Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Murder on the Orient Express - A Hercule Poirot Mystery - cover

Murder on the Orient Express - A Hercule Poirot Mystery

Agatha Christie

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

  • 1
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

THE MOST WIDELY READ MYSTERY OF ALL TIME—NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY KENNETH BRANAGH AND PRODUCED BY RIDLEY SCOTT! 
  
“The murderer is with us—on the train now . . .” 
  
Just after midnight, the famous Orient Express is stopped in its tracks by a snowdrift. By morning, the millionaire Samuel Edward Ratchett lies dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside. Without a shred of doubt, one of his fellow passengers is the murderer. 
  
Isolated by the storm, detective Hercule Poirot must find the killer among a dozen of the dead man's enemies, before the murderer decides to strike again. 
  
“What more . . . can a mystery addict desire?”—New York Times 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Edwina Currie - Diaries 1987-1992 - cover

    Edwina Currie - Diaries 1987-1992

    Edwina Currie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After Margaret Thatcher, Edwina Currie was the second most prominent woman in British politics during the 1980s. Indeed, she was often spoken of as a potential Prime Minister. Her outspokenness and her lively, media-friendly personality won her a much higher profile than her status as a junior minister would otherwise have commanded. When she was forced to resign from the government after warning of the danger signs of salmonella infection in eggs, she was already a national figure. Revealing her four-year affair with former Prime Minister John Major, Edwina's diaries caused a media sensation. A decade on, and now with previously unpublished material, the diaries still provide a remarkable insight into politics at the top by a writer with an observant eye and a sharp sense of humour. Edwina Currie's honesty, her frankness and her courage make these unexpurgated diaries an irresistible read.
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book
  • Edwina Currie - Diaries 1992-1997 - cover

    Edwina Currie - Diaries 1992-1997

    Edwina Currie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Never far from centre stage, Edwina Currie falls comfortably into that category of celebrity you simply cannot ignore. Her first published diaries explosively revealed an affair with former Prime Minister John Major. This second volume, which begins in 1992 with her refusal to serve in Major's government, is no less revelatory about her colleagues, encounters with others in the public eye and, of course, her extraordinary career. Honest, compulsive and of the moment, this collection covers her life in Parliament up to the election of Blair's Labour government, but more importantly sees Edwina's emergence as a mainstay in the public imagination, first as a bestselling author, then as a commentator, broadcaster, presenter and performer. Shot through with her trademark effervescence and sense of fun, this volume of diaries documents one of the biggest characters in British public life at her saucy, scathing best.
    Show book
  • Shot in Southwold - cover

    Shot in Southwold

    Suzette A. Hill

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    1960. Lady Fawcett is eager to vet her daughter Amy’s current beau, aspiring film director Bartholomew Hackle, who is shooting his first major movie in the charming Suffolk town of Southwold. As Amy is unable to accompany her mother, Rosy Gilchrist is strong-armed into tagging along. 
    On the set of The Languid Labyrinth nobody really knows what is going on – least of all Felix Smythe whose bit part is constantly changing, much to his chagrin. But the unambiguous death by gunshot of a female cast member injects some drama into proceedings – something sorely lacking in the film itself. Lady Fawcett, Rosy and Felix are at the centre of a murder mystery in which further victims may face the cut. 
    ‘CHARMING, ASTRINGENT AND WITTY’ The Guardian
    Show book
  • Gone Daddy Gone - Sloane Monroe Series - cover

    Gone Daddy Gone - Sloane Monroe...

    Cheryl Bradshaw

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    A single moment is about to change Sloane Monroe's life forever.  
     
    On an early winter morning, college student Shelby McCoy walks the quiet, snowy path back home. A tree branch snaps in the distance. Then another. A man is there with her, following close behind, whispering her name. She looks back, sees him gaining on her, and runs. Who is this man, and why is he carrying a gun? 
     
    If you love a great mystery with a surprising twist, you'll enjoy Gone Daddy Gone.  
     
    A New York Times bestselling series.  
     
    "Another heart-pounding story." 
     
    "I have read every thing this author has written and love every word. As a suspense writer there is no equal." 
     
    "Superb writing, excellent storyline, believable characters!"
    Show book
  • The Blackie & Care Feline Mysteries Omnibus - Books 1 and 2 - cover

    The Blackie & Care Feline...

    Clea Simon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing Blackie, an unusual feline hero, and his companion Care in this dark mystery series.
    The Ninth Life
    The past is an enigma to Blackie, the voice of Clea Simon's dark new mystery. This unusual feline hero and his pink-haired companion, Care, are two small creatures struggling to survive in a nightmarish urban landscape, fighting not only for their own lives but to avenge the memories of those they love.
    As Dark As My Fur
    Blackie does not trust Care's new client, Mr Gravitz, who hired Care to shadow one of his workers, a man he suspects is stealing from him. Blackie knows the client is lying, but how can he protect Care when he is only a cat? The adventure continues for this detective duo as they fight for their lives and for the memories of those they love.
    Show book