Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Listen online to the first chapters of this audiobook!
All characters reduced
Short Stories of AM Burrage The: Volume 1 - Waxwork and Other Stories - cover

Short Stories of AM Burrage The: Volume 1 - Waxwork and Other Stories

A. M. Burrage

Narrator Richard Mitchley, Ghizela Rowe

Publisher: The Copyright Group

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0


Alfred McLelland Burrage was born in 1889. His father and uncle were both writers, primarily of boy’s fiction, and by age sixteen, A. M. Burrage had joined them and quickly became a master of the market, publishing his stories regularly across a number of publications. By the start of the Great War, Burrage was well established. In 1916 he was conscripted to fight on the Western Front, his experiences becoming the classic book War is War by Ex-Private X. For the remainder of his life, Burrage was rarely printed in book form but continued to write and be published on a prodigious scale in magazines and newspapers. His supernatural stories are, by common consent, some of the best ever written. Succinct, yet full of character, each reveals a twist and a flavor that is unsettling … sometimes menacing … always disturbing.Included stories:Warning WhispersThe WaxworkThe Recurring TragedyThe SweeperThe Acquittal
Duration: about 3 hours (02:36:46)
Publishing date: 2014-01-01; Unabridged; Copyright Year: 2014. Copyright Statment: —