Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
Murder on the Orient Express - A Hercule Poirot Mystery - cover

Murder on the Orient Express - A Hercule Poirot Mystery

Agatha Christie

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

  • 1
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

THE MOST WIDELY READ MYSTERY OF ALL TIME—NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY KENNETH BRANAGH AND PRODUCED BY RIDLEY SCOTT! 
  
“The murderer is with us—on the train now . . .” 
  
Just after midnight, the famous Orient Express is stopped in its tracks by a snowdrift. By morning, the millionaire Samuel Edward Ratchett lies dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside. Without a shred of doubt, one of his fellow passengers is the murderer. 
  
Isolated by the storm, detective Hercule Poirot must find the killer among a dozen of the dead man's enemies, before the murderer decides to strike again. 
  
“What more . . . can a mystery addict desire?”—New York Times 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Worthy Brown's Daughter - cover

    Worthy Brown's Daughter

    Phillip Margolin

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Known for his critically acclaimed contemporary thrillers, New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin explores intriguing new territory in Worthy Brown's Daughter, a compelling historical drama, set in nineteenth-century Oregon, that combines a heartbreaking story of slavery and murder with classic Margolin plot twists. 
    One of a handful of lawyers in the new state of Oregon, recently widowed Matthew Penny agrees to help Worthy Brown, a newly freed slave, rescue his fifteen year old daughter, Roxanne, from their former master, a powerful Portland lawyer. Worthy's lawsuit sets in motion events that lead to Worthy's arrest for murder and create an agonizing moral dilemma that could send either Worthy or Matthew to the hangman. 
    At the same time, hanging judge Jed Tyler, a powerful politician with a barren personal life, becomes infatuated with a beautiful gold-digger who is scheming to murder Benjamin Gillette, Oregon's wealthiest businessman. When Gillette appears to die from natural causes, Sharon Hill produces a forged contract of marriage and Tyler must decide if he will sacrifice his reputation to defend that of the woman who inspired his irrational obsession. 
    At Worthy's trial, Matthew saves Worthy by producing a stunning courtroom surprise and his attempt to stop the deadly fortune hunter ends in a violent climax.
    Show book
  • Butterfly Kills - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Butterfly Kills - A Stonechild...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Two separate crimes, two tragic outcomes.  
     
    
    Jacques Rouleau has moved to Kingston to look after his father and take up the position of head of the town’s Criminal Investigations Division. One hot week in late September, university student Leah Sampson is murdered in her apartment. In another corner of the city, Della Munroe is raped by her husband. At first the crimes appear unrelated, but as Sergeant Rouleau and his new team of officers dig into the women’s pasts, they discover unsettling coincidences. When Kala Stonechild, one of Rouleau’s former officers from Ottawa, suddenly appears in Kingston, Rouleau enlists her to help. 
     
      
    
    Stonechild isn’t sure if she wants to stay in Kingston, but agrees to help Rouleau in the short term. While she struggles with trying to decide if she can make a life in this new town, a ghost from her past starts to haunt her. 
     
    
    
    As the detectives delve deeper into the cases, it seems more questions pop up than answers. Who murdered Leah Sampson? And why does Della Monroe’s name keep showing up in the murder investigation? Both women were hiding secrets that have unleashed a string of violence. Stonechild and Rouleau race to discover the truth before the violence rips more families apart.
    Show book
  • INDEFENSIBLE - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #2 - cover

    INDEFENSIBLE - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 23
    • 0
    Lawyer Kate Lange takes on an unwinnable case in the second book of the bestselling legal thriller series. For fans of John Grisham, Tess Gerritsen and James Patterson. 
    When Elise Vanderzell plummets from her bedroom balcony one gorgeous summer night, her children awaken to a nightmare. 
    Their mother is dead. 
    Their father is charged with her murder. 
    Lawyer Kate Lange knows all about nightmares. She’s survived the darkest period of her troubled life and the wounds are still raw. Now she’s been handed a case that seems utterly unwinnable:  defending her boss, high-profile lawyer Randall Barrett. A prosecutor’s dream suspect, Randall is a man who was cuckolded by his ex-wife. A man who could not control his temper. A man who had argued bitterly with the victim the previous day in full view of his children. 
    With limited criminal law experience, Kate finds herself enmeshed in a family fractured by doubt. Randall’s teenage son is intent on killing him. His daughter wants only to feel safe again. And the entire legal community would like nothing better than to see Randall receive a public comeuppance. As Kate races to stay a step ahead of the prosecution, a silent predator is waiting for the perfect time to deal the final blow. 
    "Indefensible is a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller…” 
    —Omnimystery 
    "Lawyer Kate Lange is back with another case that will test her courtroom skills, judgment and nerves. The suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing.” 
    —RT Book Reviews, 4.5 stars out of 4.5 stars 
    "Do yourself a favor and jump in the middle of these amazing books. You won't be able to put them down until the final page." 
    —Fresh Fiction 
    Book 2 of the Kate Lange Thriller Series 
    422 Pages
    Show book
  • Snake Skin - cover

    Snake Skin

    CJ Lyons

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons:
    
    An average Pittsburgh soccer mom, baking brownies and carrying a loaded forty-caliber Glock...
     
