Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Yoga Teacher - cover

The Yoga Teacher

Alexandra Gray

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This novel of a British woman’s decision to ditch her job and devote herself to yoga is “drolly funny…a winning depiction of a modern spiritual quest” (Kirkus Reviews). 
 
Grace is a pharmaceutical rep, making good money visiting doctors to pitch her company’s latantidepressant, a job that’s been getting sort of…depressing. So is her long-term relationship, which has been slowly fizzling out. The one thing that makes her feel better, that allows her to transcend her unsatisfying life, is yoga class. 
 
Then, inspired by a conversation with Dr. James, a physician interested in Eastern medicine, Grace decides to pursue a new path as a yoga teacher. After a trip to California to study at the White Lotus Foundation, she returns to London to start her new life. But teacher training did not prepare her for the motley crew of students she encounters—the octogenarian industrialist desperate for distraction; the supermodel who indulges yogic aspirations when she tires of kabbalah; the American film star who uses yoga classes to conceal a scandalous affair. Her one solace comes from her correspondence with Dr. James—now in Vietnam on a quest of his own.  
 
 
Both inspiring and hilarious, The Yoga Teacher gently skewers our preference for a quick-fix nirvana over the rigor of practice—as it follows one woman’s search for love and meaning in a world numbed by materialism and psychotropic drugs. 
 
“Gray portrays the world of Westernized yoga, from its true disciples to spandex-wrapped poseurs, in this uplifting tale of starting over…an inspiration for anyone who’s ever yearned to pursue a dream.”—Publishers Weekly

Other books that might interest you

  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    When Rosie Anderson's boss suddenly assigns her to go incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being shut down, her dreams of a Christmas holiday with her son are shattered. And, for the life of her, Rosie has no idea why she's got to go.
     
    It's chaos from the start – after hours in the car, Rosie arrives at the inn to find that there are no rooms left. She isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale.
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer 
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic Hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book
  • What’s the Matter with Mary Jane? - An Epitome Apartments Mystery - cover

    What’s the Matter with Mary...

    Candas Jane Dorsey

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A wise-cracking, grammar-obsessed, pansexual amateur sleuth is thrust into the world of the uber-rich when her enigmatic, now-famous childhood friend breezes back into her life begging for help with a dangerous stalker
    		 
    Our nameless postmodern amateur sleuth is still recovering from her first dangerous foray into detective work when her old friend Priscilla Jane Gill breezes back into her life and begs for help. Pris, now a famous travel writer, fears she’s being stalked again after a nearly fatal attack by a deranged fan a year earlier. In Pris’s dizzying world of wealth and privilege, nameless meets dreamy but sinister tech billionaire Nathan and his equally unnerving sidekick Chiles. Pris’s stalker is murdered outside her book launch, and the shadow of obsession continues to stalk Pris. With no one she can totally trust, nameless knows she’s not going to like the answer — but she delves into her old friend’s past, seeking the mastermind behind Pris’s troubles before it’s too late. Bunnywit does his level best to warn them, but no one else speaks Cat, so background peril transforms into foreground betrayal and murder.
    		 
    In the second installation of the Epitome Apartments Mystery Series, our heroine walks a dangerous path in a world where money is no object and the stakes are higher, and more personal, than ever.
    Show book
  • Outraged - Why Everyone is Shouting and No One is Talking - cover

    Outraged - Why Everyone is...

    Ashley 'Dotty' Charles

    • 4
    • 7
    • 1
    'The powerful new voice of her generation' 
    The Times 
     
    'Funny, nuanced and wonderful'  
    Jon Ronson 
     
    'A book that had me hollering, nodding and questioning at the same time'  
    Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie 
     
    ------- 
     
    A candid exploration of the state of outrage in our culture, and how we can channel it back into the fights that matter, from presenter and DJ Ashley 'Dotty' Charles. 
      
    In this wise and very funny journey into the outrage industry, Ashley 'Dotty' Charles explores how by shouting about everything, we have lost sight of the fights that actually matter - and created a world where our outrage feels with consequence. 
     
    Here's how we can get it back on track. 
     
    ------- 
     
    'Funny, educational, enlightening . . . Way ahead of its time' Chris Evans 
     
    'A smart and timely manifesto for surviving the age of rage' i 
     
    'Everyone with a social media account should read this book' Bella Mackie 
     
    'A swipe at the empty rhetoric of activism' Observer
    Show book