Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Diabolical Plots: The First Years - Diabolical Plots Anthology Series #1 - cover

Diabolical Plots: The First Years - Diabolical Plots Anthology Series #1

Alex Shvartsman, H.E. Roulo, Tina Gower, Rachael K. Jones, Katie O'Connor, Khaalidah Muhammad-Ali, Chloe N. Clark, Henry Szabranski, Suzan Palumbo, Daniel Ausema, Rachel Reddick, Lee Budar-Danoff, Hope Erica Schultz, Adam Gaylord, Thomas Berubeg, Joshua Gage, Davian Aw, J.D. Carelli, PC Keeler, Emma McDonald, Rebecca Fraimow, Andy Dudak, Coral Moore

Publisher: David Steffen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This anthology collects all 25 original stories from the first two years of Diabolical Plots, an online magazine of science fiction and fantasy, with a preference for the weird.  Evangelist Roombas, cybernetic giraffes, psychosomatic hair syndrome, sentient ships who must maintain their human ecosystems inside them for their own health.  The stories vary from humorous to tragic to thoughtful, from contemporary authors both new and established. 
The stories in this anthology are: 
"The Osteomancer's Husband" by Henry Szabranski 
"Bloody Therapy" by Suzan Palumbo 
"The Banshee Behind Beamon's Bakery" by Khaalidah Muhammad-Ali 
"The Blood Tree War" by Daniel Ausema 
"Giraffe Cyborg Cleans House!" by Matthew Sanborn Smith 
"May Dreams Shelter Us" by Kate O'Connor 
"Not a Bird" by H.E. Roulo 
"In Memoriam" by Rachel Reddick 
"Virtual Blues" by Lee Budar-Danoff 
"The Princess in the Basement" by Hope Erica Schultz 
"The Superhero Registry" by Adam Gaylord 
"The Grave Can Wait" by Thomas Berubeg 
"The Weight of Kanzashi" by Joshua Gage 
"One's Company" by Davian Aw 
"The Avatar In Us All" by J.D. Carelli 
"Do Not Question the University" by PC Keeler 
"Curl Up and Dye" by Tina Gower 
"October's Wedding of the Month" by Emma McDonald 
"The Schismatic Element Aboard Continental Drift" by Lee Budar-Danoff 
"A Room For Lost Things" by Chloe N. Clark 
"Further Arguments in Support of Yudah Cohen's Proposal to Bluma Zilberman" by Rebecca Fraimow 
"Future Fragments, Six Seconds Long" by Alex Shvartsman 
"Taste the Whip" by Andy Dudak 
"Sustaining Memory" by Coral Moore 
"St. Roomba's Gospel" by Rachael K. Jones

Other books that might interest you

  • Vampires of Portlandia - cover

    Vampires of Portlandia

    Jason Tanamor

    • 2
    • 13
    • 1
    When Marcella Leones relocates her family of aswang vampires from the Philippines to Portland, Oregon, she raises her grandchildren under strict rules so humans will not expose them. Her only wish is to give them a peaceful life, far away from the hunters and the Filipino government that attempted to exterminate them.
    
    Before she dies, she passes on the power to her eldest grandchild, Percival. He vows to uphold the rules set forth by Leones, allowing his family to roam freely without notice. After all, they are aswangs.
    
    However, when the aswang covenant is broken, the murder rate in Portland rises drastically. Who is behind the murders? And who is behind the broken covenant? Along with sensie Penelope Jane, Percival must find the truth.
    
    It's then they discover that there are other breeds of aswangs—werebeasts, witches, ghouls, and viscera—who have been residing in Portland for years.
    
    Based on Filipino folklore (aswang), “Vampires of Portlandia” is a fantastical tale of different monsters coexisting in the weirdest city in America.
    Show book
  • Demon Jack - cover

    Demon Jack

    Patrick Donovan

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Hell is what you make of it.
    
    Fifteen years ago, Jack died and was presented with a simple choice: stay dead and go to Hell or sell his soul to a demon and keep living. Now, soulless and out of prison, Jack is living as a drifter in the streets of Boston, trying desperately to be nobody.
    
    It's all working out until Jack's only friend turns on him, possessed by something far worse than the demon holding the contract to his soul. It’s only the beginning of the nightmare: dragged out of the shadows by an ancient order with roots in the Inquisition, Jack is blackmailed into hunting down whatever’s turning Boston's homeless into ravenous killers.
    
