As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Letting of Blood - cover

A Letting of Blood

Alf Smith

Publisher: Alf Smith

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

SYNOPSIS 
A Letting of Blood 
The story is a grim one; about death by murder and mutilation, in the most callous and wanton circumstances of cruelty.  This account has been written to placate my mind for; although it has been told and retold many times by countless sources, the writers have always gotten it wrong, and this misinformation has annoyed me to such a degree that I now set down this collection of words to correct the failure and misrepresentation of past publications that have contained nothing but a fabrication of truth and a distortion of facts.  
The revelation that I have chronicled involves a character of history who has evolved throughout time into somewhat of a legendary status.  His name is the epitome of the worst kind of bogeyman; which is a common allusion to a fictitious being that is used by adults to frighten children.  However, this is not a story about some category of mythical creature, but a retelling of a collection of evil murders perpetrated upon women in the times of Queen Victoria.  The murderer truly existed in this period and his actual name has never been revealed, due to the fact that he was never captured.  His deeds, however, will forever be preserved in history and, although he has now ceased to exist through the expenditure and passage of time; as must we all; he will always be remembered by the alias by which he was anointed; that nickname being – Jack the Ripper. 
I have been referring to the murderer in the singular manner of speech, as this mode represents the most common principal and underlying fault that has been accepted and used by previous correspondents, who have written about the case studies.  In accepting, quite erroneously, that the inhuman monster of the murders was a singular person, they were utterly mistaken; for it was not one singular individual who committed these atrocities, but instead, the murders were committed by a combination of three people.  
I have decided against writing down the bare facts in just fragmented piecemeal, as this would be exceedingly dry and extremely short for the reader.  Instead, I have consigned the story into a narrative presentation, so as to enhance the flavour of the events that transpired and, in doing so, hope that appreciation can be felt of the true horror that befell this collection of women who were consigned to death by the razor-sharp blades that were held in the hands of their heartless, merciless and cold-blooded killers. 
These murders occurred in a relatively short space of time and, once they had ceased, they were never recontinued.  I have outlined the reason surrounding the stoppage of these events and how this came to be.  I have also furnished details of what manner of future lay in wait for these killers, following their diabolical deeds. 
I apologise for the graphic detail that is outlined within these pages but hope that you can gauge some form of appreciation of how exceptionally evil these creatures of death truly were. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Nose for Danger A - cover

    Nose for Danger A

    Bob Temple

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Explains how Jimmy's allergy helps solve a crime.
    Show book
  • Darth Vader and Son - cover

    Darth Vader and Son

    Jeffrey Brown

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What if Darth Vader took an active role in raising his son? What if "Luke, I am your father" was just a stern admonishment from an annoyed dad? In this hilarious and sweet comic reimagining, Darth Vader is a dad like any other—except with all the baggage of being the Dark Lord of the Sith. Celebrated artist Jeffrey Brown's delightful illustrations give classic Star Wars® moments a fresh twist, presenting the trials and joys of parenting through the lens of a galaxy far, far away. Life lessons include lightsaber batting practice, using the Force to raid the cookie jar, Take Your Child to Work Day on the Death Star ("Er, he looks just like you, Lord Vader!"), and the special bond shared between any father and son.
    Show book
  • Fizzopolis #2: Floozombies! - cover

    Fizzopolis #2: Floozombies!

    Patrick Carman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Harold Fuzzwonker, Floyd, and the Fizzies are under attack: Floozombies have invaded Pflugerville! Bestselling author Patrick Carman and Emmy-winning illustrator Brian Sheesley return with the second book in the hilarious and zany Fizzopolis series, perfect for fans of Big Nate and Stick Dog. 
    What do you get when you mix burptastic Fuzzwonker Fizz with crummy Flooze candy in the Fizzomatic machine? Floozombies, of course! 
    Harold Fuzzwonker, his best good buddy, Floyd, and the Fizzies have a real problem on their hands, in the shape of slimy, gloppy monsters. Not only must Harold protect Floyd and the secret recipe for Fuzzwonker Fizz from the sneaky Snood family, he also has to stop the Floozombies before they take over the town, all while guarding the biggest secret of all: Fizzopolis!
    Show book
  • Adventures of Tom Sawyer The (A Graphic Novel Audio) - Illustrated Classics - cover

    Adventures of Tom Sawyer The (A...

    Mark Twain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mark Twain allows the reader to live life through the eyes of the mischievous Tom Sawyer- the fear of being in the cemetary at the wrong time, the anxiety of being chased by Injun Joe, the excitement of finding buried treasure, the joy of being carefree, and the guilt of hurting Aunt Polly. Join Tom, Huck, Injun Joe, Aunt Polly, and the others on a roller coaster of emotions and excitement without ever leaving your favorite reading chair!
    Show book
  • The Wright Brothers - cover

    The Wright Brothers

    Joe Dunn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Graphic novels aren’t just for superheroes!  The Wright Brothers have been plucked from history books and their lives and accomplishments have been depicted in informative nonfiction graphic novels.   The subjects' birth, childhood, education, and flights have been skillfully told with detailed art.  Further reading lists, timelines, glossaries, and indexes make these titles useful in classroom discussion.
    Show book
  • Your Life Is a Life of Hope! - Thoughts on Things That Make Life Worth Living - cover

    Your Life Is a Life of Hope! -...

    Lord Birthday

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What makes life worth living? If you ask Lord Birthday, the answer is visor hats. And lighthouses. And the stranger who gave him a half-eaten panini on the bus the other day.In Your Life Is a Life of Hope!, the Internet’s favorite mustachioed king presents a series of short, illustrated essays in which he argues for hope by way of absurdity and transcendence by way of the mundane. In his signature childlike, dryly humorous style, Lord Birthday explores the things that make life so great, including jackets and bags and “booping someone on the nose.” Both strange and strangely moving, this collection will delight fans and newcomers alike.
    Show book