Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Sisters of the Cross - cover

Sisters of the Cross

Alexei Remizov

Translator Brian Murphy, Roger Keys

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Thirty-year-old Piotr Alekseevich Marakulin lives a contented, if humdrum life as a financial clerk in a Petersburg trading company. He is jolted out of his daily routine when, quite unexpectedly, he is accused of embezzlement and loses his job. This change of status brings him into contact with a number of women—the titular “sisters of the cross”—whose sufferings will lead him to question the ultimate meaning of the universe. 
The first English translation of this remarkable 1910 novel by Alexei Remizov, an influential member of the Russian Symbolist movement, Sisters of the Cross is a masterpiece of early modernist fiction. In the tradition of Gogol’s Petersburg Tales and Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment, it deploys densely packed psychological prose and fluctuating narrative perspective to tell the story of a “poor clerk” who rebels against the suffering and humiliation afflicting both his own life and the lives of the remarkable women whom he encounters in the tenement building where he lives in Petersburg. The novel reaches its haunting climax at the beginning of the Whitsuntide festival, when Marakulin thinks he glimpses the coming of salvation both for himself and for the “fallen” actress Verochka, the unacknowledged love of his life, in one of the most powerfully drawn scenes in Symbolist literature. Remizov is best known as a writer of short stories and fairy tales, but this early novel, masterfully translated by Roger Keys and Brian Murphy, is perhaps his most significant work of sustained artistic prose.

Other books that might interest you

  • Down and Dirty in the Dordogne - cover

    Down and Dirty in the Dordogne

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the story of how two middle-aged Brits gave up a nice life in Blighty after falling in love with a delightfully dilapidated old French property.
    
     
    It’s no mean feat trying to restore a cavernous barn of a house (hovel) during the worst financial crisis of the modern age, especially when you’re faced with dodgy builders, red tape, rowdy locals, health problems, recalcitrant relatives, a house in England that simply won’t sell, and a multitude of escapologist cats – not to mention some resident skeletons.
    
     
    Andrea Frazer gives the lowdown on the ups and downs that befall two fish out of water as the couple take the plunge and move across the Channel.
    Show book
  • Shadowrun: World of Shadows - Shadowrun Anthology #2 - cover

    Shadowrun: World of Shadows -...

    Chris A. Jackson, Jennifer...

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    DARKNESS EVERYWHERE...  
     
    The Sixth World is a dangerous place, with deadly hazards lurking around every corner. Everywhere shadowrunners go, from the top of the world to the deepest, darkest Sprawl neighborhood, someone’s always looking to make their rep by taking you down.  
     
    World of Shadows is the second anthology of original Shadowrun short stories, each one showcasing some of the most far-flung, treacherous locations around the world. From a scientific mission gone wrong in the snowy wilds of Russia to an AR nightclub in Morocco sheltering runners on the lam to a recovering runner drawn into a deadly web of intrigue in the darkest alleys of Hong Kong, these eighteen original short stories explore exotic settings far off the beaten path. Featuring stories by Michael A. Stackpole, Mel Odom, Jean Rabe, Aaron Rosenberg, Phaedra Weldon, Annie Bellet, Chris A. Jackson and many others, find out what happens when shadowrunners have to battle not only with ever-present threat of the corps and Mr. Johnson, but also the dangers of the very land they stand on.  
     
    Featuring stories by:  
    Michael A. Stackpole  
    Jennifer Brozek  
    Chris A. Jackson  
    Annie Bellet  
    Stephen Dedman  
    Russell Zimmerman  
    Maxwell Alexander Drake  
    Steven S. Long  
    Phaedra Weldon  
    Aaron Rosenberg  
    Thomas Gofton  
    Patrick Goodman  
    Jean Rabe  
    Dylan Birtolo  
    Jason M. Hardy  
    Malik Toms  
    R.L. King  
    Mel Odom 
    Show book
  • The Game - Penetrating the Secret Society of Pickup Artists - cover

    The Game - Penetrating the...

    Neil Strauss

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Hidden somewhere, in nearly every major city in the world, is an underground seduction lair. And in these lairs, men trade the most devastatingly effective techniques ever invented to charm women. This is not fiction. These men really exist. They live together in houses known as Projects. And Neil Strauss, the bestselling author and journalist, spent two years living among them, using the pseudonym Style to protect his real-life identity. The result is one of the most explosive and controversial books of the last decade—guaranteed to change the lives of men and transform the way women understand the opposite sex forever. 
    On his journey from AFC (average frustrated chump) to PUA (pick-up artist) to PUG (pick-up guru), Strauss not only shares scores of original seduction techniques but also has unforgettable encounters with the likes of Tom Cruise, Britney Spears, Paris Hilton, Heidi Fleiss, and Courtney Love. And then things really start to get strange—and passions lead to betrayals lead to violence. The Game is the story of one man's transformation from frog to prince to prisoner in the most unforgettable book of this generation.
    Show book
  • Summary of Shoe Dog - by Phil Knight | Includes Analysis - cover

    Summary of Shoe Dog - by Phil...

