Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Bhoy Called Bertie - My Life and Times Bertie Auld with Alex Gordon - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

A Bhoy Called Bertie - My Life and Times Bertie Auld with Alex Gordon

Alex Gordon, Bertie Auld

Publisher: Black & White Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Celtic legend Bertie Auld is one of the most controversial and colourful characters in Scottish football history. Over the passing decades, he has steadfastly refused to discuss his remarkable lifetime in the game - until now. In A Bhoy Called Bertie, the legendary Lisbon Lion lifts the lid on his life and career and reveals the secrets that will astonish supporters everywhere, including: • His rise to the pinnacle of European soccer from the abject poverty of a childhood in war-torn Glasgow • The truth behind his return to Celtic and the man who really signed him • His unique and often stormy relationship with Jock Stein • How he got sent off in his international debut for Scotland • How the Lisbon Lions really beat Inter Milan in the European Cup Final in 1967 - without kicking a ball • The day he was sent off in the biggest game in Celtic's history - and refused to go • What really went wrong when favourites Celtic flopped in the 1970 European Final • The men he rated - and hated - in football • The Old Firm battles and what really happened during and after these confrontations • His amazing times as a manager at Hibs, Partick Thistle, Hamilton and Dumbarton and his feuds with the chairmen Bertie Auld's autobiography is every bit as explosive and volatile as the man himself. He never shirked a tackle as a player and there are still no holds barred long after the boots have been put away. It's a sensational read for Celtic fans everywhere.
Available since: 10/08/2009.

Other books that might interest you

  • Anatomy of Greed - The Unshredded Truth from an Enron Insider - cover

    Anatomy of Greed - The...

    Brian Cruver

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Brian Cruver first entered the "Death Star," Enron's office complex, in March 2001. He was twenty-nine years old, an eager MBA ready to cash in as a new hire with one of America's most highly valued companies. But, from his first day-when his new boss warned him, "there was a mix-up in the hiring process," but that it was "no big deal...just think of it like you're adopted"-to his last, when he and his colleagues were given thirty minutes to leave the building, Cruver found himself enmeshed in a business cult that each day grew only more bizarre. 
     
    With dark humor and page-turning momentum, Cruver lays out firsthand: the giddy group-think nurtured by Enron's leadership, whose incessant cheerleading for the company's stock price rendered many Enronians unable to believe that they were routinely being spoon-fed lies; the "rank and yank" peer review process that fostered horse-trading among managers over which employees would be given poor evaluations; the traders who made dubious deals to ensure their own lucrative bonuses; and the sinister designs and funding of Enron's fraudulent off-the-books partnerships. As Cruver probes the sleazy escapades that Enron executives milked for personal gain, he introduces us, up close and personal, to such storied figures as Ken Lay, Jeff Skilling, and Andy Fastow, along with other important Enron personalities like Rebecca Mark; Lou Pai; Thomas White, George W. Bush's Secretary of the Army; Joe Sutton; the "Mr. Blue," a disillusioned Enron executive; and Cruver's trading floor neighbor, a machine he christened "Sherman the Shredder"-who was always working overtime. 
     
    Cruver's day-by-day chronicle, which includes a running stock ticker to show the trajectory of Enron's collapse, is instantly reminiscent of such bestsellers as Liar's Poker and Barbarians at the Gate. Told in a fresh, empathetic voice, Anatomy of Greed is brimming with grist for political pundits and comic relief for victims of corporate collateral damage. It is also the personal story of a young executive, a Houston native, whose dream job and dream company crashed around him in an avalanche of lies and greed. From the wreckage, this newly hardened veteran of the corporate wars has written a cautionary tale that our leaders must heed-or imperil us all to future disasters.
    Show book
  • Light and Peace: Instructions for Devout Souls to Dispel Their Doubts and Allay Their Fears - cover

    Light and Peace: Instructions...

    Carlo Giuseppe Quadrupani

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Padre Quadrupani was an Italian priest and member of the Clerics Regular of St. Paul, also known as the Barnabites, from their association with St. Barnabas Catholic Church in Milan, Italy. Quadrupani's spirituality is based on that of the illustrious Doctor of the Church, St. Francis de Sales (1567-1622). Like St. Francis, the Padre offers spiritual advice that is practical and balanced. Perhaps it is owing to this that Quadrupani's treatise has been so well received by Catholic laypersons and has been recommended by numerous bishops over the years. This English edition, Light and Peace, is introduced by The Most Rev. Patrick John Ryan, Archbishop of Philadelphia, and bears an imprimatur. It is generously augmented with excerpts from the writings of St. Francis de Sales, St. Augustine, St. Thomas Aquinas, St. Bernard, Pope St. Gregory the Great, St. Philip Neri, Archbishop Francois Fenelon, Father Lorenzo Scupoli, and other spiritual authorities. (Summary by dave7)
    Show book
  • Amazing Inventors: A2 (Collins Amazing People ELT Readers) - cover

    Amazing Inventors: A2 (Collins...

