Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Angel Landing - A Novel - cover

Angel Landing - A Novel

Alice Hoffman

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“A good, old-fashioned love story . . . Alice Hoffman’s writing at its precise and heartbreaking best.” —The Washington Post Things have changed in Fisher’s Cove, the Long Island harbor town where Natalie spent her summers as a girl. The water used to be clean, and from her aunt Minnie’s boarding house you could see all the way to Connecticut even on hazy days. Twenty years ago, Minnie never had a problem finding lodgers—but now everyone wants to be in Montauk or the Hamptons. The biggest change of all, though, is the nuclear power plant under construction on Angel Landing. Natalie’s boyfriend, Carter, is leading a protest against the plant, and despite the fact that he is more devoted to his environmental work than he is to her, she has followed him to Fisher’s Cove. During the days, she works as a therapist at a local counseling center; in the evenings, she ignores her aunt’s disapproval as she waits for Carter to call. But after an explosion lights up the night sky above Angel Landing, Natalie’s world is turned upside down. Into her office walks a man with an incredible confession to make, and the more she listens, the more Natalie begins to question the direction of her own life. The conclusions she draws—about passion, commitment, and what her heart truly wants—will lead her to a love she never imagined possible. Told with grace, charm, and wit, Angel Landing is a captivating romance and one of Alice Hoffman’s most delightful novels.  
Available since: 09/23/2014.
Print length: 321 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Demons Beneath - cover

    The Demons Beneath

    WD Jackson-Smart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “An intense, gripping read that had me snared from the start.” —Amazon reviewer, five starsIs this London detective hunting a serial killer—or a supernatural entity? “Genuinely creepy and panic inducing moments.” —Scream magazine When a bloody corpse is discovered in a North London park, Det. Insp. Daniel Graves is the man tasked with finding the killer. However, with no clues and no suspects, the case seems like a dead end. Then another body turns up—and this time, it looks like it could be Graves’s fault. Has his investigation caused the murderer to strike again? Is he dealing with a serial killer? As the case gets ever more complicated, a report comes in of another suspicious death—but this is nothing like any other Graves has dealt with. All involved are convinced that something supernatural is to blame: a demon. Graves is no believer, but could he be wrong? With two cases on his shoulders and the truth behind each beyond his grasp, Graves must race against time before both killers, human or otherwise, strike again.Praise for WD Jackson-Smart “[Jackson-Smart] lures readers in and holds them.” —Online Book Club “Had me going all the way to the very end.” —Barbara T. Cerny, author of The Tiefling
    Show book
  • Hunt for the Enemy - cover

    Hunt for the Enemy

    Rob Sinclair

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    They’ve erased his past and wiped out his very existence—but Carl Logan isn’t finished yet . . . “A spectacular finale to the trilogy.” —Crime Book Junkie
    
     Logan—once an invaluable asset, now branded a traitor—has been framed for murder. His own firm, the secretive Joint Intelligence Agency, has labeled him a rogue operative after two decades of loyal service. The agency is tracking him down . . . and they’re not the only ones. 
    
    But there’s much more at stake than just Logan’s life. One by one, agents and informants from all sides, all allegiances, are dying. And Carl Logan is the only man who can put a stop to it, once and for all. The hunt is on.
    
    Praise for Rob Sinclair and Hunt for the Enemy
     “An excellent action thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Reacher and Ben Hope . . . A great series.” — Off the Shelf Book Reviews 
    “Fast paced and gripping . . . highly tense.” —Sarah Hardy, By the Letter Book Reviews
    Show book
  • The Secrets of Greystone House - cover

    The Secrets of Greystone House

    Marcus Attwater

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When he was eleven years old, Jack Riley spent two golden months at Greystone House with Gwendolyn, Ian, Rory and Jamie. Seventeen years later his job as a newspaper reporter brings him back, to learn that it wasn't just the children who kept secrets that summer. Those days just before the war were not as idyllic as they seemed, and instead of writing about the discovery of an Iron Age treasure hoard, Riley finds himself reporting on a murder inquiry to which his own memories may hold the key.
    Show book
  • The Woman at Number 19 - A Nail-Biting Psychological Suspense - cover

    The Woman at Number 19 - A...

