book Reviews 
    “Fast paced and gripping . . . highly tense.” —Sarah Hardy, By the Letter Book Reviews
    Show book
  • The Woman at Number 19 - A Nail-Biting Psychological Suspense - cover

    The Woman at Number 19 - A...

    J.A. Baker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of The Other Mother delivers a psychological thriller “fraught with uncertainty, possibility, and quiet menace” (AudioFile). 
     
    Esther lost her husband, Julian, and her children, Harriet and Dexter, in a car accident and is struggling with her grief. Spurred on by her own loneliness and a need to make amends for not being able to save her own children, Esther takes it upon herself to watch the woman who lives at number 19. But when unexplainable incidents begin to happen in Esther’s house, she begins to fear for her safety. Meanwhile, over at number 19, the woman’s behavior is becoming more explosive and unpredictable. As Esther starts to lose her grip on reality, her world begins to unravel. Just who is this strange woman at number 19? And why is Esther so obsessed with her? 
     
    “In every sense a true ‘page-turner’ . . . explores the darkness of the mentally unstable mind.” —Fictionophile 
     
    “An absolutely brilliant, unputdownable, cracker of a read! . . . J.A. Baker has constructed a novel that in parts is quite frighteningly believable as she delves into what it might be like to live inside a confused, muddled psyche.” —Jan’s Book Buzz 
     
    “Superbly written . . . J. A. Baker has created such creepily believable characters that I felt a shiver go down my spine each time I came across the characters in question.” —gingerbookgeek
    Show book
  • The Exiles - cover

    The Exiles

    Vivian Stuart

    • 1
    • 18
    • 1
    VOYAGE TO THE LAST FRONTIER...
    The first book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    They were transported from 1780s' England, packed like cattle in cargo compartments: scammers and prostitutes, thieves and murderers — doomed to build His Majesty's new colony in Captain Cook's anchorage in Botany Bay.
    It was a cruel fate even for the toughest of individuals but especially for 15-year-old Jenny Taggart, who was sentenced to lifelong exile for a crime she did not commit. Will there be a future for her in this unknown country, or will she succumb to a rough and brutal life?
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • The Secrets of Greystone House - cover

    The Secrets of Greystone House

    Marcus Attwater

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When he was eleven years old, Jack Riley spent two golden months at Greystone House with Gwendolyn, Ian, Rory and Jamie. Seventeen years later his job as a newspaper reporter brings him back, to learn that it wasn't just the children who kept secrets that summer. Those days just before the war were not as idyllic as they seemed, and instead of writing about the discovery of an Iron Age treasure hoard, Riley finds himself reporting on a murder inquiry to which his own memories may hold the key.
    Show book
  • Open Your Eyes - cover

    Open Your Eyes

    Heather J Fitt

    • 0
    • 13
    • 1
    “Absolutely amazing . . . had me hooked from the very first page . . . I couldn’t put in down and read it in one sitting!” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA Scottish journalist enters a dark online world in this unsettling novel about resentment and rage . . . Edinburgh reporter Frankie has finally been assigned a high-profile crime story about a series of sexual assaults, and she relishes her big break. Her article focuses on the issue of women’s safety and looks at why conditions haven’t improved since the era of the Yorkshire Ripper. Frankie begins to face a torrent of abuse online, attracting the attention of a group of men who want to prevent her from covering the story. But she won’t back down. What she doesn’t realise is that in this murky online world, one man is plotting a spectacular and shocking attack. Can Frankie continue to investigate and walk away unharmed?
    Show book
  • The Prisoners - cover

    The Prisoners

    Vivian Stuart

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    The second book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    
    Life in the new colony of Australia is tough — tough for those who are free and even tougher for the prisoners. Many succumb to disease and starvation. Many try to escape, but only few succeed, and those who fail are brutally punished.
    Yet some, including Jenny Taggart, are determined to make this savage land their own. She is betrayed in friendship and in love, but she never parts with her vision: a future as a free woman.
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book