If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Carve the Heart - The Jack Palace Series - cover

Carve the Heart - The Jack Palace Series

A.G. Pasquella

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Ex-con Jack Palace returns in a world of violence, heartbreak, and revenge. 
 


Cassandra, the woman who broke Jack Palace’s heart, is suddenly back in his life. She owes $600,000 to a brutal gangster who has threatened her life, and she needs Jack’s help. Meanwhile, Melody, Jack’s new girlfriend, has set a dangerous plan of her own in motion. Things start to get violent when Cassandra suddenly disappears … but not everyone believes Cassandra is in danger. Is Jack being set up? 
 


Bikers, mobsters, and strippers collide as Jack storms the mean streets of Toronto searching for Cassandra. To find her, he must rip open old wounds and confront new enemies. But as loyalties falter and secrets are revealed, Jack begins to wonder who he can really trust. If he doesn’t figure it out fast, he — and everyone he cares about — could end up dead.

Other books that might interest you

  • BC Blues Crime 3-Book Bundle - Creep Undertow Cold Girl - cover

    BC Blues Crime 3-Book Bundle -...

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Dion and Leith aren’t just detectives, they’re human beings. See, that’s the problem. 
     
    
    
    RCMP officer David Leith and his team investigate a series of murders from the snowbound Hazeltons to Lower Mainland B.C. in this atmospheric new crime series. 
     
    
    
    Cold Girl — Book #1 
    
    A singer vanishes in the snowbound Hazeltons. Has she been snatched by the so-called Pickup Killer? Investigator David Leith has much to contend with — punishing weather and wily witnesses, plus a young constable who’s more hindrance than help. Suspects multiply, but only at the bitter end does Leith discover who is the coldest girl of all. 
     
    
    
    Undertow — Book #2 
    
    RCMP detective Leith fears he’s made a mistake bringing his family to North Vancouver. His first Serious Crimes Unit case has rocked his senses: who would brutally murder a mother, father, and baby? Detective Dion, also regretting the move, has returned to the city where he no longer fits in — but is he back in the swim, or destined to drown? 
     
    
    
    Creep — Book #3 
    
    A pair of dead bodies don’t seem linked, or even suspicious, at first, but Dion and Leith soon find themselves with a hairy murder case on their hands. As Dion gets tangled up with a witness and Leith loses himself in the case, a different kind of killer is on the prowl. But the rumours about him being more than human can’t possibly be true …
    Show book
  • The Seville Communion - A Novel - cover

    The Seville Communion - A Novel

    Arturo Pérez-Reverte

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    An “intricate literary mystery [of] wrenching effect” by the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The Club Dumas (The New Yorker).   Someone has hacked into the pope’s personal computer—not to spy on the Vatican or to spread a virus, but to send an urgent plea for help: SAVE OUR LADY OF THE TEARS. The crumbling Baroque church in the heart of Seville is slated for demolition—and two of its defenders have suddenly died. Accidents? Or murders? And was the church itself somehow involved?   The Vatican promptly dispatches Father Lorenzo Quart, their worldly and enormously attractive emissary, to investigate the situation, track down the hacker—known only as “Vespers”—and stay alive. Thus begins a sophisticated and utterly suspenseful page-turner that has taken its readers by storm.   “An elegant thriller that is as much about the elusive quest for happiness as it is about solving the murders.” —The Denver Post   “An indelible tale of love, faith, and greed.” —People, Page-Turner of the Week
    Show book
  • Galway Girl - cover

    Galway Girl

    Ken Bruen

    • 2
    • 8
    • 1
    “They don’t come much tougher than Ken Bruen’s Irish roughneck, Jack Taylor,” and crime thrillers don’t get any better than this (The New York Times Book Review).   Jack Taylor has never quite been able get his life together, but now he has truly hit rock bottom. Still reeling from a violent family tragedy, Taylor is busy drowning his grief in Jameson and uppers, as usual, when a high-profile officer in the local Garda is murdered. After another Guard is found dead, and then another, Taylor’s old colleagues from the force implore him to take on the case. The plot is one big game, and all of the pieces seem to be moving at the behest of one dangerously mysterious team: a trio of young killers with very different styles, but who are united their common desire to take down Jack Taylor. Their ring leader is Jericho, a psychotic girl from Galway who is grieving the loss of her lover, and who will force Jack to confront some personal trauma from his past. As sharp and sardonic as it is starkly bleak and violent, Galway Girl shows master raconteur Ken Bruen at his best: lyrical, brutal, and ceaselessly suspenseful.  
    Show book
  • Sleeping with the Crawfish - cover

    Sleeping with the Crawfish

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A convict’s fingerprints point to a deadly conspiracy at Angola State Prison in this “action-packed, cleverly plotted topnotch thriller” (Booklist). After surviving the clutches of a deranged killer, criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn decides to leave police work for a safe, quiet job at a photography gallery. But her retirement is interrupted when her former boss, chief medical examiner Andy Broussard, needs a favor. He wants Franklyn to take a quick trip to Angola and check on a convict named Roland Cicero. If Cicero really is locked in his cell, as the warden claims, then why does a corpse on Broussard’s table have his fingerprints?   But the errand is anything but routine when Franklyn discovers a murderous conspiracy at the prison. She returns to New Orleans while Broussard heads to Memphis to investigate a suspicious death. But splitting up to follow the threads of a criminal network only makes it easier to get caught in the web.   “All the streamlined thrills and gripping forensic detail Donaldson’s fans have come to expect.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • Identity Crisis - cover

    Identity Crisis

    Debbi Mack

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A missing client, a dead body, the FBI, and the Mob.
     
    How much can one lawyer handle?
     
    A simple domestic abuse case turns deadly when the alleged abuser is killed and Stephanie Ann "Sam" McRae's client disappears. When a friend asks Sam to find Melanie Hayes, the Maryland attorney is drawn into a complex case of murder and identity theft that has her running from the Mob, breaking into a strip club and forming a shaky alliance with an offbeat private investigator to discover the truth about Melanie and her ex-boyfriend.
     
    With her career and life on the line, Sam's search takes her from the blue-collar Baltimore suburbs to the mansions of Gibson Island. Along the way, she learns that false identities can hide dark secrets, and those secrets can destroy lives.                                      
    Show book
  • The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime Thriller - cover

    The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime...

    Sean Black

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The series that's perfect for fans of Robert Crais, Harlan Coben, Gregg Hurwitz, Lee Child and James Patterson's Private series."It's not the crime that kills you – it's the cover-up."When college basketball coach Malik Shaw goes missing after a family tragedy, it looks like just another retired athlete gone off the rails. But Malik's childhood friend, private security specialist Ty Johnson, quickly begins to suspect that there is more to it.Chasing the truth, Ty, along with his business partner, Ryan Lock, begin to uncover a sinister conspiracy of silence in a sleepy Minnesota college town."Sean Black writes like a punch to the gut." – Jesse Kellerman"The heir apparent to Lee Child." – Ken Bruen
    Show book