Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Doing Germany: Book 2 - Doing Germany #2 - cover

Doing Germany: Book 2 - Doing Germany #2

Agnieszka Paletta

Publisher: Agnieszka Paletta

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

DOING GERMANY is a series of books for those who are looking for an easy read and to laugh. This is the second book, but it can be read without reading the first book. 
 
In the sequel to the best-selling DOING GERMANY, Agnieszka Paletta picks up exactly where she left off. She is still a slave to chocolate and wine, still a Polish-Canadian-lover-of-Italy, still a grasshopper in a new country, Germany. Two years may have passed, but the moose-in-headlights persists as she continues to discover Deutschland. (After two years, what is there left to discover?) Ye, of little faith. Plenty and plenty and then some! And what's more, with many unexpected lessons that come with having a baby and owning a house. 
 
Ever an immigrant in a foreign land, Paletta will take you for a cultural spin as you explore Germany through her Polish-Canadian-Italian eyes. So just sit back and enjoy the humorous, witty ride. (And pour yourself a glass of wine while you're at it.)

Who read this book also read:

  • As Bad as They Say? - Three Decades of Teaching in the Bronx - cover

    As Bad as They Say? - Three...

    Janet Mayer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rundown, vermin-infested buildings. Rigid, slow-to-react bureaucratic systems. Children from broken homes and declining communities. How can a teacher succeed? How does a student not only survive but also come to thrive? It can happen, and As Bad as They Say? tells the heroic stories of Janet Mayer’s students during her 33-year tenure as a Bronx high school teacher.
    
    In 1995, Janet Mayer’s students began a pen-pal exchange with South African teenagers who, under apartheid, had been denied an education; almost uniformly, the South Africans asked, “Is the Bronx as bad as they say?” This dedicated teacher promised those students and all future ones that she would write a book to help change the stereotypical image of Bronx students and show that, in spite of overwhelming obstacles, they are outstanding young people, capable of the highest achievements.
    
    She walks the reader through the decrepit school building, describing in graphic detail the deplorable physical conditions that students and faculty navigate daily. Then, in eight chapters we meet eight amazing young people, a small sample of the more than 14,000 students the writer has felt honored to teach.
    
    She describes her own Bronx roots and the powerful influences that made her such a determined teacher. Finally, the veteran teacher sounds the alarm to stop the corruption and degradation of public education in the guise of what are euphemistically labeled “reforms” (No Child Left Behind and Race to the Top). She also expresses optimism that public education and our democracy can still be saved, urgently calling on all to become involved and help save our schools.
    Show book
  • My Story - A path to hope - cover

    My Story - A path to hope

    Kate Campbell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    On 17 November 2007, Kate Campbell suffered life-threatening injuries when the boat she was a passenger on crashed into a pylon on the Swan River in Perth, Western Australia. She beat the odds and woke from a coma only to face horrendous injuries, bouts of depression, multiple surgeries and physical rehabilitation. What also lay ahead was a long legal battle with the driver of the boat, Luke Woollard. For nearly five years, Kate was in and out of the courts fighting for justice, all the while dealing with personal issues, before a chance meeting with a top lawyer finally saw her life turn around. My Story is an inspiring and gripping story of a young woman determined to regain her life against any obstacle.
    Show book
  • James Bond: The Authorised Biography - cover

    James Bond: The Authorised...

    John Pearson

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    James Bond has graced our bookshelves and screens for over fifty years. The martini-drinking, super-smooth character has become an icon and national treasure. Like most of the many million James Bond fans around the world, John Pearson assumed that the world's most famous spy was no more than a figment of Fleming's highly charged imagination. Then he began to have his doubts. He finally became convinced that James Bond was not only real but alive and well in Bermuda. With candour, Bond began to recount the story of his life to Pearson, revealing the most amazing series of adventures only hinted at in Ian Fleming's novels. This sensational biography promises to show a side of Bond never seen before.
    Show book
  • Brief Candle in the Dark - My Life in Science - cover

    Brief Candle in the Dark - My...

    Richard Dawkins

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    In this hugely entertaining sequel to the New York Times bestselling memoir An Appetite for Wonder, Richard Dawkins delves deeply into his intellectual life spent kick-starting new conversations about science, culture, and religion and writing yet another of the most audacious and widely read books of the twentieth century—The God Delusion. 
    Called “one of the best nonfiction writers alive today” (Stephen Pinker) and a “prize-fighter” (Nature), Richard Dawkins cheerfully, mischievously, looks back on a lifetime of tireless intellectual adventure and engagement. Exploring the halls of intellectual inquiry and stardom he encountered after the publication of his seminal work, The Selfish Gene; affectionately lampooning the world of academia, publishing, and television; and studding the pages with funny stories about the great men and women he’s known, Dawkins offers a candid look at the events and ideas that encouraged him to shift his attention to the intersection of culture, religion, and science. He also invites the reader to look more closely at the brilliant succession of ten influential books that grew naturally out of his busy life, highlighting the ideas that connect them and excavating their origins. 
    On the publication of his tenth book, the smash hit, The God Delusion, a “resounding trumpet blast for truth” (Matt Ridley), Richard Dawkins was catapulted from mere intellectual stardom into a circle of celebrity thinkers dubbed, “The New Atheists”—including Christopher Hitchens, Sam Harris, and Daniel Dennett. 
    Throughout A Brief Candle in the Dark, Dawkins shares with us his infectious sense of wonder at the natural world, his enjoyment of the absurdities of human interaction, and his bracing awareness of life’s brevity: all of which have made a deep imprint on our culture.
    Show book
  • Summary of A Mother's Reckoning - by Sue Klebold | Includes Analysis - cover

    Summary of A Mother's Reckoning...

    . Instaread

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Summary of A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold | Includes Analysis
     
     
     
    Preview:
     
    In her memoir A Mother’s Reckoning, Sue Klebold struggles
     
    to come to terms with her son Dylan’s role in the infamous
     
    Columbine High School shooting. Writing 16 years after the
     
    shooting, she reflects on when and where things went wrong
     
    for Dylan—and how she and her husband, who were loving
     
    parents, could have missed the warning signs.
     
    Klebold’s story begins with the voicemail that changed
     
    her life. At lunchtime on April 20, 1999, in her office in
     
    Littleton, Colorado, she listened to a cryptic message from
     
    her husband, Tom. Though she intuited that something
     
    had happened to one of their two children, she had no
     
    way of knowing that Dylan was already a murderer.
     
     
     
    Returning Tom’s call, she had what would be the
     
    first of many vague and unsatisfying conversations that
     
    day. Her husband knew there had been a shooting at
     
    Columbine, Dylan’s high school, but little else...
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    PLEASE NOTE: This is summary and analysis of the book and NOT the original book.
     
     
     
    Inside this Instaread Summary of A Mother’s Reckoning:
     
     
     
    Summary of the book
     
    Important People
     
    Character Analysis
     
    Analysis of the Themes and Author’s Style
     
     
     
    About the Author
     
    With Instaread, you can get the key takeaways, summary and analysis of a book in 15 minutes. We read every chapter, identify the key takeaways and analyze them for your convenience.
    Show book
  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book