    J.A. Baker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of The Other Mother delivers a psychological thriller “fraught with uncertainty, possibility, and quiet menace” (AudioFile). 
     
    Esther lost her husband, Julian, and her children, Harriet and Dexter, in a car accident and is struggling with her grief. Spurred on by her own loneliness and a need to make amends for not being able to save her own children, Esther takes it upon herself to watch the woman who lives at number 19. But when unexplainable incidents begin to happen in Esther’s house, she begins to fear for her safety. Meanwhile, over at number 19, the woman’s behavior is becoming more explosive and unpredictable. As Esther starts to lose her grip on reality, her world begins to unravel. Just who is this strange woman at number 19? And why is Esther so obsessed with her? 
     
    “In every sense a true ‘page-turner’ . . . explores the darkness of the mentally unstable mind.” —Fictionophile 
     
    “An absolutely brilliant, unputdownable, cracker of a read! . . . J.A. Baker has constructed a novel that in parts is quite frighteningly believable as she delves into what it might be like to live inside a confused, muddled psyche.” —Jan’s Book Buzz 
     
    “Superbly written . . . J. A. Baker has created such creepily believable characters that I felt a shiver go down my spine each time I came across the characters in question.” —gingerbookgeek
    Show book
  • Clockwork Destiny - cover

    Clockwork Destiny

    Kevin J. Anderson, Neil Peart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The final volume in the New York Times–bestselling, award-winning steampunk trilogy by Kevin J. Anderson and legendary Rush drummer Neil Peart
    		 
    In Clockwork Angels and Clockwork Lives, readers met the optimistic young hero Owen Hardy, as well as the more reluctant adventurer Marinda Peake, in an amazing world of airships and alchemy, fantastic carnivals and lost cities. Now Owen Hardy, retired and content in his quiet, perfect life with the beautiful Francesca, is pulled into one last adventure with his eager grandson Alain. This final mission for the Watchmaker will take them up to the frozen lands of Ultima Thule and the ends of the Earth. Marinda Peake must undertake a mission of her own, not only to compile the true life story of the mysterious Watchmaker, but also to stop a deadly new group of anarchists.
    		 
    The Clockwork trilogy is based on the story and lyrics from the last album of musical titans Rush, with Anderson and Peart expanding the world, stories, and characters. The two developed the final novel in the trilogy in the last years of Peart’s life, and more than a year after his passing, Anderson returned to that unfinished project, with the full support of Peart’s wife, bringing Owen and Marinda’s stories to a satisfying and stirring conclusion.
    Show book
  • The Ex-Wives - cover

    The Ex-Wives

    Deborah Moggach

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The bestselling author of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel “marries comedy and canniness into a novel that’s warm, tolerant, shrewd and exuberant” (The Sunday Times). The demise of Russell Buffery’s latest marriage has put the sixty-one-year-old actor in a reflective mood. After all, his three ex-wives—the journalist, the new-age housewife, the antique dealer—have easily found their way without “Buffy”, and his connections to his children are tenuous at best. Spurned and alone, he still wonders where it all went wrong. Until he meets Celeste . . . Only twenty-three and new to London, the fresh-faced young woman has given Buffy, the hopeless romantic, a new lease on life. But, unknown to Buffy, Celeste has her own agenda. She begins to delve into his past, but discovering each ex-wife leads to another one—not to mention the women on the side. And though Celeste may be in over her head, what is revealed to her will transform her life—and give both her and Buffy a chance to get it right this time around.Praise for Deborah Moggach “Deborah Moggach is brilliant at capturing just the right voice for her characters.” —Cosmopolitan “You’ll be hooked from the first page of this original, funny book . . . Just delicious.” —New Woman “Wonderfully funny.” —Daily Mail “Cracking good dialogue, excellent jokes and laser sharp.” —The Daily Telegraph
    Show book