Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Book of the Month - Sixty Years of Books in American Life - cover

The Book of the Month - Sixty Years of Books in American Life

Al Silverman

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A unique and captivating literary history of the twentieth century drawn from the first sixty years of the Book-of-the-Month Club From The Sun Also Rises to The Accidental Tourist, the judges, editors, and reviewers of the Book-of-the-Month Club help readers all across America find their next favorite book.   In this comprehensive anthology compiled from the Club’s monthly News, astute reviewers praise and critique a diverse array of authors including Dashiell Hammett, Barbara Tuchman, Sinclair Lewis, Saul Bellow, Margaret Mitchell, James Baldwin, Willa Cather, and Evelyn Waugh. Harper Lee affectionately profiles Truman Capote, poet laureate Robert Penn Warren praises his friend Bill Styron, and Gore Vidal interviews himself. John le Carré shares why it was particularly hard to write A Perfect Spy, and E. L. Doctorow reveals the intentions of his masterpiece, Ragtime.   A celebration of the life-affirming power of the written word and a treasure trove of reviews, essays, and author portraits related to classic books we all know and love and less famous titles well-deserving of rediscovery, The Book of the Month is a must-read for bibliophiles everywhere.

Who read this book also read:

  • Reconcile Me: from abortion's chains - cover

    Reconcile Me: from abortion's...

    Sharon McFee

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Have you or do you know someone who has had an abortion? There is a real need to hear from a woman sharing from her life, growing up in Australia and New Zealand, what led her to have an abortion and the eventual emotional healing of her soul through embracing God's forgiveness. This woman had a rocky upbringing, feeling rejected. God turns her many predicaments around, straightening out her course in life. Women will identify their own lives to hers in some way. This book gives hope to the hopeless and downtrodden, to those who have felt rejected or unwanted, and life to the lifeless. There is light at the end of the tunnel if only you have the faith to believe - read this book with an open heart and an open mind.
    This is her spiritual journey.
    Evil prospers when good men do nothing.
    Show book
  • Elon Musk - Tesla SpaceX and the Quest for a Fantastic Future - cover

    Elon Musk - Tesla SpaceX and the...

    Ashlee Vance

    • 7
    • 15
    • 0
    In the spirit of Steve Jobs and Moneyball, Elon Musk is both an illuminating and authorized look at the extraordinary life of one of Silicon Valley’s most exciting, unpredictable, and ambitious entrepreneurs—a real-life Tony Stark—and a fascinating exploration of the renewal of American invention and its new “makers.” 
    Elon Musk spotlights the technology and vision of Elon Musk, the renowned entrepreneur and innovator behind SpaceX, Tesla, and SolarCity, who sold one of his Internet companies, PayPal, for $1.5 billion. Ashlee Vance captures the full spectacle and arc of the genius’s life and work, from his tumultuous upbringing in South Africa and flight to the United States to his dramatic technical innovations and entrepreneurial pursuits. 
    Vance uses Musk’s story to explore one of the pressing questions of our age: can the nation of inventors and creators who led the modern world for a century still compete in an age of fierce global competition? He argues that Musk—one of the most unusual and striking figures in American business history—is a contemporary, visionary amalgam of legendary inventors and industrialists including Thomas Edison, Henry Ford, Howard Hughes, and Steve Jobs. More than any other entrepreneur today, Musk has dedicated his energies and his own vast fortune to inventing a future that is as rich and far-reaching as the visionaries of the golden age of science-fiction fantasy. 
    Thorough and insightful, Elon Musk brings to life a technology industry that is rapidly and dramatically changing by examining the life of one of its most powerful and influential titans.
    Show book
  • Be the Worst You Can Be - Life's Too Long for Patience and Virtue - cover

    Be the Worst You Can Be - Life's...

    Charles Satchi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Charles Saatchi founded the Saatchi & Saatchi advertising agency in 1970, which grew to become the largest of its kind in the world. At the same time he started collecting art and, later, opened his first gallery in London. He championed young British artists, such as Tracey Emin and Damien Hirst, and became a major figure on the international art scene. For someone so influential, he's surprisingly quiet. Charles Saatchi almost never gives interviews. However, he's a man with a view on everything - from movies to morals, superstition to suicide - and in this fascinating new book he answers nearly 300 questions from readers and journalists. What is the most valuable life lesson you can offer? Are you a believer that good is the enemy of great? What is more powerful - money or knowledge? How would you describe yourself if you did not have art in your life? How many of the seven deadly sins are you guilty of? This is the definitive read for those in search of answers.
    Show book
  • Beloved Demons - Confessions of an Unquiet Mind - cover

    Beloved Demons - Confessions of...

    C. Anthony Martignetti

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In his follow-up to Lunatic Heroes, Martignetti sheds all defenses to reveal the viscera of a mind shaped by the dark and confusing forces of his childhood. This collection of memoirs and essays focuses mainly on Martignetti's adult years, and features the pivotal characters of his ever-entertaining personal narrative. From the cascade of memories and emotions triggered by an accidental butterfly killing in "Cocoon Talk," to the homicidal impulses prompted by a visit to his boyhood home in "Sign," from the heartbreaking to the hilarious musings inspired by beloved pets in "Mochajava" and "Dog," and throughout the uncensored sexcapades of "Mad," "The Wild," and "Feast of the Hungry Ghost," Martignetti's colloquial, humorous, and intimate style will keep you riveted, crack you open, enthrall and embrace you with an honesty normally reserved for not even the closest of friends.
    Show book
  • I AM~A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - cover

    I AM~A Book of Unintentional...

    Anonymous

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A young man's girl friend aborts their child spinning the author into a soul searching depression which he writes about in detail.
    Show book
  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book