"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass - cover

The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass

Adan Jerreat-Poole

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A fresh new voice in queer YA fantasy, writing about non-binary characters and queer romance
First novel in a duology set in a world of witches, ghosts, and misfits fighting to save the Earth, for fans of The Hazel Wood and Nevernight
Author is a PhD candidate working in queer theory and disability studies, whose writing has appeared in The New Quarterly, Qwerty Magazine, The Steel Chisel, and Soliloquies

Other books that might interest you

  • Princess Academy - cover

    Princess Academy

    Shannon Hale

    • 1
    • 26
    • 0
    A Newbery Honor Winner 
    A New York Times Bestseller 
     
    In this first book in New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor-winning author Shannon Hale's Princess Academy series, Miri finds herself a sudden participant in a contest to find the next princess of the realm. 
     
    Miri lives on a mountain where, for generations, her ancestors have lived a simple life. Then word comes that the king's priests have divined her village the home of the future princess. In a year's time, the prince will choose his bride from among the village girls. 
     
    The king's ministers set up an academy on the mountain, and every teenage girl must attend and learn how to become a princess. Soon Miri finds herself confronted with a harsh academy mistress, bitter competition among the girls, and her own conflicting desires. Winning the contest could give her everything she ever wanted--but it would mean leaving her home and family behind. 
     
    Don't miss any of these other books from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Hale: 
     
    The Princess Academy trilogy 
    Princess Academy 
    Princess Academy: Palace of Stone 
    Princess Academy: The Forgotten Sisters 
     
    The Books of Bayern 
    The Goose Girl 
    Enna Burning 
    River Secrets 
    Forest Born 
     
    Book of a Thousand Days 
     
    Dangerous 
     
    Graphic Novels 
    with Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale 
    Rapunzel's Revenge  
    Calamity Jack 
     
    For Adults 
    Austenland 
    Midnight in Austenland 
    The Actor and the Housewife
    Show book
  • A Heart So Fierce and Broken - cover

    A Heart So Fierce and Broken

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    In the sequel to New York Times bestselling A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Brigid Kemmerer returns to the world of Emberfall in a lush fantasy where friends become foes and love blooms in the darkest of places. 
     
    Find the heir, win the crown. 
    The curse is finally broken, but Prince Rhen of Emberfall faces darker troubles still. Rumors circulate that he is not the true heir and that forbidden magic has been unleashed in Emberfall. Although Rhen has Harper by his side, his guardsman Grey is missing, leaving more questions than answers.  
     
    Win the crown, save the kingdom.  
    Grey may be the heir, but he doesn't want anyone to know his secret. On the run since he destroyed Lilith, he has no desire to challenge Rhen--until Karis Luran once again threatens to take Emberfall by force. Her own daughter Lia Mara sees the flaws in her mother's violent plan, but can she convince Grey to stand against Rhen, even for the good of Emberfall? 
     
    The heart-pounding, compulsively readable saga continues as loyalties are tested and new love blooms in a kingdom on the brink of war.
    Show book
  • Taliesin: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Taliesin: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Maggie Pearson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A magical retelling of the story of the legendary Welsh bard Taliesin, perfect for fans of The Wizards of Once and The Firework Maker's Daughter. 
     
    On the most magical day of the year, the unluckiest man in the whole of Wales finds a baby floating in the river. But Taliesin is no ordinary baby – not only can he talk, but he is also a magician, prophet, poet and trickster. As the years pass, Taliesin transforms the lives of all he meets, for better or worse... 
     
    This enchanting version of a Welsh myth from Maggie Pearson has intricate black-and-white illustrations by David Wyatt and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com.  
     
    Book Band: Grey 
    Ideal for ages 8+
    Show book
  • Soul Riders - The Legend Awakens - cover

    Soul Riders - The Legend Awakens

    Helena Dahlgren, Star Stable...

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Step into the second installment of the massively popular online Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game (MMORPG) Star Stable, and follow four friends who discover their magic powers and learn that every girl can be a hero in this fantasy trilogy. The Soul Riders series tells the heroic tale of four young girls who have been chosen by destiny to save the world from the ancient demon: Garnok and his band of dangerous Dark Riders.Having split up on their own individual missions at the end of book 1, the Soul Riders are now in increasing danger. In a desperate act, Anne manages to save her friends by using her newfound magical abilities. Together again, the Soul Riders feel their powers intensify as they work in unison for the first time. The legend awakens as they start their training with the druids and learn who they are and what it means to be a Soul Rider.To truly master their powers they must obtain a book that is kept by the witch Pi who was once an ally to the druids, but now has turned on them. When they return to the druids, they learn that a magical rift has been opened up threatening to destroy Winter Valley and the thousands who live there. Linda has visions of the dark and terrible fate that awaits if the Dark Riders succeed. But worst of all, they realize that they are the ones who caused the rift and have no choice but to ride out together to try and neutralize the threat . . . The Legend Awakens is the second installment in the epic, fantasy trilogy, Soul Riders, about magic, friendship, and horses bound to thrill all young equestrian fans. 
    Show book
  • A Curse So Dark and Lonely - cover

    A Curse So Dark and Lonely

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller! 
    "Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale." - Jodi Picoult 
     
    In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast,  Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance  perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. 
     
    Fall in love, break the curse. 
     
    It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope. 
     
    Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world. 
     
    Break the curse, save the kingdom. 
     
    A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.
    Show book
  • Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Tony Bradman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An atmospheric retelling of the story of Macbeth, perfect for fans of Viking Boy and Janina Ramirez. 
     
    One dark and stormy night, two men come across three witches who foretell the future. One man is promised a royal future as king, the other that his son will rule one day. But King Duncan still lives and the path to the throne is unclear. What follows next is murder most foul... 
     
    This atmospheric retelling of William Shakespeare's Macbeth from much-loved author Tony Bradman has haunting black-and-white illustrations by Mark Oldroyd and is a perfect introduction to Shakespeare's classic story. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book