Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Sisters of the Cross - cover

Sisters of the Cross

Alexei Remizov

Translator Brian Murphy, Roger Keys

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Thirty-year-old Piotr Alekseevich Marakulin lives a contented, if humdrum life as a financial clerk in a Petersburg trading company. He is jolted out of his daily routine when, quite unexpectedly, he is accused of embezzlement and loses his job. This change of status brings him into contact with a number of women—the titular “sisters of the cross”—whose sufferings will lead him to question the ultimate meaning of the universe.  The first English translation of this remarkable 1910 novel by Alexei Remizov, one of the most influential members of the Russian Symbolist movement, Sisters of the Cross is a masterpiece of early modernist fiction. In the tradition of Gogol’s Petersburg Tales and Dostoyevsky’s Crime and Punishment, it deploys densely packed psychological prose and fluctuating narrative perspective to tell the story of a “poor clerk” who rebels against the suffering and humiliation afflicting both his own life and the lives of the remarkable women whom he encounters in the tenement building where he lives in Petersburg. The novel reaches its haunting climax at the beginning of the Whitsuntide festival, when Marakulin thinks he glimpses the coming of salvation both for himself and for the “fallen” actress Verochka, the unacknowledged love of his life, in one of the most powerfully drawn scenes in Symbolist literature. Remizov is best known as a writer of short stories and fairy tales, but this early novel, masterfully translated by Roger Keys and Brian Murphy, is perhaps his most significant work of sustained artistic prose.

Other books that might interest you

  • Armed and Dangerous - The Ultimate Battle Plan for Targeting and Defeating the Enemy - cover

    Armed and Dangerous - The...

    John Ramirez

    • 2
    • 11
    • 0
    Dynamic Battle Plan Identifies Enemy Tactics and Equips Believers to Live VictoriouslyJesus made it clear that the devil has come to steal, kill, and destroy. Hell is ready to unleash fury against every follower of Jesus. Yet many believers live in denial, letting the enemy steal their blessings, destroy their relationship with Jesus, and kill their hope.But no more. It's time to put the enemy on notice!  With passion and insight gained from years on the frontlines of spiritual warfare, John Ramirez equips you with the biblical weapons and practical strategies you need to battle the enemy successfully, including how to· discern and shut down the enemy's tactics and next moves· fight with your God-given authority· break free from destructive patterns and replace them with godly ones· fortify your mind and heart against attacks· take back what the devil has stolen· grow in wisdom and maturity in Christ· and more!Here is everything you need to become armed and dangerous against every adversary that threatens your relationship and growth with Jesus. Through the power of the Holy Spirit you can destroy the power of the enemy and protect all that God has given you.It's time to push back the gates of hell, advance the Kingdom, and live the life God designed you for.
    Show book
  • Child of Promise (Brides of Culdee Creek Book #4) - cover

    Child of Promise (Brides of...

    Kathleen Morgan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Kathleen Morgan's books for the general market have earned rave reviews and hooked thousands of romance fans. Her first inspirational series, Brides of Culdee Creek, has proven successful as well. Woman of Grace and Lady of Light each climbed the CBA Marketplace best-selling fiction list. This new release, Child of Promise, is the final book in the series. 	Beth MacKay, the daughter of Culdee Creek's owner, returns home after completing medical school to take over the aging Doc Childress's practice. Reluctantly,  her life and heart become entwined with that of Grand View's Episcopalian priest, Noah Starr. But Noah struggles with his faith and calling since his wife died and his daughter, Emily, was disabled with cerebral palsy due to the difficult birth.   	When Beth becomes embroiled in a spousal abuse case between two of Noah's parishioners, she encourages the battered woman to leave her husband for her own safety.  Noah cautions the woman to try to work things out, and when the abuse ends in tragedy, it's the last straw for the already-doubtful priest. Despondent and shaken, he announces his resignation to the church. Only with Beth's faith and love, and a little help from the community, can Noah find his way back to the life and calling God has always intended for him.
    Show book
  • Head of the House - cover

    Head of the House

    Grace Livingston Hill

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Jennifer Graeme is just blossoming into womanhood when tragedy befalls her family and she is left in charge of six younger brothers and sisters. Relatives move in to take over the family home and split up the children, and Jennifer feels she has no option but to flee with her siblings, taking refuge on the family's houseboat then at remote mountain cabin. But she will need a miracle to keep the children together and safe. That is when unexpected help steps in.
    Show book
  • The Goodbye Bride - cover

    The Goodbye Bride

    Denise Hunter

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    She only remembers loving him. But he can’t forget the way she left. 
      
    Lucy Lovett can’t remember the last seven months of her life. She doesn’t remember leaving her fiancé Zac Callahan weeks before their wedding or moving to Portland, Maine. And she sure doesn’t remember getting engaged to another man. All she remembers is loving Zac more than life itself. 
      
    Zac was just beginning to get his life back on track after Lucy left him with no explanation. And now she’s back—vulnerable, homeless, and still in love with him. Has he been given a second chance with the only woman who stirs his passion and haunts his dreams? 
      
    Lucy knows she must unlock those missing months and discover why she threw everything away. And Zac knows that if he follows his heart he’ll win back the love of his life—but if Lucy’s memory returns, his would-be bride might say goodbye forever.
    Show book
  • Cloudy Jewel - cover

    Cloudy Jewel

    Grace Livingston Hill

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When One Person’s Trash Becomes Another’s Treasure 
    Mistreated by her selfish sister and in danger of becoming a mere servant, Julia Cloud is saved by her niece and nephew. Both are in college and both are in need of a guiding mother. Julia succeeds in undertaking this role and soon becomes known as ‘Cloudy Jewel.’  
    Xist Publishing is a digital-first publisher. Xist Publishing creates books for the touchscreen generation and is dedicated to helping everyone develop a lifetime love of reading, no matter what form it takes
    Show book
  • Where the Heart Leads - cover

    Where the Heart Leads

    Kim Vogel Sawyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After his graduation from college, Thomas Ollenburger is filled with big dreams and many questions.  What will he do for a career?  Should he marry?  Where will he call home?  Torn between his Mennonite roots on the Kansas prairie and his love for the big city of Boston, as well as his affection for a girl in each location, Thomas is unsure of his place in the world.  He has always sought God's leading in his decision-making, but now it seems as if God is staying silent.  Has Thomas's heart led him astray?
    Show book