Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Aesop's Fables - Bedtime Stories (Illustrated) - cover

Aesop's Fables - Bedtime Stories (Illustrated)

Aesop Aesop

Publisher: Modern-Publications

  • 1
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Aesops Fables - Bedtime Stories (Illustrated)
 
Meet a tortoise that wins race against hare, greedy donkey, a tortoise who wants to fly, a clever lion and many other animals in this collection of tales, retold especially for children. Aesop’s fables are the perfect way to learn important lessons about life through the adventures of some unforgettable animal friends. It's a good source of bedtime stories for kids and moral story book for every reader.For centuries, children and adults have treasured the stories handed down by Aesop, a slave who lived in ancient Greece approximately six centuries B.C. Known for their charm and simplicity, these simple tales feature brief adventures of animals, birds, and beasts — with a message hidden in each narrative. With infamous vignettes, such as the race between the hare and the tortoise, the vain jackdaw, and the wolf in sheep’s clothing, the themes of the fables remain as fresh today as when they were first told and give an insight into the Ancient Greek world.ABOUT THE AUTHOR:Aesop (620–564 BCE) was an Ancient Greek story teller credited with a number of fables now collectively known as Aesop's Fables. Although his existence remains uncertain and (if they ever existed) no writings by him survive, numerous tales credited to him were gathered across the centuries and in many languages in a storytelling tradition that continues to this day. Many of the tales are characterized by animals and inanimate objects that speak, solve problems, and generally have human characteristics.Scattered details of Aesop's life can be found in ancient sources. An ancient literary work called 'The Aesop Romance' tells an episodic, probably highly fictional version of his life, including the traditional description of him as a strikingly ugly slave who by his cleverness acquires freedom and becomes an adviser to kings and city-states.
Available since: 10/04/2018.

Other books that might interest you

  • Brightwood - cover

    Brightwood

    Tania Unsworth

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When Daisy Fitzjohn's mother leaves their crumbling Gothic home early one morning and doesn't return, Daisy, with no one to help her but her imaginary friends, must fight to save her home and her life from a dangerous and mysterious stranger.  
    Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she's ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank.  
    When Daisy's mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy's mother doesn't return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. 
    Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.
    Show book
  • Food Chains and Webs - cover

    Food Chains and Webs

    Abbie Dunne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Simple text and bright photographs explain the concept of food chains and webs for beginning readers. The book concludes with a simple, kid-friendly activity.
    Show book
  • Otis - cover

    Otis

    Loren Long

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Loren Long—recipient of two Golden Kite Awards—delivers a whimsical story of friendship and perseverance. Otis is a kind, hardworking farm tractor who befriends a motherless calf. After work, he and his pal love frolicking together in the fields—until one day Otis is replaced by a new tractor. Left to rust in the weeds, he feels useless and no longer wants to play. But when the calf gets in trouble—and firemen can’t even help—Otis revs up to rescue his friend.  “[Otis] will certainly draw nostalgic adults [and] find a welcome from younger audiences too.”—Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • S Is for Score! - A Sports Alphabet - cover

    S Is for Score! - A Sports Alphabet

    Laura Purdie Salas

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Slam dunks, home runs, and touchdowns bring sports fans to their feet. Follow all the exciting action in S is for Score!
    Show book
  • The Tale of Tom Kitten - cover

    The Tale of Tom Kitten

    Beatrix Potter

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Once upon a time there were three little kittens, and their names were Mittens, Tom Kitten, and Moppet. They had dear little fur coats of their own; and they tumbled about the doorstep and played in the dust.But one day their mother—Mrs. Tabitha Twitchit—expected friends to tea; so she fetched the kittens indoors, to wash and dress them, before the fine company arrived.
    Show book
  • Pieces of Another World - cover

    Pieces of Another World

    Mara Rockliff, Salima Alikhan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This touching story of a father and child’s nighttime excursion to watch a meteor shower is told through the eyes of a child in awe of the night world. Rockliff’s vivid descriptions make readers feel as though they too are watching the tiny bits of other, distant worlds blazing into our own.The “For Creative Minds” education section includes teaching trivia about meteors, meteor showers, comets, and asteroids as well as a “Meteor Math” game, a “Five Steps to a Fantastic Meteor Watching Party” checklist, and a recipe for comet cookies.
    Show book