Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Hint for Next Christmas - cover

A Hint for Next Christmas

A. A. Milne

Publisher: JA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Alan Alexander Milne was a British author, best known for his books about the teddy bear Winnie-the-Pooh and for various poems. Milne was a noted writer, primarily as a playwright, before the huge success of Pooh overshadowed all his previous work. Milne served in both World Wars, joining the British Army in World War I, and was a captain of the British Home Guard in World War II.

Other books that might interest you

  • Body Swap - cover

    Body Swap

    Sylvia McNicoll

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    A darkly comic YA story, where the generation gap challenges the two protagonists, told with morbid humour
    Focuses on empathy between two very different characters forced to trade lives
    A strong theme of corporate responsibility and justice
    Author has written over thirty novels, including Silver Birch Award–winner Bringing Up Beauty
    Author's recent children's title The Best Mistake Mystery sold over 3,200 copies in the US and Canada
    Show book
  • Hiding in Hawk's Creek - A Jennifer Bannon Mystery - cover

    Hiding in Hawk's Creek - A...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Jennifer Bannon cannot face another boring summer in Springhills. She convinces her mother to let her spend July at her grandmother’s cottage in Hawk’s Creek. She does not reveal that her plan is to live with her grandmother forever in order to avoid the problems back home. But Hawk’s Creek holds dark secrets, and Jennifer is soon drawn into the troubled world of Audrey Musquash, a Native girl accused of stealing and being out of control. In this tale of suspense and haunting friendship, Jennifer must face truths that will change her perspective on life forever.
    Show book
  • Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul - Stories of Life Love and Learning - cover

    Chicken Soup for the Teenage...

    Jack Canfield, Adolf Hansen,...

    • 3
    • 135
    • 1
    This first batch of Chicken Soup for Teens consists of 101 stories every teenager can relate to and learn from—without feeling criticized or judged. This edition contains important lessons on the nature of friendship and love, the importance of belief in the future, and the value of respect for oneself and others, and much more.
    Show book
  • I Am Not a Number - cover

    I Am Not a Number

    Lisa Heathfield

    • 6
    • 14
    • 0
    The powerful and heart-wrenching new novel from Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Louise O'Neill and Lisa Williamson. 
     
    Ever since the Traditional party came into power, 15-year-old Ruby’s life has changed for the worse. Everything Ruby and her family and friends celebrate – equal rights for women, freedom of movement, individual expression – are forbidden. And things are getting worse . . . 
     
    Soon Ruby and her family find themselves taken to a prison camp far from home with no possessions, food or rights. Each person is allocated a number – Ruby is number 276. Forced into hard labour, starving and with friends and family going missing every day, Ruby knows she has to escape and let the world know what is happening. She has to somehow cling on to her identity, and fight back. The future depends on it.
     
    Lisa Heathfield's other books: 
     
    Seed 9781405275385Paper Butterflies 9781405275392Flight of Starling 9781405285902
    Show book
  • Tally la niña tigre - 0 - cover

    Tally la niña tigre - 0

    Libby Scott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    UNA DE LAS HISTORIAS MÁS TIERNAS Y HONESTAS DEL AÑO
     
    «Hace un tiempo que escondo un pedazo de mí. Es difícil mostrar aquellas cosas por las que los demás me hacen sentir incómoda.»
     
    Tally es autista, pero lo esconde tanto como puede. Sabe lo incómoda que se siente la gente a su alrededor: no entienden el autismo. No la entienden a ella. Al enmascarar su autismo, Tally está ocultando su verdadero yo. Pero cuando tu verdadero yo es valiente y maravilloso, no puede permanecer escondido para siempre. 
    Con potentes entradas de diario escritas por Libby Scott, de 11 años, basadas en su propia experiencia viviendo con autismo, Tally, la niña tigre es una novela auténtica y poderosa que cambiará tu forma de ver el mundo.
    Show book
  • Second Chances - cover

    Second Chances

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of "peace, love, rock and roll," and the Vietnam War.  
     
     
    It’s the summer of 1971, and fifteen-year-old Darlene travels with her mother to cottage country. This year her wild cousin, Elizabeth, is staying with them in the hopes that time away from Toronto will straighten her out – but Elizabeth has other plans. It’s her summer mission to torment Darlene by manipulating her friends and seducing every eligible male in her path. Meanwhile, Darlene is captivated by the mysterious strangers who rent the cottage down the road, particularly free-spirited Candy, who tells stories of traipsing across the United States with rock stars. Darlene is also friends with a reclusive journalist who will stop at nothing to pen the ultimate anti-war story. She, too, secretly dreams of becoming a writer, but knows that her father will never allow it. When the connections between the young strangers and the war start to become clear, Darlene is presented with more choices than she would like.
    Show book