Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Freshwater - cover

Freshwater

Akwaeke Emezi

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 2
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Akwaeke Emezi is an extremely talented young writer, just 29 years old. She is Igbo-Tamil, from Aba, Nigeria and now lives in Brooklyn and Trinidad. Set predominantly in America, Freshwater is closely based on Emezi’s own experiences with her mental health, and draws from Igbo religion. Lyrical and intense, hers is a totally fresh new voice.



We have had an astonishing first response, both in-house and from blurbers. Taiye Selasi called Emezi “an old—an ancient—storyteller: thrillingly at home in the tradition of griots, poets, seers and seekers” and Daniel José Older called it a “masterpiece” in his blurb, twice. German rights have been pre-empted and there is already significant interest from other publishers around the world.



Told from the perspectives of multiple selves, this unconventional and beautifully written novel explores mental health from a non-Western perspective. Emezi was herself diagnosed with dissociative identity disorder, the new diagnosis for what was previously termed “multiple personality disorder”. 



Emezi was awarded the 2017 Commonwealth Short Story Prize for Africa for her story Who Is Like God. Her memoir work was selected and edited by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and one of her essays was selected for FADER’s “Best Culture Writing of 2015.” She received a 2015 Morland Writing Scholarship and is a 2016 Kimbilio Fellow.



Freshwater has aesthetic origins in Igbo religion and imagery connected to her own name.  “Akwaeke” translates to “python’s egg”—an image that is central to the novel. The python is a physical manifestation of several Igbo deities, and its egg is considered to be precious, a child of a god.



Emezi refuses to write conventional “African” fiction—her voice is raw, deeply personal, dark, somewhat experimental, and unlike anything that has been published before.



Outreach to writers including Marlon James, Ben Okri, Edwidge Danticat, Yaa Gyasi, Lidia Yuknavitch, Alexandra Kleeman, and others for blurbs.



Emezi is also a visual artist and was awarded a Global Arts Fund grant by the Astraea Foundation in 2017 for her video art. Her experimental short UDUDEAGU won the Audience Award for Best Short Experimental at the 2014 BlackStar Film Festival and has screened in over thirteen countries.

Other books that might interest you

  • Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and Tales (LOA #19) - cover

    Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and...

    Edgar Allan Poe

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This ebook compiles Edgar Allan Poe's greatest writings, including novels, short stories and poems such as "The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket", "The Fall of the House of Usher", "The Tell-Tale Heart", "The Raven" and "The Cask of Amontillado". 
    
    This edition has been professionally formatted and contains several tables of contents. The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work.
    Show book
  • Rhapsody in Red - Shades of Crimson #1 - cover

    Rhapsody in Red - Shades of...

    Mila Waters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Calix Mabry had everything a vampire could ever want. A mate, eternal life, and enough money to sustain them for the rest of their lives. But when his beloved is taken from him, he vows to bring her back at any cost. 
    Enter Vivienne Peltier. Long legs. Deep red hair. She is everything his Sofia wasn't. He is drawn to her like a moth to a flame. 
    Torn between his desire to bring Sofia back and his lust for Vivienne, Calix makes a decision that could potentially tear everything and everyone he knows apart. 
    True love always wins in the end. But at what cost?
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • Merlin at War - A DCI Frank Merlin Novel - cover

    Merlin at War - A DCI Frank...

    Mark Ellis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    War rages across Europe. France is under the Nazi thumb. Britain has its back to the wall. In London, Scotland Yard detective Merlin investigates a series of disturbing events – a young girl killed in a botched abortion, a French emigré shot in a seedy Notting Hill flat, a mysterious letter written by a British officer, gunned down in Crete.
    
     
    With action spanning Buenos Aires, New York, Cairo and Occupied France, Merlin and his team are plunged into a dark world of espionage, murder, love and betrayal.
    Show book
  • Triumph of a Teenage Werevulture - Trilogy of a Teenage Werevulture #0 - cover

    Triumph of a Teenage Werevulture...

    Emily Martha Sorensen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Against her will, Lisette's date is dragging her to a football game.  But wait!  What happens when the rival football team is cheating?  Clearly a werevulture needs to save the day.
    Show book
  • Kept - cover

    Kept

    Erin Lee

    • 5
    • 16
    • 0
    Kept 
    An Erin Lee Thriller 
    Inspired by a true story 
    Bree’s destiny had always been kept. 
    Like a dirty secret, it was nearly impossible to escape a certain dark fate. A victim of circumstance determined to survive, she only wanted someone to trust. But it wouldn’t come easy. 
    First, it was the family life that forced her to run away from home at age fifteen. 
    Next, it was her son’s father, Le, who pulled her from friends, locking her into a toxic web of abuse and drugs. 
    Then came the addiction, which chained her to methadone clinics and seclusion. 
    In spite of it all, Bree refused to allow anyone to put out her fire, which burned brightest in the love of her son, Noah. 
    Just when she was beginning to turn things around and had repaired her relationships, came the final blow. 
    Locked in isolation and desperate for someone to put her trust in, Bree began talking to a mysterious man over the Internet. Placing her trust in him was the biggest mistake of her life. 
    Now, caught in his evil web, she must decide—once and for all—how to take control of her life. 
    It starts with a can of gasoline and a simple spark. From there, comes the fire. 
    In the end, she determines, it won’t be Bree who is kept by anyone ever again.
    Show book