Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Swedish Girl - A DCI Lorimer Novel - cover

The Swedish Girl - A DCI Lorimer Novel

Alex Gray

Publisher: Witness Impulse

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Murdered in cold blood . . . And she wouldn’t be the last. 
When Kirsty Wilson lands a room in a luxury Glasgow flat owned by Swedish student Eva Magnusson, she can’t believe her luck. But Kirsty’s delight turns to terror when she finds the beautiful Swedish girl lying dead in their home and their male roommate accused of her murder. Kirsty refuses to accept that he is guilty and, inspired by family friend Detective Superintendent Lorimer, sets out to clear his name. 
Meanwhile, Lorimer calls on trusted psychologist Solly Brightman to help unravel the truth behind the enigmatic Eva’s life and death. But it is not long until another woman, bearing an uncanny resemblance to Eva, is brutally murdered. Horrified, Lorimer realizes that Kirsty could be right. Is it possible that Glasgow’s finest detective has put the wrong man behind bars? And is there a cold-blooded killer out there orchestrating the death of the next innocent victim?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Good Cop - cover

    The Good Cop

    Peter Steiner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Munich, 1920. Detective Willi Geismeier has a problem: how do you uphold the law when the law goes bad? The First World War has been lost and Germany is in turmoil. The new government in Berlin is weak. The police and courts are corrupt. Fascists and Communists are fighting in the streets. People want a savior, someone who can make Germany great again. To many, Adolf Hitler seems perfect for the job.
    When the offices of a Munich newspaper are bombed, Willi Geismeier investigates, but as it gets political, he is taken off the case. Willi continues to ask questions, but when his pursuit of the truth itself becomes a crime, his career – and his life – are in grave danger.
    Show book
  • House of the Red Slayer - A Brother Athelstan Medieval Mystery 2 - cover

    House of the Red Slayer - A...

    Paul Doherty

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    December, 1377.  A great frost has London in its icy grip; even the Thames is frozen bank to bank. The Constable of the Tower of London, Sir Ralph Witton, is found murdered in a cold, bleak chamber in the North Bastion.  The door is still locked from the inside and guarded by trusted retainers. So how did the assassins slip across a frozen moat to climb the sheer wall to commit such a dreadful crime? Appointed to investigate, Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranston soon discover that Sir Ralph’s murder is only the first in a series of macabre killings which have their roots in a terrible act of betrayal committed many years previously.
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book
  • Cullen and Cobb Mysteries 4-Book Bundle - None So Deadly Last Song Sung Dead Air Serpents Rising - cover

    Cullen and Cobb Mysteries 4-Book...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A private investigator and a journalist team up in Calgary to fight for justice. Read all four books in the exciting western crime series. 
     
    
    
    Serpents Rising — book #1 
    
    Private investigator Mike Cobb and journalist Adam Cullen take on twin investigations that take them onto Calgary’s meanest streets on the trail of a runaway and a killer. 
     
    
    
    Dead Air — book #2 
    
    Someone is killing big name right-wing media personalities. When ex-cop Mike Cobb is hired as a bodyguard for a conservative radio superstar, he and his partner, crime journalist Adam Cullen, are thrust into the line of fire. 
     
    
    
    Last Song Sung — book #3 
    
    Cullen and Cobb are back to investigate the 1965 disappearance of a folk singer. Kidnapped from the alley behind a folk club, her bandmates shot and killed, Ellie Foster’s whereabouts have remained a mystery for fifty years. Hired by Ellie’s granddaughter, Cullen and Cobb travel into the past to unearth long-buried secrets. 
     
    
    
    None So Deadly — book #4 
    
    The brutal killing of a police investigator obsessed with Faith Unruh’s murder has put the ex-cop–private eye and former crime writing journalist back on the killer’s trail — and directly in the line of fire.
    Show book
  • Remains of Innocence - A Brady Novel of Suspense - cover

    Remains of Innocence - A Brady...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Sheriff Joanna Brady must solve two perplexing cases that may be tied together in New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance’s thrilling tale of suspense that brings to life Arizona’s Cochise County and the desert Southwest in all its beauty and mystery. 
    An old woman, a hoarder, is dying of emphysema in Great Barrington, Massachusetts. In cleaning out her house, her daughter, Liza Machett, discovers a fortune in hundred dollar bills hidden in the tall stacks of books and magazines that crowd every corner. 
    Tracing the money’s origins will take Liza on a journey that will end in Cochise County, where Sheriff Joanna Brady is embroiled in a personal mystery of her own. A man she considers a family friend is found dead at the bottom of a hole in a limestone cavern near Bisbee. And now there is the mystery of Liza and the money. Are the two disparate cases connected? It’s up to Joanna to find out.
    Show book
  • Blue Water - cover

    Blue Water

    Joseph Parcell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Emily Hunter is a woman suffering. She is finally making strides at living independently after being mandated to residential psychiatric care for most of her adult life. Now, holding down a night shift job, taking her medication regularly, and meeting with her therapist twice a week, she's finally on solid ground — or so she thinks. Amongst Emily’s frequent delusions is a hallucination of a little girl in purple pajamas that she has come to call “Carrot.” In the past, Emily believed that Carrot was real, and that the little girl desperately needed help. Her visions of this child have always been strong and surreal. Now they're becoming too powerful to ignore. Carrot is guiding Emily.  Determined to find the answers, Emily starts down a deadly and terrifying path, following Carrot into madness.
    Show book