Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Crome Yellow - cover

Crome Yellow

Aldous Huxley

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An intellectual summer party at an English country house is satirized with “ingenuity, sophistication [and] impudence” by the author of A Brave New World (H. L. Mencken).When young poet Denis Stone is invited to a party at Crome, country home of Priscilla and Henry Wimbush, he is eager to join their coterie of authors and intellectuals. The Wimbushes are famous for gathering stimulating company for extended stays. But between the philosophizing and witty repartee, drunken reveries and amorous adventures are also afoot. Denis is secretly in love with his hosts’ niece Anne Wimbush. Anne, however, seems more interested in an artist named Gombauld. Meanwhile, a naïve flapper is determined to overcome her sexual repressions, Priscilla finds a kindred spirit in her fascination with occultism, and a solitary young woman records her devastating observations in a journal.
Available since: 07/14/2020.
Print length: 183 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fibber McGee and Molly: Women Taking OverVaccum Cleaner - cover

    Fibber McGee and Molly: Women...

    Don Quinn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fibber is dismayed to see women taking over all the men's jobs in Wistful Vista.
    Show book
  • Humor Deeper Than A Holler - cover

    Humor Deeper Than A Holler

    Lucius McCray, Gary

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Enjoy another down-home anthology of humor, misadventure, and common-sense country insight. Travel from the farm to the city and the mountains to the coast. Join Lucius as he crosses paths with cabin loving bears and beer loving motorcycle enthusiasts. Follow his coastal escapades as he ponders tourists, encounters coed minstrels, and outruns a Carolina hurricane. Contemplate with our hillbilly as he experiences a first-hand miracle and tangles with specters and spooks. Carolina laughter and a few thrills await.
    Show book
  • Abbott and Costello: Incorrigible - cover

    Abbott and Costello: Incorrigible

    John Grant, Bud Abbott

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After a fight, Bud threatens to leave Lou and break up the act. Costello goes to sleep and dreams about the past.
    Show book
  • Twisted Agenda: Shocking Page-Turning International Crime Thriller - cover

    Twisted Agenda: Shocking...

    Damian McNicholl

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'A compelling and entertaining romp... thoroughly engrossing.' --Patricia Wood, shortlisted for the 2008 Orange Prize 
    'A beautifully paced and balanced novel.' --Seamus Deane, Booker Prize shortlistee 
    Desperate to escape his predetermined existence, Danny decides to break out from life in Northern Ireland, and move to London. He then meets Piper, a friendly and outgoing American girl on a quest of her own. 
    Two very different worlds are thrown together as Danny is willingly absorbed into unfamiliar territory. However, when the Hammersmith Bridge is bombed, Piper disappears without a trace and Danny finds himself the centre of a police investigation, hounded by whispers of the IRA. 
    Dark and humorous, Danny and Piper's story is one of dysfunctional parenting, clashing motives and twenty-something's negotiating love and big city life. 
    Perfect for fans of Vince Flynn, Tom Clancy and Brad Thor
    Show book
  • Dave Barry Talks Back - cover

    Dave Barry Talks Back

    Dave Barry

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In yet another collection of essays, investigative journalist Dave Barry is on the job, hard at work between lunch and naps researching and compiling out-of-the-ordinary news stories from his legion of loyal readers all across the country. Reported as only Dave's wit and wisdom can accomplish, Barry covers everything from exploding municipal toilets to spontaneous human combustion (over 200 cases) to humor impairment—citing Exhibit A, former President Richard Nixon. No one is exempt: Barry lambasts traffic cops, dentists, doctors, Congress, and his very dumb dogs. Dave Barry Talks Back is a very funny, quintessentially Barry book that talks back to everybody, including your mom.
    Show book
  • How to Be a Man (Whatever That Means) - Lessons in Modern Masculinity from a Questionable Source - cover

    How to Be a Man (Whatever That...

    James Breakwell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    There's no wrong way to be a woman. There are countless wrong ways to be a man.James Breakwell should know. He's tried just about all of them. Journalism. Pig ownership. Felony lawn gnome theft. Whatever masculinity is supposed to be, this can't be it. But can you really fail at something no one can quite define? Apparently.Now, in a series of funny, sharply observed, and occasionally poignant essays, everyone's favorite internet-famous father of four daughters lays down a lifetime of lessons in what it means to be a man. You'll laugh. You'll cry. You'll wonder what really happened to those creepy lawn gnomes on that deserted country road. (Spoiler alert: They're right behind you.)If you ever wanted to know how to fail at altruism, dodge the priesthood, and stumble your way into unexpected wisdom, this book is for you.How to Be a Man (Whatever that Means) presents a vision of manhood that looks very different from what you'll see on TV. And that's a good thing. Probably.
    Show book