"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Psychology 101 - The 101 Ideas Concepts and Theories that Have Shaped Our World - cover

Psychology 101 - The 101 Ideas Concepts and Theories that Have Shaped Our World

Adrian Furnham

Publisher: Bloomsbury Business

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Psychologists have always shone a torch, and often a spotlight, into many dark corners of the human mind. They study everything, from art preferences to altruism, coaching to criminality, jokes and humour to justice and honesty, as well as sex differences, schizophrenia and sociopathy. 
Psychology can offer clear descriptions and explanations for all sort of phenomena. More importantly, psychological research can improve lives in a multitude of ways; many applied psychologists - e.g. clinical, educational, counselling and work psychologists – have the primary aim of making people more happy and better able to identify and realise their full potential. 
Psychology 101 offers bite-size articles of psychological science from Adrian Furnham, a seasoned psychologist with a broad range of expertise. This book is the essential guide for anyone with an interest - either academic, professional or general - in demystifying and understanding the fascinating world of psychological history, theories, issues and beliefs.

Other books that might interest you

  • Introducing Modernism - A Graphic Guide - cover

    Introducing Modernism - A...

    Chris Rodrigues

    • 4
    • 2
    • 0
    Modernism is usually thought of as a shock wave of innovations hitting art, architecture, music, cinema and literature - the work of Picasso, Joyce, Schoenberg, movements like Futurism and Dada, the architecture of Le Corbusier, T.S. Eliot's The Wasteland and the avant-garde theatre of Bertolt Brecht or Samuel Beckett. But what really defines modernism? Why did it begin and how long did it last? Is Modernism over now? Chris Rodriguez and Chris Garratt's brilliant graphic guide is a brilliant exploration of the last century's most thrilling artistic work - and what it's really all about.
    Show book
  • Holes (Louis Sachar) - cover

    Holes (Louis Sachar)

    Angie McNaughton

    • 0
    • 102
    • 0
    Search for buried treasure along with Stanley while solving an age-old mystery that will change lives forever. We combine comprehension and vocabulary, making it useful for both students and educators. Make an assumption as to what crime Stanley committed prior to reading the novel. Record the social order of the boys at Camp Green Lake on a diagram of a ladder. Provide picture clues to help remember the meaning of the vocabulary words. Use clues to infer details about Hector's life. Create a handbook to help Stanley deal with bullying. Create character cards about one person from the novel, answering questions such as how the character acts, feels and likes. Aligned to your State Standards, additional crossword, word search, comprehension quiz and answer key are also included.
     
    About the Novel:
     
    Meet Stanley Yelnats, an unlikely hero who shows us that even the most ordinary individual is capable of extraordinary things. A unique and well-crafted story in which events from the past and present are woven together, ranging from whimsical and entertaining. Wrongly convicted of stealing running shoes, Stanley is given the option of attending Camp Green Lake, a “camp” where boys dig holes all day, every day. Stanley soon figures out that there is more to the hole-digging than building character as the Warden is looking for treasure. Stanley undergoes profound personal growth as he has to face challenges that would have seemed insurmountable.
    Show book
  • Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Tony Bradman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An atmospheric retelling of the story of Macbeth, perfect for fans of Viking Boy and Janina Ramirez. 
     
    One dark and stormy night, two men come across three witches who foretell the future. One man is promised a royal future as king, the other that his son will rule one day. But King Duncan still lives and the path to the throne is unclear. What follows next is murder most foul... 
     
    This atmospheric retelling of William Shakespeare's Macbeth from much-loved author Tony Bradman has haunting black-and-white illustrations by Mark Oldroyd and is a perfect introduction to Shakespeare's classic story. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit - An internationally acclaimed hypnotherapist’s guide to past lives guardian angels and the death experience - cover

    Between Death and Life –...

    Dolores Cannon

    • 0
    • 19
    • 0
    Offering both comfort to the fearful and confirmation to the curious, Between Death and Life – Conversations with a Spirit examines different levels of existence in the spirit realms through hundreds of real people’s past life testimonies as revealed to widely published and internationally acclaimed past-life regressionist and hypnotherapist Dolores Cannon. 
    What happens at the point of death?Where do we go afterwards?Does one’s personality survive after death?How are the good and the bad experiences of life accounted for?What is the purpose of life?These are questions everybody asks. And no one is better qualified to provide reasonable answers than Dolores Cannon. During forty years of detailed research, this widely experienced and well-respected American past-life regression therapist has accumulated a mass of credible information about the death experience and what lies beyond.  
     
    While reliving their dying experiences, hundreds of subjects reported the same memories. The similarity and sincerity of their recollections are too convincing to be ignored. 
     
    This eye-opening book explores the world beyond ours, giving us an insight into the death experience and reincarnation, guides and guardian angels, ghosts and walk-ins. It examines different levels of existence in the spirit realms; the ‘Healing Chambers’ for the damaged; the schools where you integrate lessons learned on Earth and where you discover the laws of the Universe; how you plan your next incarnation, the lessons to be learned and future karmic relationships before birth. 
    Between Death and Life: Table of ContentsThe Death ExperienceThe GreetersA Near Death ExperienceThe Schools The Grand Tour The Different Levels or Planes of Existence  So-Called ‘Bad’ LivesGuides God and Jesus Satan, Possession and DemonsGhosts and Poltergeists Planning and PreparationThe General Council Imprinting Walk-ins The Return Trip
    Show book
  • 50 Great Lessons from Life - cover

    50 Great Lessons from Life

    Tony Spollen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Originally written for his grown-up children, Tony Spollen now shares his 50 GREAT LESSONS FROM LIFE with a wider audience.
     
    Simple, heartfelt, born of experience – these lessons ring true for everyone in any walk of life.
     
    Some you know already; others will be new – or will surprise you with a new twist on something you took for granted. Some are aspirational, some are fanciful, some are basic and mostly, they are one size fits all – but, above all, they are timeless advice, universally applicable.
     
    Be successful. Be healthy. Be happy. Read. Enjoy.
    Show book
  • Taliesin: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Taliesin: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Maggie Pearson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A magical retelling of the story of the legendary Welsh bard Taliesin, perfect for fans of The Wizards of Once and The Firework Maker's Daughter. 
     
    On the most magical day of the year, the unluckiest man in the whole of Wales finds a baby floating in the river. But Taliesin is no ordinary baby – not only can he talk, but he is also a magician, prophet, poet and trickster. As the years pass, Taliesin transforms the lives of all he meets, for better or worse... 
     
    This enchanting version of a Welsh myth from Maggie Pearson has intricate black-and-white illustrations by David Wyatt and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com.  
     
    Book Band: Grey 
    Ideal for ages 8+
    Show book