    Paired with a centuries-old witch, Jack is in a race to track down what's killing his people, all while staying one step ahead of his own brutal past.
    Show book
  • Boundless - A Drizzt Novel - cover

    Boundless - A Drizzt Novel

    R. A. Salvatore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This second book in New York Times bestselling author R. A. Salvatore’s all-new Forgotten Realms trilogy—full of swordplay, danger, and imaginative thrills—features one of fantasy’s most beloved and enduring characters, Drizzt Do’Urden. 
     
    Split between time and two worlds, Zaknafein had always been conflicted. That inner turmoil was magnified by his inferior position as a male dark elf in the matriarchal drow society. Only his status as one of the greatest warriors—as well as his friendship with the mercenary Jarlaxle—kept him sane. When he finally perished, he was content knowing he left behind a legacy as substantial as his son Drizzt. 
    Except . . . someone isn’t ready for Zaknafein to be dead. And now he’s back, hundreds of years later, in a world he doesn’t recognize. His son’s companions are not the prideful—and bigoted—males the drow warrior was accustomed to in his previous life. Drizzt’s circle includes dwarves, elves, and, perhaps worst of all, a human wife. 
    Struggling to navigate this transformed new world, Zaknafein realizes that some things have not changed: the threat of demons and the machinations of a drow matron no longer content with her family’s position in the ranks of Houses. 
    Though he has been displaced in time, Zaknafein is still a warrior. And no matter what prejudices he must overcome, he knows he will do his duty and fight by Drizzt’s side to stem the tide of darkness that threatens the Realms.
    Show book
  • City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story - cover

    City of Wishes: The Complete...

    Rachel Morgan

    • 8
    • 62
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: A human slave, a fae prince, and a Godmother who’ll grant any wish—if you pay the price.
     
     
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where magic is real and wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is on society's bottommost rung: she's human.
     
    To make matters worse, she's also a slave, bound to her stepmother by magic.
     
    Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it.
     
    But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep.
     
    Elle has never been desperate enough to summon her.
     
    Until now.
     
     
     
    This collection includes all 6 episodes in the CITY OF WISHES Cinderella retelling:
     
    1. The Memory Thief
     
    2. The Vampire Trap
     
    3. The Moonlight Masquerade
     
    4. The Eternal Night
     
    5. The Starlight Quest
     
    6. The Everafter Wish
    Show book
  • The Ledberg Runestone - cover

    The Ledberg Runestone

    Patrick Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of Demon Jack delivers the first novel ina daring Southern urban fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and M.D. Massey.Magic: To some, it’s spectacle. To Jonah, it’s pure profit.A shaman for hire, Jonah can tap into his powers as easily as turning on a light switch, but the real money is in putting on a show. And after putting himself in debt to the Carver brothers, Asheville’s version of a mafia, in order to save his father’s business, he’s in need of some real money. Then a mysterious woman makes Jonah a staggering offer: $20,000—to find and deliver the Ledberg runestone, a legendary artifact of Norse myth. He’s suspicious of the case and the buyer, but when the Carvers threaten Jonah’s father if they don’t get their payment within the month, Jonah starts his investigation. As he explores Asheville’s seedy magical underbelly, Jonah discovers he’s not alone on the hunt. Will Jonah survive long enough to save his father, or will his past of swindling mortals and dodging debt collectors finally catch up with him? “The plot itself is fun . . . We have twists and an exceptional one at the end; but what holds it together is this unique character and the foundations it lays for something truly epic to come.”—Fangs for the Fantasy
    Show book
  • Ayesha - The Return of She - cover

    Ayesha - The Return of She

    H. Rider Haggard

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the author of the long-running Allan Quatermain series: The sequel to She is a fantasy classic and one of the bestselling books of all time.   In the sequel to She, Horace Holly and his ward, Leo Vincey, embark on a quest through Tibet to find the mysterious woman known as Ayesha. Though an abbot warns them not to continue, Horace and Leo press on to discover the ancient city of Kaloon, ruled by the evil Khan Rassen and his imperious wife, Khania Atene, whose desire for Leo sparks a rivalry with the volcano-dwelling Priestess of Hes . . .
    Show book