Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Charles Darwin and the Theory of Natural Selection - cover

Charles Darwin and the Theory of Natural Selection

Alan J Hesse

Publisher: Alan J Hesse

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In 1859, Charles Darwin unveiled to the world a theory so controversial that it shook the very foundations of science and theology. 
This cartoon-style graphic novel explores who Darwin was, what he really thought, and how he finally came to his groundbreaking conclusions. 
 
If someone had retrieved Darwin's diary from his cabin on HMS Beagle, the entry dated 16th September, 1835, might have read something like this: 
'Upon landing on Chatham Island, part of this fabled Galapagos archipelago, I was astonished to encounter creatures such as I had never before seen....one such creature was a dark grey, almost black lizard that swims in the sea, even diving to the bottom in search of seaweed. On higher ground, I encountered a sight that caused me to doubt whether I might be in a dream: a giant tortoise, weighing at least 100 lbs! And all of these creatures show no sign of fear: no dread of the human hand...a fact I have never before contemplated in all my travels...' 
 
Charles Darwin and the Theory of Natural Selection tells the story of Darwin's legendary visit to the Galápagos Islands in 1835 and his return home to fame and fortune - and also to hardship, self doubt and inner struggle. Darwin's observations and the many specimens he brought back from his voyage eventually led to the discovery of the theory of evolution by natural selection.  
 
Historically and scientifically accurate, this biographical comic tracks Darwin's adventures in the mysterious and wonderful Galápagos Islands, and celebrates his legacy in forever changing our understanding of the natural world. 
This comic provides a clear explanation of the theory of natural selection, ideal for kids aged 10 and above, as well as teachers, parents and any adult who always wanted to better understand the Theory of Evolution.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Menagerie - cover

    The Menagerie

    Tui T. Sutherland, Kari H....

    • 0
    • 15
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of the Wings of Fire series, Tui T. Sutherland, and her sister, Kari Sutherland, comes the Menagerie series, perfect for fans of Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven series and The Spiderwick Chronicles.  
    In the small town of Xanadu, Wyoming lies the Menagerie, a top secret facility filled with unicorns, dragons, phoenixes, and other fairy tale creatures. At least, it was a secret—until six griffin cubs escaped. 
    If Logan and Zoe don’t get the cubs back fast, the entire Menagerie will be shut down. The race is on and the resulting adventure is only the beginning of a thrilling series that will leave readers wanting a magical menagerie of their very own. 
     
    Show book
  • 5-Day French Language Challenge - Learn French In 5 Days - cover

    5-Day French Language Challenge...

    Challenge Self

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Learn French with Your "5-Day French Language Challenge"
     
    Why are you reading this? Because:
     
    - You want to speak one of the dominant languages in North America.
     
    - You want to know the language that has strongly influenced English.
     
    - You want to charm those around you by learning the language of love.
     
    - You want to grasp enough French to travel to French-speaking countries.
     
    - You want to have the easiest and fastest way to study French for beginners.
     
    French is not only a beautiful language but more popular than you may realize here in North American, plus it is spoken in over five continents. There is just a myriad of reasons why learning French is such a great idea.
     
    Here in the United States, many people do already speak Spanish as a second language. However, French is quite another story; it can make you seem more appealing and stand out more in demand, opening up all sorts of opportunities—especially in the work force.
     
    Career Enhancement – An employer is going to be more likely to hire someone who knows more than one language than one who only speaks English. It allows to communicate with important French-speaking only clients in a way that they can understand. You may also get to travel more for the job if you show your boss your initiative.
     
    Education Opportunity – France is one of the most desirable country where you can study abroad. Imagine being able to go to Paris and understand what people are saying. When you have a rudimentary idea of the language, you will find that you can travel to France and expand your knowledge.
     
    Culture and Cuisine – When you know French, you can explore the cultures freely in many French-speaking places, even here within the United States, without having language barrier. Besides that, when you go out to a French restaurant, you’ll be able to read the menu and understand it without having to ask the waiter or waitress to translate, and fully enjoy the authentic French dining experience.
     
    Romance and Attraction – French is the language of love. Imagine wooing that special someone by speaking French to them and making them feel special. No matter what you say to someone, it always sounds more lovely in French.
     
    If you want to start learning French, the "5-Day French Language Challenge" is your easy, no-hassle ticket to journeying into the French language that is going to really get you up to speed in no time.
    Show book
  • Warriors #4: Rising Storm - cover

    Warriors #4: Rising Storm

    Erin Hunter

    • 6
    • 108
    • 0
    The fourth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #4: Rising Storm. 
    Fireheart’s traitorous enemy Tigerclaw has been vanquished and exiled from ThunderClan—but Fireheart can’t shake the feeling that he is lurking in the forest, waiting for a chance to strike. 
    In the heat of a blazing summer, Fireheart struggles to handle sinister omens, an apprentice with a shocking secret, and a devastated Clan leader who is a shell of her former self. And as the forest gets hotter and hotter, every cat braces for the coming storm….
    Show book
  • The Mediator #2: Ninth Key - cover

    The Mediator #2: Ninth Key

    Meg Cabot

    • 2
    • 11
    • 0
    The Ninth Key is the second book in the thrilling, romantic Mediator series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot.   
    Everything is going great for Suze. Her new life in California is a whirlwind of parties and excellent hair days. Tad Beaumont, the hottest boy in town, has even asked Suze out on her very first date. Suze is so excited that she's willing to ignore her misgivings about Tad...particularly the fact that he's not Jesse, whose ghostly status—not to mention apparent disinterest in her—make him unattainable. 
    What Suze can't ignore, however, is the ghost of a murdered woman whose death seems directly connected to dark secrets hidden in none other than Tad Beaumont's past. 
    Don't miss the delightfully funny supernatural Mediator series, from New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot.
    Show book
  • The Guard - A Novella - cover

    The Guard - A Novella

    Kiera Cass

    • 8
    • 21
    • 0
    Don’t miss this captivating novella from the world of the #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! Set just after the Selection is narrowed down to the Elite, this story gives readers a glimpse into the heart and mind of America’s first love. 
    Before America Singer met Prince Maxon, she was in love with a boy named Aspen Leger—who never imagined that he would follow America to the palace as a member of the royal guard . . . 
    The Guard also includes a teaser to The One, the thrilling third novel in the Selection series. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Warriors: The New Prophecy #6: Sunset - cover

    Warriors: The New Prophecy #6:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 3
    • 5
    • 0
    Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series continues with the sixth book in the New Prophecy series! 
    The sixth book in this second series, Warriors: The New Prophecy #6: Sunset, brings more adventure, intrigue, and thrilling battles to the epic world of the warrior Clans. 
    As shadows of the past continue to plague the forest, Brambleclaw is haunted by a dark figure on a dangerous quest for revenge, and must struggle to remain true to his Clan. A sinister path is unfolding and the time is coming for certain warriors to make the choices that will determine their destinies… and the destiny of all the Clans.
    Show book