    . Instaread

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Summary of Shoe Dog by Phil Knight | Includes Analysis
     
     
     
    Preview:
     
    Shoe Dog is Phil Knight’s memoir about founding his first company, Blue Ribbon; the creation of the Nike sportswear brand; and the lead-up to the initial public offering of Nike, Inc.
     
    In 1962, at 24 years old, Knight decided to pursue a business idea he researched in a Stanford University business class: introducing Japanese running shoes to the United States to compete with dominant European brands. This would require a trip to Japan. Knight wanted to extend this trip into a voyage around the world, so he acquired a loan from his father in Portland, Oregon. Knight planned an itinerary with a friend from Stanford. After a brief stay in Hawaii, Knight continued his journey without his traveling companion. In Japan, Knight met with executives at Onitsuka Tiger shoe company. He offered to become their US distributor as Blue Ribbon Sports. The executives agreed to send him samples…
     
     
     
    PLEASE NOTE: This is summary and analysis of the book and NOT the original book.
     
     
     
    Inside this Instaread Summary of Shoe Dog:
     
     
     
    Summary of the Book
     
    Important People
     
    Character Analysis
     
    Analysis of the Themes and Author’s Style
     
     
     
    About the Author
     
    With Instaread, you can get the key takeaways, summary and analysis of a book in 15 minutes. We read every chapter, identify the key takeaways and analyze them for your convenience.
    Show book
  • Anne Sexton - A Self-Portrait in Letters - cover

    Anne Sexton - A Self-Portrait in...

    Anne Sexton

    • 3
    • 8
    • 0
    A revealing collection of letters from Pulitzer Prize–winning poet Anne Sexton While confessional poet Anne Sexton included details of her life and battle with mental illness in her published work, her letters to family, friends, and fellow poets provide an even more intimate glimpse into her private world. Selected from thousands of letters and edited by Linda Gray Sexton, the poet’s daughter, and Lois Ames, one of her closest friends, this collection exposes Sexton’s inner life from her boarding school days through her years of growing fame and ultimately to the months leading up to her suicide.   Correspondence with writers like W. D. Snodgrass, Robert Lowell, and May Swenson reveals Sexton’s growing confidence in her identity as a poet as she discusses her craft, publications, and teaching appointments. Her private letters chart her marriage to Alfred “Kayo” Sexton, from the giddy excitement following their elopement to their eventual divorce; her grief over the death of her parents; her great love for her daughters balanced with her frustration with the endless tasks of being a housewife; and her persistent struggle with depression. Going beyond the angst and neuroses of her poetry, these letters portray the full complexities of the woman behind the art: passionate, anguished, ambitious, and yearning for connection.
    Show book
  • WhateverLove Is Love - Questioning the Labels We Give Ourselves - cover

    WhateverLove Is Love -...

    Maria Bello

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The acclaimed actress and dedicated activist shares her personal journey of discovery, and destroys outdated ideas about partnership, love and family that will resonate with anyone in an unconventional life situation. 
    Actress and activist Maria Bello made waves with her essay, “Coming Out as a Modern Family,” in the New York Times popular “Modern Love” column, in which she recalled telling her son that she had fallen in love with her best friend, a woman—and her relief at his easy and immediate acceptance with the phrase “Whatever Mom, love is love.” She made a compelling argument about the fluidity of partnerships, and how families today come in a myriad of designs. 
    In her first book, Bello broadens her insights as she examines the idea of partnership in every woman’s life, and her own. She examines the myths that so many of us believe about partnership—that the partnership begins when the sex begins, that partnerships are static, that you have to love yourself before you can be loved, and turns them on their heads. Bello explores how many different relationships—romantic, platonic, spiritual, familial, educational—helped define her life. She encourages women to realize that the only labels we have are the ones we put on ourselves, and the best, happiest partnerships are the ones that make your life better, even if they don’t fit the mold of “typical.” 
    Throughout this powerful and engaging read, Bello shares intimate stories and lessons on how she has come to discover her happiest self, accept who she is, and live honestly and freely, and tells the stories of those who came to her after her Times’ columns, grateful that someone gave voice to their life choices. 
    Whatever...Love Is Love is not a memoir about an actress. It is a frank, raw, and honest book about the way every woman questions the roles she plays in love, work, and life, filled with wisdom, questions, and insights relevant to us all.
    Show book