    From New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons comes an irresistible read that's "everything a great thriller should be—action packed, authentic, and intense" (Lee Child). With over 500 five-star reviews!
     
    A loving mom and wife, dutiful daughter, consummate professional, and kick-ass federal agent, Lucy is living the perfect life as a Supervisory Special Agent running the FBI's Sexual Assault Felony Enforcement squad.
     
    Until the day she comes up against a predator more vicious and cunning than any she's ever tackled before, one who forces Lucy to choose between the life of the young victim she is fighting to save and her own daughter's....and Lucy's dream life is shattered.
    Show book
  • The Boy In The Suitcase - cover

    The Boy In The Suitcase

    Mohammed Ayya

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    THE BOY IN THE SUITCASE (Mystery, Suspense, Thriller)
     
    Read on your PC, Mac, smart phone, tablet or Kindle device.
     
    Police Officer Dave Willis has been in this profession for long. Apart from being a dedicated officer, he is also loving husband.
     
    He soon finds himself investigating a gruesome murder of a teenage boy, found in a metal dump yard. As the investigation moves on, the case throws itself in different directions, making it hard to pin point the killer. 
     
    Will he be able to nab the killer in time, before that killer escapes or will Dave find himself at dead end, with no where to go.
     
    The book is filled with a complete package of mystery suspense thriller package within it. A complete mystery suspense book
     
    Download your copy today!
     
    Take action today!!
    Show book
  • EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #4 - cover

    EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    "Do yourself a favor and jump in the middle of these amazing books. You won't be able to put them down until the final page."—Fresh Fiction 
    Lawyer Kate Lange has survived some terrible things. And it has changed her. What scares her is that it may not be for the better. 
    Determined to take charge of her career and make sense of her life, she embarks on a bold plan—she will leave private practice and become a Crown Prosecutor. But she soon discovers that she must learn the ropes as a criminal defense lawyer to achieve her goal. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to... the accused? 
    Joining forces with Eddie Bent, a recovering alcoholic and top criminal defense lawyer, Kate takes on the case of a young woman shot while committing a puzzling crime. The shooter is none other than golden boy Member of Parliament Harry Owen.  Just months before, he had refused Kate’s plea for compassion for a dying client. And now he is both victim—and shooter—of her new client. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to… us all? 
    While Kate races to piece together the case, the lines between innocence and guilt become blurred as an online vigilante forum seeks its own brand of justice—and a devious cyber mastermind puts the final touches on an explosive plan. 
    "Intertwined in the storyline are devious cyber plots to rival anything ripped from today's political nightmares. Who is behind what plot? Can these disasters be averted? Can any illegal activity ever be for the public good? ... Although this was read as a standalone, I really want to read the first three volumes. I HIGHLY recommend this book."–Book Review Crew  
    Set in a 36-hour time period, EXPLOITED is an edge-of-the-seat thriller for fans of John Grisham, James Patterson and Lisa Scottoline. 
    The series has sold over three hundred thousand copies and is now under option for television development. 
     
     
    Praise for the novels of Pamela Callow: 
     
    "Pamela Callow's debut thriller Damaged reminded me of the best of Robin Cook: lightning paced, innovative, topical...and most of all, frightening. Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages until the wee hours of the morning." 
    — James Rollins, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    "...this debut novel by a member of the Nova Scotia bar is one utterly complete, complex and convincing book that has one hooked from the first line...While the mystery may be medical with sophisticated and high technology required to improve lives, it’s dark and dangerously suspenseful..." 
    — Atlantic Books Today on Damaged 
     
    "Indefensible is a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller…” 
    —Omnimystery 
     
    "Lawyer Kate Lange is back with another case that will test her courtroom skills, judgment and nerves. The suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing. The insidious villain destroys a life, a reputation and a family, all as part of a chilling plan." 
    —RT Book Reviews on Indefensible, 4.5 stars out of 4.5 stars 
     
    “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; Tattooed has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.”  
    —The Eclectic Reader  
     
    Show book