Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
No Way Out - cover

No Way Out

Alan Jacobson

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

FBI agent Karen Vail is on assignment in the United Kingdom in this “outstanding thriller” by the author of The 7th Victim (Library Journal, starred review). When a potent firebomb destroys part of an art gallery in an exclusive London district, FBI profiler Karen Vail is dispatched to England to work with Scotland Yard on drafting a threat assessment to head off future attacks. But Vail soon discovers that at the heart of the bombing lies a four-hundred-forty-year-old manuscript that holds clues to England’s past—with dramatic political and social implications. The manuscript’s content is so explosive that a group of political radicals is bent on destroying it at all costs. Or is it the work of someone else? The trail leads Vail to a notorious fugitive who has escaped law enforcement for decades, and who appears to be planning a major attack on London and the United States. When Hector DeSantos, banished from the US Department of Defense and now a rogue covert operative, turns up in England and takes actions that threaten Vail’s life, she finds herself on the run from the British security service, Scotland Yard, and a group of internationally trained assassins—all determined to silence her . . . all tightening the net to ensure that she’s got no way out. With his trademark spirited dialogue, page-turning scenes, and well-drawn characters, national bestselling author Alan Jacobson (“My kind of writer,” says Michael Connelly) has once again crafted an intelligent, twisting thriller destined to be talked about long after the last page has been turned.

Other books that might interest you

  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • Love Me to Death - Brief Case - cover

    Love Me to Death - Brief Case

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Christmas short story.
    
     
    The first of an occasional series of short stories (covering the elapsed time between the books in The Falconer Files series.)
    
     
    On Christmas Day the two detectives are summoned to a block of apartments in Market Darley, to investigate the unexplained death of a young woman whose fiance was due to move in with her on New Year's Day.
    
     
    At first, her death seems a complete mystery, then, something that Dr Christmas discovers on the internet indicates that her death could just have been a tragic accident, or was it?
    Show book
  • Justified - An Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller #2 - cover

    Justified - An Agent Jade Monroe...

    C.M. Sutter

    • 3
    • 15
    • 0
    They can’t keep up with the body count he leaves behind. FBI agents Jade Monroe and J.T. Harper are on the trail of their most recent serial killer, but they know his whereabouts only by the carnage left in his wake. By the time they reach his most recent location, he’s long gone. 
    Without a clear description of the man, they’re chasing a shadowy figure that people see from a distance—a ghost—that’s killing at an alarming rate. 
    A stroke of luck brings the agents face-to-face with a survivor. What they learn from the woman’s hospital bed description of her brutal attacker changes everything. The situation has suddenly become more than dangerous—and to Jade, more than personal. 
    Note: All Jade Monroe books are standalone stories but since characters carry over, they are best read in chronological order. 
    Series One - Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series 
    #1 Maniacal 
    #2 Captive 
    #3 Fallacy 
    #4 Premonition 
    #5 Exposed 
    Note: The Jade Monroe FBI Thriller books follow on the heels of the conclusion of Exposed, Book 5 in the Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series. 
    Series Two – Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series 
    #1 Snapped  
    #2 Justified 
    #3 Donors 
    #4 Leverage 
    #5 Malice 
    "Editorial Review 
    Investigators believe three young women were mauled by bears but soon find out they were actually victims of a monstrous murderer, and newly minted FBI agent Jade Monroe is brought in to help find him. The killer is clever enough never to be seen on surveillance camera, and Jade and company start to believe they’re following a ghost. The body count goes up, and so do the stakes for finding this madman, who begins to strike closer to home. Fans of Jade Monroe are in for an emotionally charged ride with Sutter’s latest, a most welcome addition to her terrific new FBI series.” Angela M., Editor, Red Adept Editing
    Show book
  • High-Wired - cover

    High-Wired

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
     
    
     
    If you like Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, and Val McDermid, you’ll be gripped by this exciting new crime novel by best-selling author Andrea Frazer. High-Wired is the first volume in The Fine Line series, which sees Frazer show off her dark side as she moves into the world of police procedurals.
    
     
     
     The novel introduces us to DI Olivia Hardy, a firm but fair cop, and her new partner, DS Lauren Groves. Their wildly different backgrounds and styles of policing cause problems at first, but the two women bond over a shared love of music, and over the pressures of juggling complicated family lives with the horrors of the job. Both women try to reconcile their problematic family lives – Olivia’s issues with her teenage children, Lauren’s collapsing marriage – with the demands of a job that requires heart and soul. Their beat is a decaying coastal town in the south of England – a shadow of its Victorian glory – and criminals are lurking even where you’d least expect them. As Olivia and Lauren investigate a harrowing murder, the events of the case spiral – and so do the issues in their personal lives …
    Show book
  • Howling Stars - Decker's War #4 - cover

    Howling Stars - Decker's War #4

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 1
    Every Marine has a story about someone he couldn’t save, a face that would haunt him forever. When Command Sergeant Hal Tarra, one of Decker’s oldest friends, vanishes on the Commonwealth frontier shortly after taking early retirement from the Corps, Zack knows what memories are driving the former Pathfinder, because he sees the same face in his worst nightmares. Naval intelligence isn’t interested in resurrecting ancient history, especially the tale of a failed rescue after it had been consigned to the memory hole. So Decker does the only thing he can, out of friendship and loyalty, and the hope that he might finally redeem the one they’d thought lost long ago: he orders himself on an unsanctioned mission, beyond Fleet support, risking everything for a friend. His intelligence colleagues never could understand the Marine promise, “No One Left Behind” but as he keeps reminding them, he's still one of the Few…
    Show book
  • One Hundred Names - A Novel - cover

    One Hundred Names - A Novel

    Cecelia Ahern

    • 3
    • 17
    • 0
    Internationally bestselling author Cecelia Ahern's One Hundred Names is the story of secrets, second chances, and the hidden connections that unite our lives—a universal tale that will grip you with its emotional power and mesmerize you with its magic. 
    Scandal has derailed Journalist Kitty Logan's career, a setback that is soon compounded by an even more devastating loss. Constance, the woman who taught Kitty everything she knew, is dying. At her mentor's bedside, Kitty asks her—what is the one story she always wanted to write? 
    The answer lies in a single sheet of paper buried in Constance's office—a list of 100 names—with no notes or explanation. But before Kitty can talk to her friend, it is too late. 
    Determined to unlock the mystery and rebuild her own shaky confidence, Kitty throws herself into the investigation, using her skills and savvy to track down each of the names on the list and uncover their connection. Meeting these ordinary people and learning their stories, Kitty begins to piece together an unexpected portrait of Constance's life. . . and starts to understand her own.
    Show book