    Silvia Tiberio, Fiona MacKenzie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The inspiring stories of 6 people who changed history. 
    Contents: 
    Johannes Gutenberg, inventor of the printing press 
    Louis Braille, creator of an alphabet for blind people 
    Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone 
    Thomas Edison, inventor of the electric light bulb 
    Guglielmo Marconi, inventor of the wireless system 
    John Logie Baird, inventor of the television 
    BRITISH ENGLISH 
    Word count: 6,805 
    Headword count: 726 
    PLUS: visit www.collinselt.com/readers for videos, teacher resources and self-study materials. 
    This book is Level 1 in the Collins ELT Readers series. 
    Level 1 is equivalent to CEF level A2. 
    About the Amazing People series: 
    A unique opportunity for learners of English to read about the exceptional lives and incredible abilities of some of the most insightful people the world has seen. 
    Each book contains six short stories, told by the characters themselves, as if in their own words. The stories explain the most significant parts of each character’s life, giving an insight into how they came to be such an important historic figure. 
    After each story, a timeline presents the most major events in their life in a clear and succinct fashion. The timeline is ideal for checking comprehension or as a basis for project work or further research. 
    Created in association with The Amazing People Club. 
    About Collins ELT Readers: 
    Collins ELT Readers are divided into four levels: 
    Level 1 – elementary (A2) 
    Level 2 – pre-intermediate (A2–B1) 
    Level 3 – intermediate (B1) 
    Level 4 – upper intermediate (B2) 
    Each level is carefully graded to ensure that the learner both enjoys and benefits from their reading experience.
    Show book
  • Foul Deeds & Suspicious Deaths in the Cotswolds - cover

    Foul Deeds & Suspicious Deaths...

    Nell Darby

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Foul Deeds and Suspicious Deaths in the Cotswolds explores the dark history of this famously picturesque region of England. Behind the picture-postcard idyll, everyday life in this largely rural area saw murders, beatings, jealousy and alcohol-fuelled crimes. Nell Darby's book examines a selection of these shocking events in vivid detail. Drawing on contemporary sources, newspapers and prison records, she gives a fascinating insight into life and death in the surprisingly turbulent past of the Cotswolds. The cases she reconstructs come from all over the region—the towns, the villages, the countryside. They show how Cotswold people carried out violent crimes regardless of their location and upbringing—from unemployed farmers' sons to educated surgeons, dark deeds were committed by individuals from all walks of life. They also reveal the criminal consequences of greed, madness, malice, carelessness and drink. Women were involved almost as often as men, as victims and as perpetrators.Nell Darby's thoroughly researched and sympathetically written anthology of Cotswold cases be compelling reading for anyone who lives in the area or is interested in its history.
    Show book
  • Getting the Pretty Back - Friendship Family and Finding the Perfect Lipstick - cover

    Getting the Pretty Back -...

    Molly Ringwald

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The iconic Molly Ringwald shares intimate stories and candid advice in this fun, stylish, and sexy girlfriend's guide to life. 
    To her millions of fans Molly Ringwald will forever be sixteen. As the endearing and witty star of the beloved John Hughes classics Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, and Pretty in Pink, Molly defined teenage angst, love, and heartbreak. While remembered eternally as the enviable high school princess Claire, or the shyly vulnerable Samantha, Molly is now a wife and mother, and just celebrated her fortieth birthday. Facing a completely new, angst-inducing time in her life, she is embracing being a woman, wife, mother of three, actress, and best friend with her trademark style, candor, and humor. 
    In this book Molly encourages every woman to become ""the sexiest, funniest, smartest, best-dressed, and most confident woman that you can be"" by sharing personal anecdotes and entertaining insights about the struggle to get through the murky milestones and identity issues that crop up long after prom ends. Whether she's discussing sex and beauty, personal style, travel and entertaining, motherhood, or friendship, Molly embodies the spirit of being fabulous at every age, and reminds us all that prettiness is a state of mind: it's ""the part of you that knows what you really want, that takes risks."" 
    Getting the Pretty Back is sure to charm women of all ages with its unforgettably personal, refreshingly outspoken take on life, love, and, of course, finding that perfect red lipstick. . . .
    Show book
  • A Child of the East End - cover

    A Child of the East End

    Jean Fullerton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Child of the East End is an eye-opening, heartfelt and atmospheric portrait of life in the East End after the war, and is perfect for fans of My East End by Gilda O'Neill, Four Meals for Fourpence by Grace Foakes and Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth. 
     
    Life in Cockney London was tough in the post-war years. The government's broken promises had led to a chronic housing shortage, rampant crime and families living in squalor. But one thing prevailed: the unbeatable spirit of the East End, a tight-knit community who pulled through the dark times with humour and heart. Drawing on both family history and her own memories of growing up in the 1950s and '60s, as well as her working life as a district nurse and local police officer, Jean Fullerton vividly depicts this fascinating part of London - from tin baths, to jellied eels, to tigers in a Wapping warehouse.
    Show book