Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Pocketful of Stars - cover

A Pocketful of Stars

Aisha Bushby

Publisher: Egmont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

'A gorgeous story of friendship and growing up' Cathy Cassidy
 
This place is magic . . . but it's not the sort of magic that comes from wands and spells . . .
 
Can piecing together the past help you change the present?
 
Safiya and her mum have never seen eye to eye. Her mum doesn’t understand Safiya’s love of gaming and Safiya doesn't think they have anything in common. As Safiya struggles to fit in at school she wonders if her mum wishes she was more like her confident best friend Elle. But then her mum falls into a coma and, when Safiya waits by her bedside, she finds herself in a strange and magical world that looks a bit like one of her games. And there’s a rebellious teenage girl, with a secret, who looks suspiciously familiar . . .
 
A Pocketful of Stars is a story about family, friendship and finding out who you are . . . with a sprinkling of magic.
 
'Moving and heartfelt', Anna James, author of Pages and CoPerfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Ross Welford and Kiran Millwood-Hargrave.
 
Aisha Bushby was selected as one of only four previously unpublished authors in the Stripes anthology for BAME writers, A Change is Gonna Come, alongside writers such as Patrice Lawrence, Tanya Byrne and Nikesh Shukla. The anthology was awarded a YA Book Prize Special Achievement Award. A Pocketful of Stars is her debut novel.

Other books that might interest you

  • Mimi and the Mountain Dragon - cover

    Mimi and the Mountain Dragon

    Michael Morpurgo

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As soon as the bells stop ringing, I¹m going to carry you home to your mother, back up to the Mountain Dragon's castle  . . . 
    Mimi and the Mountain Dragon is a beautifully poignant and atmospheric Christmas story from War Horse author Michael Morpurgo and illustrated by Helen Stephens, the talent behind How to Hide a Lion from Grandma. 
    In her castle lair high in the mountains of Switzerland, lives a terrible dragon. In the village below, lives a little girl called Mimi. When she finds a baby dragon in the woodshed, she makes a brave decision that will bring joy and peace to the village for ever. 
    A heart-warming Christmas adventure, that all the family can share. The perfect combination of magic, adventure and Christmas cheer – and makes an ideal festive stocking filler for kids aged 5 and up. Look out for Michael's other Christmas classics The Goose is Getting Fat, The Best of Times, The Best Christmas Present in the World and On Angel Wings. 
    Michael Morpurgo is the master storyteller of Kensuke's Kingdom, An Eagle in the Snow, Listen to the Moon, Shadow, and An Elephant in the Garden. Michael has written more than a hundred books and won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children’s Book Award and has been short-listed for the Carnegie Medal four times. 
    Helen Stephens is the award winning illustrator of How to Hide a Lion, Fleabag and The Night Iceberg (Alison Green Books). Known for her line work and bright and instantly recognisable illustrations, Helen has both collaborated with authors (Sophie Hannah, Roger McGough and Michael Morpurgo) and written and illustrated her own picture books including The Big Adventures of the Smalls and the Betsey series, both with Egmont. Helen lives in Northumberland, by the sea, with her family.
    Show book
  • Queen of Shadows - cover

    Queen of Shadows

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 19
    • 0
    Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume. 
     
    Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire-for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past... 
     
    She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.  
     
    She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return. 
     
    Celaena's epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena's story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.
    Show book
  • The Fairest Beauty - cover

    The Fairest Beauty

    Melanie Dickerson

    • 0
    • 23
    • 0
    Sophie has long wished to get away from her stepmother’s jealous anger, and believes escape is her only chance to be happy. Then a young man named Gabe arrives from Hagenheim Castle, claiming she is betrothed to his older brother, and everything twists upside down. This could be her chance at freedom—but can she trust another person to keep her safe? Gabe knows he defied his parents Rose and Wilhelm by going to find Sophie, and now he believes they had a right to worry: the orphan girl has stolen his heart. Though romance is impossible—she is his brother’s future wife, and Gabe himself is betrothed to someone else—he promises to himself he will keep her safe, no matter what.When the pair are forced to run to the Cottage of the Seven, they find help—but also find their feelings for each other have grown. Can they find a way to protect Sophie while also safeguarding their hearts?
    Show book
  • Ant and Bee and the ABC - cover

    Ant and Bee and the ABC

    Angela Banner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The much-loved classic series of Ant and Bee books is designed for shared reading fun! 
    First published in 1950, Ant and Bee were in print for over 40 years. These new editions feature revised text and illustrations by original Ant and Bee creator Angela Banner. The adorably small format is perfect for little hands.  
    This is the story of how Ant and Bee first met. Join them on their adventure through the alphabet as they search for their lost hats. There has never been a more enjoyable way for toddlers and young children to learn their ABC. 
    Ant and Bee teach children to read via word recognition and encourage story sharing with siblings and parents. Grown-ups read the black words, but the shorter, simpler red words are for young children to call out. These books are for sharing, building confidence and most of all enjoying! Perfect for young children aged 3 and up. Parents and grandparents who grew up with Ant and Bee will love sharing this nostalgic experience from the same era as Ladybird Read it Yourself. 
    Have you collected all of Ant and Bee's learning adventures? 
    Ant and Bee 
    More Ant and Bee 
    More and More Ant and Bee 
    Ant and Bee Count 123 
    Ant and Bee and the Secret 
    Around the World with Ant and Bee 
    Happy Birthday with Ant and Bee 
    Ant and Bee and the Rainbow 
    Ant and Bee and the ABC 
    Ant and Bee Time 
    Ant and Bee and the Kind Dog 
    Ant and Bee and the Doctor 
    Ant and Bee Go Shopping 
    Left and Right with Ant and Bee 
    Make a Million with Ant and Bee 
    Angela Banner was born in 1923. She first wrote Ant and Bee as a way to teach her son how to read. The first book in the series was published in 1950. Since then, Angela has written 22 Ant and Bee books.
    Show book
  • City of Fae - A London Fae Novel - cover

    City of Fae - A London Fae Novel

    Pippa DaCosta

    • 6
    • 28
    • 0
    Look, but don't touch. Touch, but don't feel. Feel, but never ever love.  
     
    From the moment Alina touches London's hottest fae superstar, breaking one of the laws founded to protect all of her kind, her fate – and the fae – close in.  
       
    Below ground, the fae High Queen plots to claim the city as her own and places her pawns, ready for the battle to come. A battle she cannot lose, but for one small problem – Alina. There are four ancient keepers powerful enough to keep the queen in her prison. Three are dead. One remains … And to fight back, Alina risks sacrificing everything she has come to love.  
       
    This New Adult urban fantasy is packed with action and suspense and will have you yearning for more forbidden fae romance.
    Show book
  • Tower of Dawn - cover

    Tower of Dawn

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 4
    • 6
    • 0
    In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire. 
     
    Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken. 
     
    His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica--the stronghold of the southern continent's mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them. 
     
    But what they discover in Antica will change them both--and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.
    Show book