Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Sisters of the Cross - cover

Sisters of the Cross

Alexei Remizov

Translator Brian Murphy, Roger Keys

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Thirty-year-old Piotr Alekseevich Marakulin lives a contented, if humdrum life as a financial clerk in a Petersburg trading company. He is jolted out of his daily routine when, quite unexpectedly, he is accused of embezzlement and loses his job. This change of status brings him into contact with a number of women—the titular “sisters of the cross”—whose sufferings will lead him to question the ultimate meaning of the universe. 
The first English translation of this remarkable 1910 novel by Alexei Remizov, an influential member of the Russian Symbolist movement, Sisters of the Cross is a masterpiece of early modernist fiction. In the tradition of Gogol’s Petersburg Tales and Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment, it deploys densely packed psychological prose and fluctuating narrative perspective to tell the story of a “poor clerk” who rebels against the suffering and humiliation afflicting both his own life and the lives of the remarkable women whom he encounters in the tenement building where he lives in Petersburg. The novel reaches its haunting climax at the beginning of the Whitsuntide festival, when Marakulin thinks he glimpses the coming of salvation both for himself and for the “fallen” actress Verochka, the unacknowledged love of his life, in one of the most powerfully drawn scenes in Symbolist literature. Remizov is best known as a writer of short stories and fairy tales, but this early novel, masterfully translated by Roger Keys and Brian Murphy, is perhaps his most significant work of sustained artistic prose.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hawk of the Mind - Collected Poems - cover

    Hawk of the Mind - Collected Poems

    Yang Mu

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Yang Mu is a towering figure in modern Chinese poetry. His poetic voice is subtle and lyrical, and his work is rich with precise images and crystalline thoughts invoking temporality and remembrance. A bold innovator and superb craftsman, he elegantly combines cosmopolitan experimentation with poetic forms and an allusive reverence for classical Chinese poetry while remaining rooted in his native Taiwan and its colonial history. 
    Hawk of the Mind is a comprehensive collection of Yang Mu’s poetry that presents crucial works from the many stages of his long creative career, rendered into English by a team of distinguished translators. It conveys the complexity and beauty of Yang Mu’s work in a stately and lucid English poetic register that displays his ability to range from meditative to playful and colloquial to archaic. The volume includes an editor’s introduction and definitive commentary that offer insights into the poet’s major themes and motifs, explaining how he draws on deep engagement with Chinese and Western literary traditions, history, and art as well as mythology, philosophy, and music and a profound love for the natural world to create a nuanced and multifaceted artistic universe. It also contains translations of prefaces and afterwords written by Yang Mu for collections of his poetry. Hawk of the Mind demonstrates the breadth and depth of Yang Mu’s oeuvre, illustrating the distinctive style and affective power of a great poet.
    Show book
  • Feuding Fan Dancers - Faith Bacon Sally Rand and the Golden Age of the Showgirl - cover

    Feuding Fan Dancers - Faith...

    Leslie Zemeckis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Zemeckis is one of only a few burlesque historians world-wide, and she herself has spent more than a decade performing in burlesque. Zemeckis's last two books on burlesque have been favorably reviewed by The New York Times, Time, NPR, New York Magazine, and in 2014, Zemeckis, also an actress and producer, was profiled in The Huffington Post.
     
    In November 2018, Zemeckis will costar with Steve Carell and Diane Kruger in the new film The Women of Marwen. She also has over 60k followers on Instagram.
     
    Behind the Burly Q, the 2010 documentary based on Zemeckis' book of the same name on the history of burlesque was championed by USA Today and The New Yorker. She wrote, produced, and directed it. Her latest documentary, Bound by Flesh (about vaudeville Siamese twin superstars, Daisy and Violet Hilton) has won multiple awards.
     
    Deeply researched and stylishly written, Feud of the Fan Dancers is the result of several years' worth of research and interviews with the family members of Faith Bacon and Sally Rand.
     
    Zemeckis has a track record of uncovering the forgotten feminist histories from the decades before women's rights, and this book is another on that indomitable trajectory––the story of two notorious women of grit and perseverance in the Golden Age of entertainment
    Show book
  • Help Me! - cover

    Help Me!

    Marianne Power

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I wanted to find out what would happen if I really did follow the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People? Really felt The Power of Now? Could life be transformed? Could I get rich? Skinny? Find love? Be more productive and fulfilled? Because I really did want all the things these books promised. For years Journalist Marianne Power lined her bookshelves with dog-eared copies of definitive guides on how to live your best life, dipping in and out of self-help books when she needed them most. Then, one day, she woke up to find that the life she hoped for and the life she was living were worlds apart—and she set out to make some big changes.Marianne decided to finally find out if her elusive “perfect existence”—the one without debt, anxiety, or hangover Netflix marathons, the one where she healthily bounced around town and met the cashmere-sweater-wearing man of her dreams—really did lie in the pages of our best known and acclaimed self help books. She vowed to test a book a month for one year, following its advice to the letter, taking what she hoped would be the surest path to a flawless new her. But as the months passed and Marianne’s reality was turned upside down, she found herself confronted with a different question: Self-help can change your life, but is it for the better?With humor, audacity, disarming candor and unassuming wisdom, in Help Me Marianne Power plumbs the trials and tests of being a modern woman in a “have it all” culture, and what it really means to be our very best selves.
    Show book
  • Vietnam: Remembrances of a War: With Commentary By Nelson DeMille - cover

    Vietnam: Remembrances of a War:...

    Chuck Mansfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After viewing the 2017 PBS documentary “The Vietnam War” by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick, the author recognized that Americans hold widely varying opinions about the effects and significance of the conflict. Immediately, he anticipated an opportunity to write about an historic event of which he not only knew something but in which he had also participated. Vietnam and what transpired there for millions of Americans, both at home and “in-country,” are distant and increasingly fading memories. The content herein comes from Vietnam War veterans and others, many of whose observations have never before appeared in print, and do not necessarily focus on the Burns-Novick documentary. In addition to new commentary, the author has recycled several earlier writings about his own service in the Marines and Vietnam.
    Show book
  • Sub Tweet - cover

    Sub Tweet

    Sara Schoen, Rena Marin, Hope...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sub Tweet 
    A Crazy Ink Anthology 
    Because someone needs to ask… 
    What's the truth behind the tweets? 
     "Grrrrr."           
    "Some people shouldn't use up oxygen." 
    "So done." 
     
    We've all seen the vague posts and tweets. We've all sat, wondering exactly how we should be responding to the oh-so-distressed regular sub tweeters who use social media as personal diaries aimed at making sure inquiring minds want to know. 
     
    But what's the real story behind the hashtags? 
     
    "Grrrr." (I stubbed my toe). 
    "Some people shouldn't use up oxygen." (Filling up balloons). 
    "So done." (With not getting attention). 
     
    A group of sassy authors will set out on a quest to collect vague book posts and sub tweets and unravel the mystery of all that 'please-ask' drama… 
     
    Sub Tweet, A Crazy Ink Anthology, will leave you fugly laughing, horrified, begging for more, and most certainly, never able to look at a vague status the same way again…
    Show book
  • 24 Days - How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered the Lies that Destroyed Faith in Corporate America - cover

    24 Days - How Two Wall Street...

    Rebecca Smith, John R. Emshwiller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.  
    It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.  
    Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.  
    Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.
    Show book