Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Massacre of the Mermaids - cover

The Massacre of the Mermaids

Alessandro Manzetti

Publisher: Kipple Officina Libraria

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From the Bram Stoker Awards® nominee Alessandro Manzetti comes a new horror, weird, gory, and dystopian short story collection. “The Massacre of the Mermaids” includes six visionary and disturbing stories set in the future and the past: the apocalyptic and bloody Rome dominated by the first She-Pope who organizes shocking exhibitions in the new Coliseum; the bloody and cannibalistic Jerusalem during the First Crusade with gangs of rapists, criminals, and anthropophagy addicts; the future ultra-violent district Paris Sud 5 with a human landfill; the Nakara, a slaughterhouse-prison dug into the bowels of the moon, the first organized human breeding in history, managed by the diabolic Slicer; and the subterranean rooms of Mictlan, the Aztec hell that destroys Spanish victims, sacrificing them through unthinkable and brutal rites. “The Massacre of the Mermaids” will leave you breathless. The limit has never been so violated.
The Author
Alessandro Manzetti: Horror, science fiction, weird fiction, and dark poetry writer, his published work in Italian includes novels, long fiction, short story collections, and collections of dark poetry, as well as many short stories published in anthologies. English publications include The Shaman and Other Shadows, Venus Intervention with Corrine De Winter as co-author, Dark Gates with Paolo Di Orazio as co-author, and stories and poems that appeared in both print and online USA and UK magazines. His dark poetry collection Venus Intervention was nominated for the Bram Stoker Awards 2014 and the Elgin Award 2015. His poem “The Man Who Saw the World” was nominated for the Rhysling Award 2015 and his poem “Interiora” received the Sinister Poetry Award 2014. He lives in Rome, Italy.

Who read this book also read:

  • One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 12
    • 0
    No one does wickedly funny and irresistibly steamy like New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands—especially in this red-hot romance between a reluctant vampire and the beauty who needs his help. 
    Luck be a vampire tonight . . . 
    When Nicole Phillips agreed to hire a housekeeper, she pictured someone a little frumpy and almost certainly female. Instead, she gets gorgeous, unmistakably male Jake Colson. The man is proving indispensable in the kitchen—and everywhere else. Except Jake might not be a mortal man at all. 
    . . . and every night 
    Who wouldn't want to be a tall, dark, powerful vampire?Jake, for one. He's barely had time to adjust to his newstate before he's roped into a family favor. Still, secretly playing bodyguard to sweet, sexy Nicole is turning out to be the wildest ride of his life. First, he'll put a stop to whoever's targeting her. Then he'll prove that this kind of love, and luck, happens only once in an eternity.
    Show book
  • Tall Dark & Hungry - cover

    Tall Dark & Hungry

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 7
    • 0
    “Take a bite into fresh, fun vampire comedy…read Lynsay Sands.”—Carly Phillips Nobody does vampire romance quite like Lynsay Sands! Tall, Dark & Hungry is the fourth book in her insanely popular Argeneau vampire series—and she brilliantly blends laughter with steamy passion in this story about a British lass who falls hard for a tasty immortal in-law she meets when she crosses the ocean to attend a cousin’s New York wedding. Paranormal romance is hot, hot, hot! And Lynsay Sands is not only one of the pioneer authors of this subgenre…she’s one of the very best!
    Show book
  • Bitten By Cupid - cover

    Bitten By Cupid

    Lynsay Sands, Pamela Palmer,...

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    Just in time for Valentine’s Day, there’s Bitten by Cupid, a trio of sinfully hot novellas from three true masters of paranormal romance. These are contemporary love stories with a bite—as Lynsay Sands, New York Times bestselling author of The Renegade Hunter and the popular Argeneau vampire series, joins exciting up-and-comers Pamela Palmer and Jamie Rush to explore the passions of sexy shape-shifters, genetically enhanced humans, and (of course) the undead. Fans of Heroes, The X-Files, Fringe, and Torchwood will surely catch the love bug once they are Bitten by Cupid.
    Show book
  • The Whispered Tales of Graves Grove - cover

    The Whispered Tales of Graves Grove

    Kelsey Keating, J.S. Bailey

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Graves Grove isn’t your ordinary town…  
    Nestled within the folds of the Canadian Rockies, Graves Grove probably isn’t the picturesque place you’d like to stay for long. Peculiar things happen here. The citizens seem normal superficially—they function well enough. But each one is deeply disturbed, wrapped in secrets and neuroses which drive them to strange behaviors.  
    And then there are all the missing children. And why is everyone afraid of that sycamore tree?  
    The Whispered Tales of Graves Grove is an anthology of stories taking place throughout the history of this mysterious town, from its founding to its future. Read them…if you dare.
    Show book
  • Vampire Most Wanted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Most Wanted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 14
    • 0
    Take a road trip with the undead . . . in this latest in the Argeneau series by New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    For Basha Argeneau, anything is better than facing her estranged family. Even hiding out in sweltering southern California. But when a sexy immortal in black shows up determined to bring her back to the clan, she'll do anything to keep far, far away from the past she can't outrun. 
    Marcus Notte isn't here to play games—especially not with someone as crazy as the infamous blonde. Asked by Lucian Argeneau to bring her back for questioning, Marcus is determined to carry out Lucian's request—no matter how the seductive little mind-reading vamp feels about it. 
    Basha doesn't mind fighting fire with fire, especially with a hot immortal involved. But if he wants to take her away, he'll have to catch her first . . .
    Show book
  • The Immortal Hunter - A Rogue Hunter Novel - cover

    The Immortal Hunter - A Rogue...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    Even vampires need a vacation. But Decker Argeneau's ends abruptly when he's asked to help hunt the group of rogue vampires targeting mortals -- one that might include a defector in his own family. Before he can worry about that, though, he's got to rescue the latest victim. It's all part of the job, including taking a bullet for a beautiful doctor. 
    Dr. Danielle McGill doesn't know if she can trust the man who just saved her life. There are too many questions, such as what is the secret organization he says he's part of, and why do his wounds hardly bleed? However, with her sister in the hands of some dangerous men, she doesn't have much choice but to trust him. 
    Except now Decker's talking about life mates and awakening a passion that's taking Dani beyond anything she's ever known. Being undead may not be half-bad...especially if it means spending forever with a man who would love her with his mind, body, and immortal soul.
    Show book