Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Her Victory - A Novel - cover

Her Victory - A Novel

Alan Sillitoe

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A story of love and romance between two lost people in 1950s Britain, from the author of The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Runner   Every morning Pam decides to leave George. Somehow she never quite gets around to it. She’s flirted with suicide too, but she doesn’t see the point. A woman would have to be mad to kill herself for the sake of George. He’s a brute, vain and selfish, with a cruel sense of humor and absolutely no regard for his wife. Someday she will leave him: Why not today?   Pam flees to London, where she takes refuge in a lonely, sparsely furnished room. With a twist of her wrist, she turns on the gas and resigns herself to death, only to be rescued by a neighbor. Tom, a former sailor in the Merchant Navy who has just come into a surprise inheritance, is carrying scars of his own. Bound by despair, these two unlikely lovers begin a new life, and together they will find a reason to live   This lonely middle-aged couple finds victory in living, searching for love and happiness, and overcoming their pasts. In its portrayal of women, Her Victory has been compared to the novels of Doris Lessing and Margaret Drabble, and it is award-winning author Alan Sillitoe at his very best.  

Other books that might interest you

  • The Artful Match (London Beginnings Book #3) - cover

    The Artful Match (London...

    Jennifer Delamere

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    Cara Bernay has never fit in. At loose ends in 1881 London after a near tragedy costs her a job, she befriends a carefree artist. With his help, she begins planning a new life and developing her own artistic talent. But soon Cara finds herself at odds with the artist's brother--a handsome but arrogant earl forcing his brother back to a "respectable" life.Henry Burke, the Earl of Morestowe, feels the weight of growing financial burdens. His younger brother is the one person who can save their family, and Henry needs him back home. Despite misgivings about Cara's mysterious background, Henry sees she's a positive influence on his brother and on Henry's young ward, and he strikes a deal with her to return with them to their estate.  But the family has their own secrets, and when Cara, drawn ever closer to Henry, stumbles onto the truth, she must choose between following her heart and pursuing a bold plan that could bring disaster.
    Show book
  • Courting Mr Emerson - cover

    Courting Mr Emerson

    Melody Carlson

    • 5
    • 29
    • 0
    When the fun-loving and spontaneous artist Willow West meets buttoned-up, retired English teacher George Emerson, it's not exactly love at first sight. Though she does find the obsessive-compulsive man intriguing. Making it her mission to get him to loosen up and embrace life, she embarks on what seems like a lost cause--and finds herself falling for him in the process.A confirmed bachelor, George vacillates between irritation and attraction whenever Willow is around--which to him seems like all too often. He's not interested in expanding his horizons or making new friends; it just hurts too much when you lose them.But as the summer progresses, George feels his defenses crumbling. The question is, will his change of heart be too late for Willow?With her signature heart and touches of humor, fan favorite Melody Carlson pens a story of two delightfully eccentric characters who get a second chance at life and love.
    Show book
  • Fortune Favors the Duke - cover

    Fortune Favors the Duke

    Kristin Vayden

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    For fans of Ella Quinn, Amelia Grey, and Bridgerton comes the first in a new historical romance series with all your favorite tropes:Friends to lovers romanceForbidden romanceReluctant dukesTight-knit family saga 
    The new Duke has a proper scandal brewing.
     
    Quinton Errington is perfectly happy teaching at Cambridge, with his elder brother carrying the duties of being the Duke of Wesley. But when a trip to celebrate Wesley's last week of bachelorhood ends in tragedy, Quinton, who becomes the Duke, would give anything to have his brother back.
     
    Wesley's would-be bride, Catherine Greatheart, is left heartbroken and alone. Her grandmother has fallen ill, and Catherine has nowhere left to turn but to the family she was so close to being part of. The new Duke is kind, and she could use a friend.
     
    Between learning how to be the head of his family, mourning his brother, and trying not to fall in love with his late-brother's fiancée, Quinton will need some help—and it's a good thing he's not alone.
     
    "Flawless storytelling! Vayden is a new Regency powerhouse."—Rachel Van Dyken, #1 New York Times bestselling author
    Show book
  • The Time Between Us - an emotional gripping historical page turner - cover

    The Time Between Us - an...

    Marina McCarron

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Normandy, 1937. Sixteen-year-old Elise embarks on a whirlwind romance with a young American man, which transports her from the drudgery of her everyday life caring for her mother. But neither she nor William is prepared for the war that will threaten to tear them apart...
     
    Boston, 2009. Lucy has been left reeling by the death of her beloved grandfather. They had always planned to visit France together after her college graduation; now, still aching from his loss, Lucy decides to take the trip alone.
     
    As Lucy traces the steps of her grandfather through the French countryside where he once served as a GI, a powerful story of love, loss and destiny emerges – but can the truth about her family's past unlock her future? Or are some scars too deep to heal?
    Show book
  • The Endearing Young Charms Series - cover

    The Endearing Young Charms Series

    M. C. Beaton, Marion Chesney

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times–Bestselling Author: Seven lighthearted love stories in one volume from “the best of the Regency writers” (Kirkus Reviews). 
     
    Taking us from the English countryside to the social circles of London, the novels in this sparkling collection feature a botched marriage, a drugged bride, a witty governess, an unexpected inheritance, and many other delightful surprises from “a romance writer who deftly blends humor and adventure” (Booklist). 
     
    The Endearing Young Charms Series includes: Duke's Diamonds, The French Affair, Those Endearing Young Charms, To Dream of Love, A Marriage of Inconvenience, A Governess of Distinction and The Glitter and the Gold.
    Show book
  • The Last Season - cover

    The Last Season

    Jenny Judson, Danielle Mahfood

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks Fall Must Read
     
    Set in Victorian England, The Last Season is a story of social upheaval, changing fortunes, and an unlikely romance that develops between a well-to-do heiress and a stable boy.
     
    When they meet as adolescents at Drayton Manor, the well-to-do Cassandra Drayton and the manor's stable boy, Crispin St. John, seem destined for very different futures. Yet, the two strike up a secret and forbidden friendship. Once discovered, they are forced apart, with Cassandra staying locked in her father's world and Crispin traveling to India to make his own way.
     
    Years later, when Cassandra's high-society London lifestyle is shattered by her father's spectacular fall from grace, she is surprised to reunite with her childhood friend, no longer a penniless boy but an enterprising young man who has risen through the ranks of the Indian cotton trade. As they navigate changing circumstances, fickle friendships, and social upheaval, Cassandra and Crispin find that the bond they developed as children is a lasting one.
     
    Praise for The Last Season
     
    “Old school historical romance is not typically my genre, but this sweeping, expertly-written narrative by two friends from St. Paul’s boarding school who split ways to go to Harvard and Yale is like a smart dose of Downton Abbey. Set in Victorian England, this story about a wealthy young woman and the stable boy at her “manor” as their fortunes rise and fall over the years has all the saucy ingredients for an epic escapist read.” —Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks
     
    “Judson and Mahfood immerse readers in British high society...blending Regency romance with Dickensian themes of reinvention, unrequited love, and unexpected benevolence...”—Booklist
     
    “If you love a juicy, Victorian-era story of forbidden love, then The Last Season by Jenny Judson and Danielle Mahfood deserves to be at the top of your TBR pile.” —PopSugar
    Show book