As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Carve the Heart - The Jack Palace Series - cover

Carve the Heart - The Jack Palace Series

A.G. Pasquella

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Book two of the Jack Palace series of noir crime fiction
Protagonist is a street-smart, honourable ex-con trying to make an honest life for himself, but pulled back in by an ex-lover
Author has been published in McSweeney’s, Joyland, and the Utne Reader
Readers noted of book one: “Pasquella knows his James Ellroy and his Elmore Leonard, and he blends them into a powerful overproof cocktail of gangster mayhem” (Chris Turner, author of Planet Simpson)
Booklist called Pasquella's writing “very impressive”

Other books that might interest you

  • Flights and Falls - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Flights and Falls - A BC Blues...

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    Book four of the B.C. Blues crime series starring sleuths Dion and Leith solving murders and twisted cases in the Pacific Northwest.
    An apparent traffic accident turns into a homicidal game, and a crime in Dion's past may be wrapped up in the plot
    Booklist "A series to watch," Kirkus "Greenaway brings a keen understanding of love, loyalty, frailty, and greed," Toronto Star "More good things ahead."
    Show book
  • The Summer Country - A Novel - cover

    The Summer Country - A Novel

    Lauren Willig

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Tense, atmospheric, and gorgeously written, The Summer Country is a novel to savor!" – Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Huntress and The Alice Network 
    A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and South, New York Times bestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados. 
     
    Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan-- merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned.  
     
    When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts. 
     
    Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom. 
     
    THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds.  
     
    Show book
  • River of Lies - cover

    River of Lies

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 1
    • 18
    • 0
    In rain-drenched Vancouver, detectives Dion and Leith work to separate truth from lies in two seemingly unrelated cases. 
     
    
    
    February is the month of romance, but in North Vancouver it’s also become the month of murder. While the North Shore RCMP slog through the rain in the search for whoever left a young woman to die in the Riverside Secondary School parking lot — their first clue a Valentine’s Day card — a toddler mysteriously vanishes from a Riverside Drive home in the midst of a dinner party. 
     
    
    
    With Constable JD Temple's full attention on the parking lot murder, Constables Dave Leith and Cal Dion work the kidnap … until a tenuous connection is made between the two cases, along with the thinnest ray of hope that the child could be alive and well in the hands of a childless couple. But when more tragedy rains down on the North Shore, lies must be unveiled before the ugly truth can emerge.
    Show book
  • Copy Boy - A Novel - cover

    Copy Boy - A Novel

    Shelley Blanton-Stroud

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “This is Raymond Chandler for feminists.” ―Sharma Shields, author of The CassandraJane’s a very brave boy. And a very difficult girl. She’ll become a remarkable woman, an icon of her century, but that’s a long way off. Not my fault, she thinks, dropping a bloody crowbar in the irrigation ditch after Daddy. She steals Momma’s Ford and escapes to Depression-era San Francisco, where she fakes her way into work as a newspaper copy boy. Everything’s looking up. She’s climbing the ladder at the paper, winning validation, skill, and connections with the artists and thinkers of her day. But then Daddy reappears on the paper’s front page, his arm around a girl who’s just been beaten into a coma one block from Jane’s newspaper―hit in the head with a crowbar. Jane’s got to find Daddy before he finds her, and before everyone else finds her out. She’s got to protect her invented identity. This is what she thinks she wants. It’s definitely what her dead brother wants.
    Show book
  • Rock with Wings - A Leaphorn Chee & Manuelito Novel - cover

    Rock with Wings - A Leaphorn...

    Anne Hillerman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Amazon Best Mystery of 2015 
    Navajo Tribal cops Jim Chee and Bernadette Manuelito, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, investigate two perplexing cases in this exciting Southwestern mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Spider Woman’s Daughter. 
    Doing a good deed for a relative offers the perfect opportunity for Sergeant Jim Chee and his wife, Officer Bernie Manuelito, to get away from the daily grind of police work. But two cases will call them back from their short vacation and separate them—one near Shiprock, and the other at iconic Monument Valley. 
    Chee follows a series of seemingly random and cryptic clues that lead to a missing woman, a coldblooded thug, and a mysterious mound of dirt and rocks that could be a gravesite. Bernie has her hands full managing the fallout from a drug bust gone wrong, uncovering the origins of a fire in the middle of nowhere, and looking into an ambitious solar energy development with long-ranging consequences for Navajo land. 
    Under the guidance of their mentor, retired Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, Bernie and Chee will navigate unexpected obstacles and confront the greatest challenge yet to their skills, commitment, and courage.
    Show book
  • Dead and Gone - cover

    Dead and Gone

    Sherryl Clark

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    There's nothing more dangerous than revenge.
     
    Judi Westerholme has been through it. Brave and strong-willed, she's just about coping in her new role as foster parent to her orphaned niece, taking a job at the local pub to help make ends meet. Then the pub's landlord and Judi's friend, army veteran Pete 'Macca' Maccasfield, is murdered, and her world is suddenly turned upside down.
     
    Despite warnings from the city police to keep out of it, Judi can't help but get involved in the search for Macca's killer. But she soon becomes deeply entangled with some ruthlessly dangerous men. She must act fast and think smart to work out what they want - before anyone else gets hurt...
     
    Long buried secrets resurface in Sherryl Clark's pacey crime novel that pushes Judi Westerholme to her limits to protect the people she loves most.
     
    ----------------------------
     
    Praise for Sherryl Clark
     
    'Sherryl Clark is a worthy addition to the crime writing fraternity, and Trust Me, I’m Dead is a book you should definitely add to your reading list' - Shots Mag
     
    'A whodunnit worthy of a binge alert' - The Westsider
    Show book